We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Lake Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graford
Certificate of Excellence
dallas
1 review
“Excellent Lake Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

I was very impressed with the resort. The best part was the relaxation and pampering I received from the Spa.
They are very professional and it was a great experience.
They only have one restaurant and it is a little pricey--but we were on a weekend getaway.
This resort is recommended for golfers and lake activities--they have their own marina!
We rented a boat and toured the lake.
Not recommended for people that do not golf, or like water activities, or like spa treatments.
It is a perfect weekend getaway for those that do.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geminimixer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    21
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
45
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dallas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

My family owns a small company and each year we try to have annual get away for family and clients. Last year it was decided (2008) that it would be at the Cliffs. Although it is beautiful and the golf was great we had a problem with the management. We decided since we love the place so much that we would try again. On Labor Day of 2009 we arrived friday we were welcomed as usual,( the staff at this place goes above and beyound ) we were checked into our rooms and off we went to the golf course. It was a great round and a good day, although saturday was the big tournament. AND that where it all went down hill again. Our group teed off early that morning. We had a great day, there were four foursomes. When we came in from playing our round it was time to relax a little befor trying to go up to the rooms and getting ready for dinner. And then once agin we were confronted by management (management is the same one person that caused are questions in 2008).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffs555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Where do i begin?! From driving in the resort until checkout the experience was absolutely amazing. First off just pulling into the resort gave me and my family a slight sense of comfort knowing there was active security making sure everyone that was supposed to be there knew where to go and making a written record of every person and vehicle that entered the place. What really made our family feel good was constantly seeing multiple security vehicles constantly driving around different areas of the resort, they were there when we went to sleep, and when we woke up! Check in was a breeze besides a small wait, but hey if there is that many people the resort must be recommended. Our hotel room was very clean, quiet, and the beds were comfortable. The furniture wasn't exactly flashy but it had a desk, Wi-Fi, and the chair was decently comfortable.

The restaurant- some of the best quality food i have tasted for that price! We started off with STUFFED JALAPENOS WHICH ARE TO DIE FOR! I had the venison, while my wife ordered the fillet mignon, and my daughter and son each had items off the kids menu. The wait staff seemed to be very experienced in customer service, we even had waitresses besides our one checking on us along with the restaurant manager and general manager who happened to be there at the time. Since it was such a nice weekend, we sat on the patio with an amazing LIVE band, i believe the "Three Ring Rodeo" or something like that. The temperature was slightly warm at first, but turned out being perfect later that evening along with the perfect view of the lake, probably the best view on the lake from what i could tell without flying over in a helicopter.

We rented a boat from their marina, and we were lucky enough to take out a basically brand new boat since they had just gotten them supposedly. They did look new though. One of the employees at the marina went over EVERYTHING on the boat with me, i felt i could drive any boat after he gave me lesson on how to drive the thing. They had jetskis too but we were just looking to be able cruise around. The wife and kids really enjoyed the lake, the kids especially with the tube and knee board we also rented. The kids nor my wife and i ever really got bored as there is huge playground, nice tennis court, volleyball area, amazing pool with a waterfall, and the whole resort is just a nice place to walk around and experience in general. My wife said the spa massage is what really made her weekend. I didn't play golf, but the golf course looked very nice and is supposed to be one of the hardest in Texas, so it is probably better i didn't play.

But best of all, it is a REAL GETAWAY! I see other reviewers complaining! What a bunch of complainers who don't know the meaning of a vacation! It's away from the city, the work, the worries, and all the other [--] the ruins your day!

Definitaly recommend for families and couples, and i guess any person who is good at golf.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Overview: the staff was great and very accommodating, the noise at night kept us awake and the room quality was mediocre especially for the price.

We stayed at The Cliffs for an extended weekend along with some friends. The staff was very accommodating, but everything else left much to be desired. My husband and his friend golfed and enjoyed the course. The swimming pool was very nice. The price was high for the quality of accommodations. You are paying for the fantastic view (which was beautiful) and nothing else. The buildings are poorly constructed. Paper thin walls - we were kept up until 1:30 am because of noise from people upstairs and beside us (fortunately our infant slept through most of it). The bathroom was gross - water stains on the ceilings, dirty shower floor, rampant mildew under the acrylic shower knobs. We switched rooms after the first night and the second room was much better. When we arrived, our friends found that the reservations they secured were not available. They booked a Villa Suite and had to downgrade to a King room. The Cliffs provided them with a free rollaway bed for the hassle, but did not offer them a price cut in exchange for the mistake - they paid full price for the room. Went to the spa and the employees were great, but my massage therapist never showed. The others stepped in and took over, but I ended up waiting for a long time for the services I received. The restaurant was mediocre - too pricey for the quality of food. Dinner took a long time to arrive. To the Cliffs' credit: We ended up having to leave a night early because our infant became ill and they did not charge us for the room though we left at 9:30 pm. We were quite pleased about that. All in all, it was okay. We checked out some of the other lodging in the area and didn't find anything that looked to be better. Our conclusion was that Possum Kingdom Lake could use a really nice luxury hotel but as of yet there isn't one. I would recommend it to a friend but only because there is nothing we could find that looked better.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_b_h_allen_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

The amenities are as described but more separated than I was expecting. Everything is within walking distance just some walks are a little longer ... View from the more expensive rooms is nice you should expect to pay about $190 w/tax during the week and about $262 w/tax on the weekend. A/C works well and in general the room is comfortable. Where things fall apart is when it comes to consistency in service... during our three night stay the room was cleaned once around 6pm and once around 10AM while my wife was in the middle of taking a shower. She noticed the person had entered the room and made the bed and straightened up while she was taking the shower... as you can probably guess no towels where left and the bathroom was not cleaned =) I also think it is a little humorous also but that is how the experience when throughout the weekend. My wife and her friend went to get a manicure and the young lady was inexperienced enough that she nicked both of them (at different times) while filling. The restaurant is fine ... but you will need to make reservations the night before ... even though it may not be busy. None of these things individually are large issues but they add up and took a little away from the experience we were expecting for the rate we where paying. Check out some of the other nearby resorts and even some of the owner rentals I believe you will get more bang and possibly satisfaction for the buck. I wrote this review to help level set expectations... Since this was my first trip to PK I probably would still have gone because the lake is beautiful. However, I might have attempted to stay somewhere else first. The interesting part was when we brought these issues to the attention of the front desk… we received blank stares =) and then they just went back answering the phone. They don’t know how to respond or how to fix a problem…It’s not worth getting frustrated over but we would not go back to the Cliffs. PS While we where waiting in the lobby we overheard the staff putting people on a waiting list because the hotel was sold out and at the same time they argued with a customer who was requesting to cancel a reservation. A lot of things with the service at this resort just doesn’t make sense.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallas_diver_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

We (early 30s couple) stayed for one night on the romance package and even with a discount I have no clue how they charge so much for a low end Marriott type room. Everything about this place is over-rated and not worth it. We had a Lake view room, according to everyone I asked it was the best room they offer and wasn't worth the price.

Maybe we are snobby but I dont think so. If you charge over $250 a night and title it a 'resort' you expect some level of comfort and service which the 'Cliffs Resort' doesnt meet. A couple of examples, the 'art work' they have on the walls is actually rugs from Target wjhich we have in our garage. We called at 6:00 PM to get towels because our room didnt have any on the towel rack and they said room keeping is gone so you need to go to the front desk to get them, etc...

I have golfed there and its a great course but everything else is overpriced, outdated and not worth half of what they ask per night. I wish I could report different but you should know what you are signing up for.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigperm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

I loved my stay! My sister and I went at the end of August to miss the summer rush and it was wonderful. Our room was spacious and clean with a patio overlooking the lake. The food was phenomenal! We both had relaxing massages in the spa and I enjoyed the work out room. My favorite was being able to run on a treadmill first thing in the morning while watching the sunrise over the lake and humming birds fly by the window. Gorgeous scenary and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy5608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graford
12.3 mi away
Wildcatter Ranch
Wildcatter Ranch
#1 of 8 in Graham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
21.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Mineral Wells
Comfort Suites Mineral Wells
#4 of 8 in Mineral Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
19.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Graham Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mineral Wells
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Graham
21.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Club House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 160 Cliffs Drive, Graford, TX 76449
Region: United States > Texas > Graford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated 4 1/2 stars by Golf Digest, The Cliffs Resort is a master-planned development perched 200 feet above Possum Kingdom Lake. Located only 2 hours from Dallas, The Cliffs Resort offers Deluxe Accommodations, Dining, a Championship Golf Course, Spa & Fitness Center, Private Marina and Ship Store, Conference Center, Swimming Pool, Tennis Courts and much more. We invite you to enjoy our relaxing resort amenities offered exclusively for our Guests and Property Owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Graford
Cliffs Hotel Graford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing