We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stop on Fossil Rim Tour”

The Overlook Cafe at Fossil Rim
Ranked #15 of 45 Restaurants in Glen Rose
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Stop on Fossil Rim Tour”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This cafe sits atop a high hill in the Fossil Rim Wildlife Center Park. Eating here helps pay for the animals' needs. The view is stunning, and the burgers are good. There is also a gift shop and petting zoo.

Helpful?
Thank GenThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of Fossil Rim Wildlife Center”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The menu is limited, but the food is good & quite filling. Definitely worth the stop! The large gift shop is also nearby & worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My favorite philly cheese!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The variety is great, from salads to hot dogs, Philly cheese to grilled hamburger. They have healthy foods grilled and fresh. They even have vegan. To lines are long if you go when it is busy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StoneHutFosilShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices, nice view”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Reasonably priced, but major downside was not being order to order anything a la carte- meaning we had to order a grilled cheese meal for our 1 year old, rather than share fries with him. Drinks are not included in meals. In addition to fountain drinks, powerade, juice, and water were available. We ordered grilled cheese (4.95), hot dog (4.95), and philly cheese steak (around $8) meals- we had way too many french fries for our small family of 4- wish we could have just ordered 1 or 2 orders of fries to share instead. The philly cheese steaks were pretty good. The menu also had burgers and a couple other items and small desserts (truffle-like) and ice cream were available too. Very nice setting with a great view of the grounds and the option to eat inside or outside. Overall we were mostly satisfied- the location was convenient and the prices weren't unreasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moorean6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrville
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The view is much better than the food”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We made a mistake by not bringing our own picnic lunch to Fossil Rim for the children who had COLD hot dogs and whimpy fries. HOWEVER, I do recommend if you are going to eat here to order a wrap. My daughter and I had these and they were very tasty. The lemonade is also good. Overall, however, it's a bit pricey like everything else at Fossil Rim. Sit outside as inside gets very crowded and VERY noisy. Outside, you have a tremendous view of the valley below and your first glimpse of the giraffes. The restrooms in the adjacent building which is the gift shop are very SMALL and very dirty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Overlook Cafe at Fossil Rim also viewed

 

Been to The Overlook Cafe at Fossil Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing