We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect for a "Resort"”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graford
Reviewed 18 August 2012

There is only 1 restaurant. A door separates one building that serves different food on each side of the wall! No room service. We reserved a Lakeview, but when we arrived they only had "Resort views" which is literally a parking lot view. There are only a few very fuzzy news channels to watch in your room, no movie rentals. The pools are not near the hotel. The only thing this resort has that is nice is the view. I was definitely hoping to find a much nicer resort closer to home, but we will definitely be going back to Horseshoe Bay from now on!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stumbled upon this place researching vacation resorts in Texas on the internet. That was 3 years ago. We have been back for our summer vacations each year for the last 3 years. Each year we research new places to go visit and always end up returning here. Between the easy access for launching the boat, and the wonderful food at the Chaparral Grille, the cleanliness of the Inn, the friendly employees and wonderful service and all of the other activities offered, the kids and I always have such a wonderful time. It is our plan to continue visiting and maybe even consider buying property at the resort in the future and becoming members.

Room Tip: Lakeview room at the Inn has amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

There was so much to do, but the heat was an obstacle. The tennis courts were scorching, but the pool made up for it! The kids playscape area is great in early morning or right before sun down. Bring BUG SPRAY!! I know, I know, it wild life it's pretty is scenic, but there are all sorts of bugs! (Luckily none in the room) We got a less expensive room facing the parking lot rather than the lake, but really the only times we were in the room we had the AC turned up high and the thick curtains closed so we could sleep! The folks there are all super sweet. The best part for my 3 yo was feeding the fish bu the marina!! Even if you don't have kids this is a sight to see!! I defenatly recommend going with the family, but my next trip will be just me and my hubby, we want to check out the SPA and the JET skis that we didn't get to because of the kiddos this time. Oh yeah and the live music on Saturday night would have been more fun had we been drinking, but ther is still plenty of summer left!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jscalesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The cliffs resort was a great experience, room was awesome, beautiful golf course and right on the lake! Dining was exceptional and really enjoyed the live entertainment on Saturday night!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennscalesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Premium rates for motel 6 service. Boatng is a joke. Rooms are sad. Place could be great but year after year unprofessional employees, BAD managment and no investment into property. NOT a resort, do yourself a favor and sleep in your car.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank azito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Spent a weekend here recently for a business meeting. The people at check in were professional, if not friendly. Building 1 had an unpleasant smell in the hallways, the other buildings did not. Rooms were nice, quiet, well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. The AC was very loud but cooled well. Be sure to check the plugs before you try to charge your cell phone; mine didn't charge overnight because the plug wasn't working. Be sure to ask for a room with a lake view, it was great. Nice to sit on the patio at night looking at the lake. The food at the restaurant was ok, but again, not great. The staff was friendly. They have a nice gym with a wide variety of equipment. My wife got a massage at the spa and she said it was great. The facial was just ok. I didn't play golf this trip but the course looked nice. The conference center was adequate and worked fine for our meeting.
This is a decent place for a quick getaway, only a short drive from DFW (about 1.5 hr drive). Overall, our stay was better than average but not quite very good. Say three and a half stars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cng8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My family and I stayed at this location over memorial day weekend May 2012. When we arrived at the security gate we were given a long list of does and dont's with your boat and or your boat trailer. Security did not be conserned about anything else such as warning of golf carts on the roads or pedestians on the roads just that you couldn't park your boat or your trailer in any parking lot. Then it proceeds to go down hill from there When you go launch your boat at the marina you have to take your vehicle and boat trailer to a grass/dirt unsecure parking are that is 1.9 miles away drop your trailer and drive the 1.9 mile trip back to the marina. Know there are about 8 to 10 courtesy slips that hold two boats which are normally full of personal water crafts. I tried to rent a covered slip from the marina for the weekend and they were charging $250.00 for the weekend. Most marina's charge about $20.00 per night. So then when you are thru enjoying this wonderful lake for the evening if all the courtesy slips are taken up you have to get in your vehicle and take the nearly 3 mile round trip to get your trailer and put your boat on it and then 1.9 more miles back to store the boat. Now to the The Cliff Inn and Villas the A/C's dont cool at all. The TV's are left over from the late 80's and 90's which is not a big deal on the rooms just that you are paying 5 star rates and getting 2 star motor lodge and a major hassel to go boating. There are better places than here to stay if you are a boater.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graford
11.8 mi away
Wildcatter Ranch
Wildcatter Ranch
#1 of 8 in Graham
208 reviews
22.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Mineral Wells
Days Inn & Suites Mineral Wells
#2 of 8 in Mineral Wells
342 reviews
16.9 mi away
Executive Inn Mineral Wells
Executive Inn Mineral Wells
#6 of 8 in Mineral Wells
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Mineral Wells
Comfort Suites Mineral Wells
#4 of 8 in Mineral Wells
98 reviews
20.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Graham
21.6 mi away
Best Western Club House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 160 Cliffs Dr, Graford, TX 76449
Region: United States > Texas > Graford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graford
Price Range: £110 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated 4 1/2 stars by Golf Digest, The Cliffs Resort is a master-planned development perched 200 feet above Possum Kingdom Lake. Located only 2 hours from Dallas, The Cliffs Resort offers Deluxe Accommodations, Dining, a Championship Golf Course, Spa & Fitness Center, Private Marina and Ship Store, Conference Center, Swimming Pool, Tennis Courts and much more. We invite you to enjoy our relaxing resort amenities offered exclusively for our Guests and Property Owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Graford
Cliffs Hotel Graford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing