We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Somervell County Museum

This is the definition of quaint. We had a great time going through the county history. They have... read more

Reviewed 24 June 2018
Todd M
Really sweet, charming and characterful museum

This is such a lovely place. The lady volunteer who was there when I visited was so sweet and... read more

Reviewed 20 May 2018
VeeP40
,
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
8
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barbed wire on display dinosaur tracks volunteers donation photos exhibits information fossils
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This is the definition of quaint. We had a great time going through the county history. They have lot's photos and items to enjoy. The flood photos are really amazing. Don't miss the dinosaur footprint outdoors.

Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

This is such a lovely place. The lady volunteer who was there when I visited was so sweet and helpful. There is an eclectic mix of items on display but for me that is what makes it special. I loved the barbed wire collection and dinosaur/fossil exhibits especially. And to see one of the dinosaur footprints outside just made my trip as we didn't have time to go to the park. There is a lovely native wildlife garden outside which adds to the overall charm and character of the museum. It is free to visit but I was more than happy to make a donation as it's nice to have something so independent and individualistic still around.

Thank VeeP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

this was a very unique little museum filled with lots of information about the town. the person who was in charge was also very knowledgable about the town. i was impressed

Thank newtoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Thomas Edison phonographs, vintage household items, 1862 piano, 1800's dentist chair, dinosaur tracks, barbed wire collection and much more.

This small regional museum is worth the quick stop as it has several unique items rarely seen. Friendly historian on site with interesting stories!

Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

If you love old museums with lots of history about the place you are visiting this one is great. make sure that you visit the room in the back with all of the interesting things about the dinosaurs.

Thank Cloda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

While we realize that museums like this one exist solely on donations, this one is as average as they come. The volunteer offered no information or guidance as we roamed through the building freely.

Thank DDague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We found this museum while finding a nearby geocache. Thankfully the display outside has a dinosaur track so we could actually see one! The ones at the state park were underwater and not visible, sadly.
We tried to go into the museum on Wednesday during its posted hours, but no one was around. We tried again on Thursday afternoon and happily found it was open! My son had been peering into the window looking longingly at the fossils and wanting to see them, so we were glad to get to go inside on Thursday.
There is a lot packed in the tiny museum! We spent about 45 minutes poking around. Some of that time was spent in choosing which shark teeth to purchase and add to the "fossil collection" we have been building this week. All in all, a cool museum and a nice volunteer working there. She even played the wax cylinder Edison record player - a neat experience. Free, so it's a great deal if you catch it when it's open!

2  Thank BigHilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014

This free museum has limited hours but is a great way to spend a few hours seeing interesting things

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I enjoyed the visit to the county museum.I really like the moonshine steel that was on exhibit. The founding families photos and documents were interesting.

Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We had some time to waste and gave this a try. We enjoyed seeing all the old items (had never seen a hand-pump floor vacuum before). There's no fee, but can give a donation. The hours are limited and only open on the weekend. Also have lots of fossils on display. It ended up being a good place to spend almost an hour.

1  Thank CaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews