We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Fossil Rim

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge at Fossil Rim
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in the Peregrine Room at the Lodge over the weekend. The room was huge with a great fireplace, although until they decide "how" to use the fireplace it is not available. They just purchased some kind of artificial logs where you insert the material to burn, but it costs around $24 per fire. So right now, they won't let you use it. The bathroom was great. Separate glass shower and a bathtub that I would almost consider a hot tub. It easily could have been used by three or four people. The house needs a little TLC. Nothing major, paint on some of the closet doors, new toilet seat, etc. Little stuff. I don't think I would have wanted to pay $325 a night, which is high season, but the $175 we paid was well worth it. It includes a buffet breakfast of eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, cereal, fruit, etc. One of the best parts is an early morning three hour tour with a guide. It is $47 per person. We had a very knowledgable volunteer who had been working there about 11 years. That was well worth the price. We learned quite a lot about all the endangered animals that live there. All in all, the weekend was awesome. I would recommend the Lodge, especially the Peregrine room to anyone.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the Peregrine Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CinDen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2155FossilRim, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Fossil Rim, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful weekend. We are working on getting the fire place issue fixed, but we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the tour the next morning. Thanks for sharing your experience! We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    16
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PSPman222
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

What an experience. For those looking for a camping alternative with the kids, this is a must go to place outside Dallas. Great tent / cabin. No TV, just beds and bathroom. Plenty of plugs around. Great welcome from staff. A bit pricy $225 a night but it does drop later in the year to $125 a night. Ideal for one parent and one kid, otherwise they will sleep on the floor. They do have wifi and cell service works (ATT) but the Wifi seems to only be good in the dining area. You might want to try the closest tent for possible wifi reception. Great views from the tent. It's amazing to see the animals right outside the tent at the watering hole. My 5 year old girl loved it. One night is probably enough. If it's hot outside you might consider bringing a cooler. They have ice provided at the mess hall.

Room Tip: Get the closer room to the mess hall for wifi and shorter walks. They are in alphabetical order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PSPman222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge for 1 night in the Parrott Room. The room had dusty lampshades but otherwise clean. The bathroom was very clean. The air conditioner had trouble keeping up in the early evening but cooled down during the night. Breakfast is served in the pavilion located within the tented camp area. The main reason we stayed here was to visit the Fossil Rim Preserve. If you stay on the premises, the Lodge or the tented camp, you can take the early game drive, which is the breakfast run. The park has a large diversity of wildlife and these guys really like to eat, so they come up to the tram and eat out of your feed bucket. The tour guides are volunteers but very knowledgeable about the animals. The advantage of the early morning drive for sleep over guests is that you visit areas that are restricted to the self-drive tour and even the later guided tours. The park has a cheetah breeding facility, and we saw lots of cheetahs (one of my favorites). We also saw rhino, the Atwater prairies chicken hatchery, and several wolves. I thought the park makes for a great family experience, especially if you love wildlife. We plan to return and stay in the tented camp. The tented camp is fenced off so wildlife can’t get in. There is a watering hole right near the camp which is a popular spot in the early evening for animals to congregate. We met a family who stayed in the tented camp and they liked it. Texas is very hot in the summer, so I would visit in the fall, winter or spring. Facilities such as the Fossil Rim Preserve serve a very useful purpose in conservation and deserve our support.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carlosm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for two nights around New Year's Eve and had a blast. We had a few families with kids ranging from 5 years to 18 months. It is a lodge rental, not a hotel stay. Staying two nights was great because it allowed us to settle in and really enjoy the lodge. The kids loved waking up to see deer all around and hearing the wolves howling at night.

You can purchase beer, wine and hard alcohol at the bar that is on the honor system. It was not well stocked if you have some heavy drinkers. But it was good for a couple of drinks at the end of the day.

It has two large great rooms with fireplaces that are stocked with wood and games and is a great place to relax.

It has a full kitchen along with a nice sized grill on the deck. I would recommend to bring some food to cook/grill because it is about a 10 - 15 minute ride to get to a restaurant (you can also have pizza delivered). Breakfest was 4 or 5 minute car ride away at a dining facility where they also have the permanent tents.

Glen Rose has a couple of fun places to eat. Holleywood and Vine was great (go outside to eat) and the kids loved the atmosphere. Ranch House BBQ had some good bbq.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kriv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

As others have indicated, this is not a typical hotel or b&b. The house has been turned in to a lodge with five rooms. We stayed in the Parrot. We were able to park right outside our door for easy luggage moving. There were still a few steps but not bad.The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and it is "step in." That also means it is "step out" which may be difficult for anyone with mobility issues. My knees don't do well with a high step so it was a little inelegant (and would be even if one showered instead of enjoying the tub). No television except in the large common room but it was more fun watching the animals grazing nearby. You are not permitted (for safety reasons) to leave the enclosed area but the view is amazing and animals are constantly changing. I woke up to deer right outside the door.

Breakfast is down at the "safari camp" and was plentiful and tasty. Because there were only a few guests breakfast was plated instead of buffet. (One note of caution: The next morning the server did not show up for work so no breakfast was available. It took several calls to get someone to the camp to prepare food, delaying activities that were scheduled). Our reservation for the behind the scenes tour, only available to those who spend the night on site, was never entered in the computer so we had to return the next morning for our tour. Still it was worth it and I'd do it again.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms are on the first floor but share a bath. The Parrot Room has the least steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tazcaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

All i can say is the lodge leaks when it rains housekeeping is great the people are nice the water smells like rotten eggs lights dont work very good the door knob on the front door is broken horrible decorations workers sleep on the couch at night no service at those hours the tents not so great they have most uncomfortable beds in them i wouldnt recommend staying at all and way over priced.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatmeahot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at the safari camp was ok untill I was ready for bed,and found only a box spring, no extra blankets or pillow and no mattress.I paid 225 dollars to sleep on box springs. Cannot believe that I did that.Did not receive any help that satisfied me.NEVER AGAIN FOR ME. Place is way overpriced.

Room Tip: If anyone still decides to go to this place make sure you take somes pads to sleep on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Glen Rose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
19.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Fossil Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Fossil Rim

Property: The Lodge at Fossil Rim
Address: 3022 County Road 2010, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing escape at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center’s Lodge. Located in a peaceful corner of the park with incredible views, The Lodge welcomes guests to spacious rooms and includes a hot breakfast and a scenic wildlife drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Fossil Rim Hotel Glen Rose
Hotel At Fossil Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing