We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ at its best”
Review of Hammond's B B Q

Hammond's B B Q
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Coppell, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BBQ at its best”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This place has been here since the sixties based on the t-shirts all the staff wears. Great BBQ and plenty of it. Make sure you can take a to go box, because most of time you can't finishi this great brisket and ribs.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    71
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waco
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have eaten at Hammond's BBQ several times over a period of several years. The food is consistently good. The service is wonderful whether we're in a group of 15 or just a couple.

We stopped for lunch on a Monday and were delighted to find out there was an all you can eat buffet for $11, including drink and dessert.

The meat was piping hot and tasted great. I especially loved the brisket. It was thick sliced with the fat well trimmed. The ribs were very tender, tasty, and slightly greasy - all ribs are greasy, unless they are cooked too long and are dry. The meats tasted even better with the thin, brown BBQ sauce available from a huge pot.

I tried all the sides and all were delicious. The potato salad was a nice yellow color (mustard and mayo) with a fresh, homemade taste. The cole slaw was light and refreshing-not overly creamy. The garden salad was one of my favorite sides. The salad used a variety of lettuces, fresh broccoli, yellow squash, carrots, and red onions. Several homemade dressings were offered. The pinto beans were average.

I went through the food line for 2 platefuls, including dessert both times.

The cobblers were excellent! The crust was just right-not too doughy and not too dry. The crust was lightly dusted with sugar. The fruit fillings weren't too sweet. The balance of fruit and crust was perfect. I ate 2 bowls of blackberry cobbler. It was tart, fruity, and very flavorful. The peach cobbler was also good.

There were several drink choices - unsweet tea, sweet tea, lemonade, etc.. A waitress filled your glass whenever it started getting empty.

The restaurant is a large open space indoors with long picnic tables. The decor is what you would expect at a Texas BBQ-rustic. Rolls of paper towels are spaced down the tables in a rolling dispenser.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Franksmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, CO
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Really great barbecue!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Visited on a Saturday afternoon. Decor: painted picnic tables that are shared. Very casual. Service was prompt. Menu was varied with great selection of sides. Ordered ribs and brisket. BBQ sauce is served warmed in a carafe. Great green beans and onion rings. Loved how tender and lean the brisket was. My sister said the potato salad was one of the best she had ever eaten. Portions are VERY generous. I did not notice on first perusal that the children's plates were available "for all ages". Next time I will order a child's plate because I could only finish about half of what was on my plate. Hope I get back to Glen Rose someday to eat there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mountainwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Service was OK, food was oversmoked and very dry. Portions were generous. Prices were average. Nothing to write home about. There are many BBQ places around that are better.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MadisonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We ate supper here on a Saturday evening. They were not too busy. The ham, brisket, and sausage were very good. The ribs were ok. They were a little fatty. All of the side were excellent. I would probably eat here again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachloverTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hammond's B B Q also viewed

 

Been to Hammond's B B Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing