We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Love This Place!”
Review of Rib Shack

Rib Shack
Ranked #29 of 110 Restaurants in Granbury
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Granbury
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Absolutely Love This Place!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had been told about this place months ago but just didn't get around to going by and trying their BBQ. Well.....I should have gone there long ago. The pulled pork sandwich was deeelicious!!!! My wife had the baked potato with pulled pork and it was more than a meal. Portions were generous, food was delicious and the service was fast and friendly. One more thing. They serve a thick pickle slice that is scrumdillyumpcious. They make the pickles themselves and I bought a jar and took it home. You will enjoy this eating experience. Almost forgot.....I saw the rib plates some people got and I almost wanted to snitch one off their plate. They looked wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank buddymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cute Hole in the Wall Place”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The place does look like a shack and was easy to find! We could smell the delicious BBQ from the parking lot. We went on a Friday at lunch time and it was busy, but not too crowded. The decor is very cute and I liked the ole time fireplace. The food was quite tasty....I had the chopped beef plate with corn & pickles and my husband had the ribs. The meat was dry so you need to put a lot of sauce on there. But it was good. The pickles "Pig-les" are delicious. Not too hot but just enough of a kick. I bought a jar to take home and was told they ship them all over the country. The co-owner was so sweet....we had told her we were in town for our anniversary and she made us a complimentary yummy bowl of banana pudding....oh my...it was so good! If we are in the area again, we will definitely return to the Rib Shack!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fall off the bone ribs”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We only had rib plates so can't comment on other meats. We couldn't keep the meat on the bones! Compared to some ribs, they might be a bit dry, but I think it's because you add your own sauce. I loved, loved, loved them. Good price too at $8.95 for 1/2 pound and 2 sides. Potato salad good, but other sides just okay. You order at the counter and everything is self-serve and a little slow. Atmosphere - not much. But it's cool, comfortable enough and friendly. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank preironic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“JonathAn”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

I used to live in Stephenville, and I am a big fan of Hard 8 BBQ. This BBQ is better. It's a little bit slow, and the tables are crowded, but the food is great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonathan6513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“cool friendly place”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Shack-y place with better than average BBQ. The ribs are quite good. Sides are average unfortunately.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DallasLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rib Shack also viewed

 

Been to Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing