We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yee Haa! Cowboy Cabin!”

Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages
Ranked #12 of 18 Granbury B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yee Haa! Cowboy Cabin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at Dinosaur Trail over the 4th of July weekend. We drove four hours to get there, and even though I received a speeding ticket near Waco that glitch didn't diminish from the wonderful time! We stayed three nights, and the first night (Thursday, July 3rd) we were the only guests. This meant that we had wonderful personal service from our hosts. The homemade cookies and fruit were yummy and most welcome (I'll admit, we didn't eat a lot of fruit, and the cookies didn't last long).

We had excellent breakfasts that really started our day in the Granbury area. We stayed in the Cowboy cabin, which was stocked with Western movies, done up in a western motif, and even had a picture of The Duke on the nightstand. I even read The Working Cowboys Manual while I was there (while I haved lived in Texas for over 30 years, I was born in New York). The cabin was memorable and we loved it. We even watched Red River! We'd like to come back and try the Jurassic cabin next time. We hiked the dinosaur trail several times and enjoyed the beauty of the area.

Not even 100 degree temperatures could take away from the wonderful time we had! We had a fun and event-filled weekend that we didn't want to end.

  • Liked — Christian atmosphere, gracious hosts.
  • Disliked — The only thing I can think of was proximity to a highway. It got a little noisy on the 4th of July.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2005

We had a great stay in this cabin. Our family has a hard time finding a place to stay with six children. This was an ideal place for us. Our children loved the playground and 1/4 mile walk through Dino Trail. What a great opportunity for our children to learn about God's creatures while spending family time together. The cabin was full of amenities for everyone; from reading books to watching movies, playing cards to whirlpool baths, building puzzles to dancing with Dad to the oldies on there beautiful record player. The owners did a great job making us feel at home and providing extra treats for our family (cakes, cookies, sodas, and breakfast). This is an excellent cabin for a large family and close enough to visit Fossil Rim and Dinosaur State Park. What a great weekend to end the summer! Thanks.
The Buhler Family
Fort Worth, Texas

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2005

This was a very unique b&b in a very unique town. Granbury is a great historic town with a lot of personality. Dinosaur Trails and its unique personality fits right in. Great location on the lake with fabulous 'dinosaur' walking trails - very educational. Oh the snacks were to die for! The bed was soooo cozy! The 'Pink Rose' cottage divine!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2005

The cowboy cabin was awesome, got a great nights sleep, liked the fact that they had a VCR on the TV. Granbury is a cool town with an old time square and lots of cool stuff at the stores. The trail at the b & b was nice. Good food too. The lake is close too (about 100 yards or less) and can be seen from the trail.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2004

I can't begin to tell you how much my husband, my grandchildren and myself enjoyed our stay at the Dinosaur Trail B&B. The owners were so thoughtful and helpful an their place is clean, unique, comfortable, and lots of fun. They thought of everything to make our visit great. It was so nice to find a place we can enjoy and that not only accepts kids but is fun and educational for them too! Granbury is a wonderful town and we can't wait to return. Thank you for the tip on the cabins, we couldn't have found a better place to stay. Pam White

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granbury
2.3 mi away
Plantation Inn Granbury
Plantation Inn Granbury
#5 of 13 in Granbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nutt House Historic Hotel
Nutt House Historic Hotel
#7 of 13 in Granbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baker St. Harbour, Waterfront Bed and Breakfast
12.4 mi away
Country Woods Inn
Country Woods Inn
#2 of 6 in Glen Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages

Property: Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages
Address: 2800 Highway 144 South, Granbury, TX 76048
Region: United States > Texas > Granbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Granbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty-five miles from Fort Worth, our bed and breakfast offers a relaxing environment of two nicely decorated cabins and one cottage. Start your day with a gourmet breakfast followed by a relaxing stroll down our 1¼ mile wooded trail with 11 life-sized dinosaurs. We are perfect for a honeymoon, anniversary, family gathering or girls get-away. Make memories with your children by playing board games and croquet. Children love the playground and visiting the three playhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing