We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Living History Lesson !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goliad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quarters at Presidio la Bahia
Ranked #1 of 3 Goliad B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Quarters in February 2012. I highly recommend staying here.
Simply put - if you are into history, and especially Texas history, this is a very unique opportunity. You get to actually spend the night in the same fort that Colonel Fannin and his men were in shortly before they were tragically massacred (murdered) by Santa Anna's orders. When the museum closes for the day, you have complete privacy to roam the fort's grounds, perimeter, and the church courtyard. The Quarters is actually a 2-bedroom apartment with stone walls; however, it has AC/heating, shower, kitchenette, and all you need to stay in relative comfort. No TV (who needs it with all of this great environment ? Treat yourself, history lovers - you'll be glad you did !

Room Tip: Since there is only one room available, make your reservation well in advance. Friday & Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeBe_Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here in mid-December for only one night and were very pleased. It's wonderful to have the Fort entirely to yourselves once they close. You can walk around the courtyard and up into the battlements and it's very peaceful. The Quarters sleep four with one room having two twin beds and another with a queen sized bed. It was December and a little cold but the heater worked great. It's drafty but it's an old Fort and anyone staying here shouldn't be expecting the Sheraton. There is a main sitting room with a fireplace and a back door that leads straight into the courtyard. The old church is beautiful and still in use today. A wonderful piece of Texas history... highly recommend this experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jhawk37750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

My husband is into Texas history and I wanted a quiet place to just "be". I have not been well, and just need quiet . This is the place for you if you need to contemplate and soul search. I walked the fence and I swear I could almost see the soldiers faces on the wall. The grounds were peaceful and we put a blanket out there and just looked at the stars. I went into the chapel and prayed. I am not catholic but I'm pretty sure God did not mind. The Priest quarters were good, very nice. As everyone else has said, bring some bakery goods for breakfast and coffee and whatever you like in it.
We had the fire going and since my husband knows all about the story of the Mission, I had my own tour guide. We had our twin granddaughters with us , both busy looking for ghosts. We did have a couple of usual things happen, a gun shot sound about 2 am and some scary faces in the fire. Be sure and write in the book and tell everyone your experiences.
There is no TV or internet ( thank goodness) but you of course can bring your cell and any portable stuff you want, but it kind of defeats the purpose of the mission. IMHO
We are going back again this year and will probably continue to do so.
We thought the staff were just Texas folk and you know Texas people understand each other. We thought the service was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank breezes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We were visiting relatives in the area and thought staying in a fort overnight would be fun for our boys, ages 5 & 7; so, I made reservations over the phone (open daily ~9-4:45). It's located about a mile south of Goliad (grocery store, etc). [There is a "gift shop" outside the fort but it is not affiliated w/the Presidio La Bahia].
Upon arrival at 2PM, check-in was delayed because the room wasn't cleaned and the credit card machine was malfunctioning. Someone else was called in to help promptly, but we had to carry our youngest (who wasn't feeling well) through the museum for a while. We walked around the stone fort to see the corner look-out points and a cannon, middle grounds and the chapel (note:public services held Sundays at 5PM). We were told they "forgot" we were coming (even though it was written in the calendar at the desk).
"The Quarters" (old soldier's quarters) was great for our family of 4! Two twin beds in one room and a queen bed in another, living room w/table and couch, fireplace (bring wood), bathroom w/shower, kitchen (w/fridge, stove-but no microwave, coffee maker (bring coffee), pots, plates, glasses, utensils...). It was clean and had central air/heat and plenty of sockets for electrical devices (for playing/recharging) since there is no TV.
At night, we went exploring & "ghost hunting" (supposed to be haunted by the soldiers who died there) and were disappointed to be locked out of the main grounds and confined to just the corner by the chapel (?maybe we misunderstood). We walked the perimeter w/flashlights and enjoyed lots of stars in the sky. The next morning, we cooked breakfast and took hot showers. However, when turning in the key, was again told they "forgot" to leave the gate unlocked for us. Expected more for $200/night!
May stay again? but would call ahead to make sure the room is ready and check the gate before the museum closes!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatrinaTav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Staying at the Quarters at Presidio La Bahia is a one of a kind experience - if you are looking for no television, internet, or phone - if you want to feel like you have fallen through a hole in time for a day or two, you will not be disappointed. When the Fort closes for the day, you can still enter and wander the grounds through your room, and it is an amazing experience to have such a beautiful and peaceful place all to yourself.
There is a full fridge/freezer, stove and coffeemaker. (no microwave). They provide a coffeemaker and filters, but no coffee, so you will want to bring your own coffee and whatever you take in it. Stopping by a bakery on your way makes you able to enjoy coffee and breakfast on the grounds before it opens for the day to tourists - again, unbelievably peaceful and quiet. The town of Goliad is very interesting as well - it is picking up as a little touristy shopping district, and a wonderful little art cafe called Panache has recently opened on the courthouse square.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank greenmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

They rent the old priest quarters, and you get access to the Presidio grounds all night. The quarters are basically a two bedroom apartment, one large bed on one room, and two twins in the other. One bathroom with a shower, a kitchenette kind of kitchen, and rock walls. Perhaps because this is the location of the Massacre of Goliad, there are many ghost sightings reported at this location.
We filmed our visit to La Bahia, and it was quite interesting, as the person on duty told us of her personal sightings. See the videos and details at http://www.sailingtexas.com/TexasStateParks/Goliad/presidiolabahia.html

David

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Luckenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goliad
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Victoria
Candlewood Suites Victoria
#10 of 22 in Victoria
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Goliad Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Gage Hotel
Gage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Marathon
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antlers Inn
Antlers Inn
#2 of 3 in Goliad
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites - Goliad
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters at Presidio la Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters at Presidio la Bahia

Address: Goliad, TX
Region: United States > Texas > Goliad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Goliad
Price Range: £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most unusual type of accommodation, monastic quarters in an old fort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quarters At Presidio La Bahia Hotel Goliad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing