We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a perfect place for our extended family celebration.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, TX
1 review
“This was a perfect place for our extended family celebration.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Making reservations and working with the manager for our family needs was a most pleasant experience,very professional and congenial. The owners retreat home afforded plenty of bedrooms, dining, and living areas for visiting and activities. The location was centrally located for all, and got us "out" of city life and work routines, to a relaxing country atmosphere. We were pleasantly surprised with fruit trays, cookies,and other food/drinks provided on our arrival. The manager provided a nice gift for our mom's 80th birthday- a very nice touch. The best thing for us was finding a comfortable, luxurious home where all 16 of us could stay under one roof. The only complaint was that the kitchen was not as well equipped as we expected, but the management quickly supplied whatever was lacking, to the best of their ability. We hope to return again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biblelovinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    29
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
134
60
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

When you're in Texas, you expect friendly service...but you also might expect people to be a little rough around the edges and not quite as professional as you'd find other places. Not so at Rough Creek! This place epitomizes Texas in a good, relaxed, luxurious, but laidback way. First, the grounds itself are beautiful. The place doesn't try to be something it's not - you feel like you're deep in the heart of Texas. The decor is rustic, but still modern; Texan, but not over the top or tacky. The rooms are great with big windows, a good view, and with spacious bathrooms. I also enjoyed the food - we were there for a wedding, and the salsas, brunch buffet, steaks, and grits were all memorable. Also very cool because at our first dinner, they served a Sangiovese from TEXAS! Nice!

Also, plenty of activities and outdoorsy things to do - ATVs, skeet shooting, fishing, driving range, etc.

Only complaints (and these are big ones) would be their billing system. They charged an obscene amount on several cards (including debit cards!) from other guests in our party for no reason...when we called to inquire about the charges, they said it was "just in case" and to cover any incidentals or activities, which we hadn't purchased. Some of these charges were ~$1400!!! Be careful and check your receipt closely...I'd also recommend confirming the total cost upon check-in.

*** Modification: More new charges showed up on our bill and when we called to ask about them, they said they didn't know why they were there, but that they would be removed within 10 days. They didn't know? They just want to charge for no reason? And eventually get around to taking the inexplicable charges off? One of the charges was from 09/18 and we weren't even at the resort until October! Ridiculous.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bec54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

My wife and I have been to Rough Creek a handful of times. I was surprised to see such negative reviews. Point by point, here is my experience

Food - The dinner is included in the nightly price. I would classify the dinners we've had here as very good (8/10). Probably not as good as the marketing department would tell you, but comparable to many higher-end restaurants in the DFW area. The breakfast is also included and is excellent.

Rooms - I would classify the actual rooms as a cut above your standard Ritz/Four Seasons room. Lots of Texas flair, comfy mattresses and nice patios with rocking chairs.

Activities - I don't hunt, but from other coworkers, I understand the hunting to be good but pricey. The main activities we do are a) sitting by the pool and b) going to the spa. RCL is great on both accounts there. We went one winter, and found our stay less enjoyable than when we've been in the summer, probably because we were out of luck on the pool. Spa is good - comparable to the Crescent in Dallas in terms of actual treatments

Staff - I've always found the staff to be very good. I've had a few nice afternoons talking to the bartender while the wife was getting a massage. No complaints at all there

Value - Other commenters are probably correct that it is a bit pricey, even after adjusting for included meals. But, we generally catch them on a special and make a fun weekend of it.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texguy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

The good - all rooms, lodge, pools, activities are clean and nice. Service is good and all staff will bend over backward to make you "feel" special (Maybe that's why it costs so much). Food was good, though I would NOT say it was great like they promote all over the place (Conde Nast, other gourmet "experts")

The bad - Reservation rates varied each time I called, no consistency, and they are quick to say all of the "free stuff" that really is what most hotels offer anyhow (except for the so called "free dinnerdinner & . My room cost $600 for 2 parents + 1 kid. Comparable food for the 3 of us at a good dallas rest would cost us probably < $200, so this means the room was 400/night! The pool is small for the size of the resort, 50% of "free" fishing poles work (they probably check them weekly)


The ugly - The hourly rate for shooting is on the high side, but every extra activity includes nickel and dime on all charges. Everything includes a 21% service charge (not spelled out on their website). The "driving range" is cut up astroturf with 50% of the balls either cut OR missing 25% of their skin - real disappointment + the bikes are not mountain bikes.

Bottom Line - It is a nice place to go and the activities are good, but the cost / value proposition is not there. I would only recommend this place if the same package for the same time of year was $350 or less. This means I overpaid $250/night. Live and learn.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RingoStarr111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

We were excited to experience all the activities and the great food. The few activities that we participated in were fun, but I do not think that we thought we got our moneys worth. The food was very good but not outstanding.

My wife and I were spending one night at Rough Creek, and were surprised by all the families and children. Even at dinner, children were everywhere. Rough Creek seems to be a great family place, but not a place for two married adults. I would recommend for families.

The service was touch and go. Many people were very nice and helpful, but a few of the staff were indifferent.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DallasTraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Apparently, the economy has hit Rough Creek Lodge hard. This was my second visit to the property in a year. First visit in February was okay, so we thought we'd try it again since they were running a special. We were greatly disappointed. Staff was unavailable to assist or open many of the activities that were advertised as available, and other activities were shut down early because of a wedding and limited staff. Although food is advertised as exceptional, it is mediocre at best. All meats had a peculiar smokey taste that dominated all other flavors. Be careful sitting outside - hornets/yellow jackets abound and they absolutely will sting you!

To top it off, we had some property stolen from our guest room, to which the hotel had little to no interest in assisting with. For a pricey location such as Rough Creek, save your money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Great place to take the family. Mom will love the Spa. Dad and older kids will love the fishing, riding and shooting. Younger kids will enjoy the kids club and petting zoo. Everyone will love the service and the food, which are both 5 star. I'm already planning my next trip back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
24.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
11.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Glen Rose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Property: Rough Creek Lodge
Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing