We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2010

You drive and drive and drive and then you come up to the resort. It's such a nice, yet rustic place. The food is probably the best of any resort we've been to. It'll set up back a bit, but it's totally worth it! the house-made artisan breads are wonderful. There's an adult only pool, for those of use who enjoy quite time or there's the family pool with slides and a lazy river. The "basic" room is huge and if you book a suite, you'll love it! The stars at night are amazing, it's so quite, you won't want to go back to city noises. My husband and I go about 3 times a year just to get away for a few days. We're lucky to have a place like this 1.5 hours away from us!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMPairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Rough Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2010

From the time of our arrival, we were greeted by staff and guided to our room. You say "wow" when you enter the room, because of the cool temperature inside and the western decor that meets high demand. A welcome gift for us to snack on and chairs large enough to relax on. Dinner is amazing here! We took a walk by the lake. We checked out a family movie from the gift shop, which is FREE, and snuggled as a family on the couch to watch it. Our favorite part was swimming at the pool. Not crowded. It's a quiet pool as far as hotels go. And the staff serve you snacks and drinks there. Go to enjoy the pleasure of your family in style. If you like to be waited on this is the place to go. p.s. the spa is one of the best!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millszone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Our food and room were superior. Many activities for all age groups. I caught a 6 lb bass.
Hope to make another trip in near future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc8875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Just returned from a weekend stay at Rough Creek Lodge with 9 other family members. From the time we arrived until the time we left, our visit was exceptional in every way. This was our 2nd visit and we were even more impressed than the first time. The staff from check in to maid service was perfect, the food was absolutely divine and we have already made reservations to return in July. There is nothing I would change and I highly recommend RCL to those looking for an incredibly relaxing getaway true Texas style. We look forward to all of our future visits.‎

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenivieveFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We brought our executive team to the Rough Creek Lodge to focus on our stratetic planning and teambuilding. We were delighted with the calm, peaceful atmosphere. The rooms were plus and extremely comfortable. The service was top notch and the food - well, we ate too much and enjoyed every bite.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

When the fee for a hotel is 3 times that of a Four Seasons there tends to be a level of expectation.
This hotels ranks below a Holiday Inn Express. The room was dirty with blood on the sheet. The water flowing through pipes and the noise from the in room refrigerator prevent rest. The staff did not have the room ready and did not make us aware of when it was. The advertised "driving range" is a pasture with a synthetic mat, and garage sale golf clubs with cut and ragged balls. The chef will serve you what you want as long as it is what he is cooking. The orders were so far from request that the only excuse can be that he was going to prepare the food to his liking. A request for a birthday message went unfullfilled.
This hotel is the epitamy of false advertising. Because I am open to the idea of outlier events that are out of the control of staff, etc. I contacted the general manager. A discussion with the general manager, Paul Boccafogli, was not satisfactory.
When queried, I will make sure that business coming to that hotel from my zip code and influence groups is non-existant or reduced.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I just hosted my Indian Guides troupe Saturday night at Deer Run, three cabins & one room. Although the weather was not ideal, we had a fantastic time. Your staff brilliantly assisted us in adapting to the weather situation. Kathryn Piepho from the inception of our plan months ago was nothing but responsive, thorough and professional. Kathryn’s original schedule for us had to be scrapped due to the rain. However, Kathryn provided for several options that kept the 5 year olds entertained and the Dad’s happy too. For instance, we were supposed to grill burgers and dogs provided by RC at Deer Run. Due to the weather, Kathryn asked the chef to send the food prepared and ready to consume. Additionally, I brought venison sausage and back strap to grill for the group. Brenda asked the chef to grill the meets for us. The food was delivered hot and right on time for the hungry 6 year olds and Dads at Deer Run.



On Sunday morning we woke up and had my favorite breakfast on the planet. Following breakfast, the rain ceased and we proceeded to the zip line. Your crew at the zip line was professional and patient. The boys had a ball! Most of the Dads had not travelled to RC before. They were thoroughly impressed.

We continue to call RC our ranch; our kids call it our ranch.


Paul, cheers to you, your accomplishments at RC and your amazing staff!



Best- John

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunDOG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
12.7 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Glen Rose
92 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range: £166 - £1,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing