We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, quick tour with spooky jail cell experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hood County Jail and Historical Museum

Hood County Jail and Historical Museum
Ranked #4 of 42 things to do in Granbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum is housed in an authentic old western jail built in 1885 and located just off the northeast corner of the town square. The museum preserved the upstairs jail cells and hanging gallows just as they were when the County used it as a jail. The main floor houses exhibits on Hood County history covering David Crockett's descendants, General Granbury's tombstone, the Colony, Jesse James, John Wilkes Booth, Bell Starr, Comanche Peak, Barnard's Trading Post, the Brown family piano, and much more. It is recommended to call museum in advance.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun, quick tour with spooky jail cell experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My boyfriend and I have always walked past the Jail museum after shopping in the town square, and finally decided to venture in last Saturday during their tour hours (1-4pm). What a fun, random tour and historical museum it was! We were greeted by the friendly staff and shared the tour with another couple around our age. We were lead up the tower to both cell rooms where our jaws dropped at the site of the tiny cell rooms where hundreds of inmates have resided back in the day. Besides the hundreds of names carved out in the walls, and the tiny 4-bunk cellblock we got to go in, we came out of the tour well educated on Granbury's history. The whole thing lasted about 45 minutes (they led us on the tour from 4-4:45pm) and was well worth it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BKPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just a few yards from the northwest corner of the square and worth a look! You will find yourself walking into a true historical jail that has been beuatifully restored. If you are a history buff, as I am, this is definately worth your time. Believe the old hangmans noose is still there too. And if memory strikes me correctly, there was only one hanging there? Just a fun place to visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Charla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

If you love history you will enjoy the museum and it's on the square so it's easy to get to. It's across from the Nutt House guess it should be LOL

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sissy7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The jail has a great history, but do not just read the exhibits and leave. Talk to the volunteers. They have the real history and they have a passion to tell the stories. Interesting place. Possibly haunted. The kids (4/7) were a bit too young, but they still talk about their experience in the jail cell and the ghost.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A treasure-trove of exciting history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The old jail museum was our favorite stop on our last visit to Granbury. The guides were friendly and quite knowledgeable. I would suggest taking the tour with a guide first and then go back to view the displays after you know a little more about what they mean.

There are many exciting tales highlighted in the museum. There were jail breaks and wanted outlaws. A botched hanging. Davy Crockett's wife lived in town. There was military history from multiple wars, and history of surrounding communities that no longer exist. We could have stayed there for hours reading all the info but our feet got tired! I wish someone would compile all that info in a book. The volunteers and curators have amassed an impressive collection.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wkndroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hood County Jail and Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hood County Jail and Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing