We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome annivesary”

Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages
Ranked #12 of 18 Granbury B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
“awesome annivesary”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We checked into the Rose Cottage and it was so comfy!, the kids enjoyed going through the trail and the playground. I enjoyed sitting in the jetted tub, sitting outside and watching the rain, and just relaxing while the kids collected rock treasure. There was can opener (that we really needed to keep our food cost low),soft drinks in fridge, coffee maker, cups, cocoa and tea.
The breakfast was so filling and for sure it was made by loving hands. It was close enough to take a day trip to the museum and the state park. The owners are truly precious people and most important for us, they are a Godly family and the presence of the Lord was there. We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: If you are a big family use Jurassic Cabin, family of 3 with a baby, you can do with Rose Cottage li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemmy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    4
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Pink Rose cabin we stayed in was very nice. It was quite adequate for two people. The cabins are a little too close to the highway for our taste. We could hear the traffic all night long on one of the major highways into the city. The breakfast was okay but not great. My husband was looking forward to counrtry cooking but we had a breakfast cassole. It was good but not what we expected. We had the place all to ourselves for one of the nights. That was good because the cabins are also very close together. It had a trail with worn out dinosaurs on it. The playground was a little worn out too. With a little TLC, I think kids would enjoy it more. I doubt we would go back there. But, if you need a cabin and don't mind the noise, it's okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Where can i start this is a mix review. We were really excited that we had found these cabins we had a little trouble finding them because there up on the hill and there sign not very big. When we got there had to call them so they could open cabin once in there it was SMALL for two adults and two children they offered the bigger cabin which was great. Once in there was greated with fruit basket brownies and drinks nice touch. Decor was outdated but cute in a way. No cable or internet. The location is great because its minutes from tourist attractions.. Then one morning was greated by a scropion in bath tub !! Needless to say we shook everything the whole time there! Breakfast was great i will say that. However beware of hidden costs! We were told it was a certain price and were charged $100.00 more we thought it was mistake so emailed and were told we were charged per kid! We forwarded the email that THEY HAD VERYFIED PRICE but would only return $20.00!! Im sorry but when you give a a price stick with it and if something changes be upfront don't just charge credit card.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We found the place on line and rented a cabin at the last minute. We were met by 1 of the owners who was very nice. The cabin was alot larger then we expected and very clean and inviting. The cabins arn't fancy but compared to other nice and expensive hotels that we have stayed in I give the cabins 5 stars! I have 2 teenagers and 2 small children and they loved it. Our cabin had toys, games and movies to keep the kids entertained plus a dinosaur trail and small playground that they loved. The trail isn't long but it's long enough to enjoy. I loved the prayer garden. Breakfast was a wonderful surprise. We had stuffed french toast, bacon and fruit prepared by one of the owners. We will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4crazykids1crazymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have a family of 6, and decided on Dinosaur Trail Cabins. The Jurassic Cabin was great, and sleeps 6 easily. The cabin and property were super clean. The Dinosaur trail was very nice and informative. For younger children, it it just the perfect fit. It is very easy to relax and enjoy the country air. We were amazed at Gary and Karlyne's hospitality. This is truly a Bed and "BREAKFAST!" Each morning the Breakfast was amazing! Gary even went out of his way to have a "fire-pit" brought to the property, so the kids could roast "smore's." Grandbury is such a neat place to visit, with plenty to do from the old town square, to the beach on lake Grandbury and the many great 'local' restaurants. Dinosaur Trail Cabins topped off the experience. Have a great time on your trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We booked the Jurassic cabin as a spur-of-the-moment thing for ourselves and 3 young granddaughters. The entire stay was a delightful surprise. There is a trail right outside the back door of this cabin, with cheesy giant "dinosaurs" around every bend! The girls LOVED it. There was a little plaque with info about each dinosaur, which was actually educational and enjoyable at the same time. The breakfast was a little too "grown up" for the taste of my girls. My husband and I loved it, but it would have been a good idea to add some cereal or something kid-friendly. The breakfast casserole they had was delicious, mind you, but our girls, and the child of another couple in another cabin, didn't touch it. The owner was very nice, and everything else was perfect. We will be back!

Room Tip: The Jurassic cabin is the only one big enough for a family to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mombatDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2011

So there's not an incredible amount of information out there for this B&B, and frankly I knew I was taking a chance in planning our family trip here. But, I have a three year old son who likes dinosaurs, so why not?

Let me say right away that this is no Great Wolf Lodge or Hyatt on the Plaza. While all of the accomodations were clean and spacious to be sure, the amenities from the TV (only VHS!) to the croquet set were older units. The dinos along the trail were perfect for my three year old, but might disinterest some more inquisitive 9 or 10 year olds more quickly (we did the trail 7 or 8 times though, and probably more if it had been warmer!). Yet, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, as the age and simplicity of the items on hand brought their own quaintness to the environment, and really put the focus back to spending quality family time more so than anything. My wife and I were really able to relax and immediately feel at home in the Jurassic Cabin - not really something you feel in a sterile hotel room.

Most of all, Gary and Karylene are excellent hosts, and sharing breakfasts with them truly rounded out the experience for my family. They know about kids!! Had a high chair and a guardrail for the bed all ready to go for us! They are really sweet people that you just wish you could spend all day talking to.

All in all, if your family is especially picky or particular about top-of-the-line amenities or luxury in general, I would say this is not the place for you. But, if your family can enjoy a board game together, or a game of horseshoes on a well used set, or even watching Jurassic Park together on a 27" TV after admiring the models in Dinosaur World, I would say that Dinosaur Trail would appeal to you. We certainly are laid back and had an awesome time!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crosseyed_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granbury
2.1 mi away
Nutt House Historic Hotel
Nutt House Historic Hotel
#8 of 13 in Granbury
55 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
2.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 18 in Granbury
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Granbury Gardens Bed And Breakfast
12.4 mi away
Country Woods Inn
Country Woods Inn
#2 of 6 in Glen Rose
121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn on Lake Granbury
Inn on Lake Granbury
#2 of 18 in Granbury
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages

Property: Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages
Address: 2800 Highway 144 South, Granbury, TX 76048
Region: United States > Texas > Granbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Granbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty-five miles from Fort Worth, our bed and breakfast offers a relaxing environment of two nicely decorated cabins and one cottage. Start your day with a gourmet breakfast followed by a relaxing stroll down our 1¼ mile wooded trail with 11 life-sized dinosaurs. We are perfect for a honeymoon, anniversary, family gathering or girls get-away. Make memories with your children by playing board games and croquet. Children love the playground and visiting the three playhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing