We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, questionable management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Grand Prairie
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Grand Prairie
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great stay, questionable management”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Let's start with the positives, and largely the reason that people would be reading this review.

My check-in person was fantastic. I was in much earlier than check-in time and she still found a spot for me despite the hotel being at capacity. I know that was luck, too, but the point is that the check-in person did what she could to make it happen.

The room itself was spacious and clean with good amenities. Despite being right on the freeway, it was very quiet. So quiet in fact that when I turned my A/C on, I could hear A/C from other rooms turning on. As this was disturbing, I turned my fan on, and I was essentially shut out from noises coming from the outside world.

Location is decent. It's walking distance to a few restaurants. Given that you are in the metroplex, it's certainly not close to everything, but you have to trade off whether or not it's close to the majority of the things that you want to do - and it was. It's a short drive to Cowboys Stadium and the entertainment areas in Arlington.

The breakfast was below-average but passable.

The problem with this hotel, it seems, is that should anything go wrong - will management be there to help you? I had tried to contact management prior to my arrival to find out whether or not they'd hold a package for me. No response - I eventually had to phone to find out.

Upon check-out, I find that the hotel charges a $1.50 safe fee per day. Funny thing - I didn't even know that I had a safe, and I sure as heck didn't approve being charged for it. I argued this after check-out. The check-out person keeps me waiting for another 5 minutes as she fiddles with the computer, only to declare that the charge "should" now be reversed. Well, it wasn't. I was actually charged again. So, now I'm contacting management and all I get back is another folio essentially confirming that I've now been double charged for what I shouldn't have been charged with in the first place.

I'm not worried - I know that I'll eventually get my money back even if I have to charge them back through my credit card company. Problem is that all of this could/should have been avoided - and regarding of eventual resolution, this is taking up my time that could be better used elsewhere. So, despite a nice room and nice location - I cannot recommend this hotel, and I personally would not stay there again. A safe charge - you've got to be kidding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCann0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
9
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downey, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Check in was fast, rooms were very clean..breakfast was good and the kitchen staff was nice and always smiling...would like to have had the laundry facilities on my floor and they needed more than 1 washer/dryer....didn't like the location of the hotel...to many turns here and there in order to get into the hotel driveway

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18vivian18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here with our softball team. Our reservation was for 1 night only. They charged us for 2 nights. I called and emailed the manager Kirk for weeks and he NEVER returned any of my calls or emails. Very poor management!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bohlkend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimmerman, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My family and I have stayed in other Comfort Suites in the past and this one was just O.K. If you need a place to stay between Fort Woth and Dallas, this one was clean and reasonable in price. I think that there was only one person working and it was hard to get towels or service. The pizza place they recommended was O.K. but it took 1 hour for delivery. The breakfast was O.K. It was also very noisy next to the interstate. I needed to use earplugs to sleep. It wasn't bad, we have just stayed at nicer Comfort Suites. I do not know if I would stay there again if I were to be back in that area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We found this hotel looking for a place with reasonable rates relatively close to Cowboy Stadium. This hotel was fine but is very close to the freeway which is busy at all hours. This was an average hotel, clean and ok for just a place to sleep. The best part of staying at this hotel was finding the nearby mexican restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCBBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Although we slept well and the facility was adequate, would not select it again. Very close to I-20, small parking lot with commercial vehicles making parking tight. Room small; one of beds was right by window. Specify a room away from freeway. Be aware that the owner of this Comfort hotel puts a room safe charge on your bill. Will be taken off if you request. A maintenance room on top floor near elevator was propped open with a trash can throughout our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff was awesome front desk super jobs everything o needed i got it. Frendly staff housekeeking i would stay here again . It right by alot of restrauts i loveI love comfort suites come and check this place out

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Early11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Prairie hotels
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dallas Grand Prairie
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 22 in Grand Prairie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Grand Prairie South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Grand Prairie Southwest
Super 8 Grand Prairie Southwest
#6 of 22 in Grand Prairie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arlington North Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Prairie I-20
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Grand Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Grand Prairie

Property: Comfort Suites Grand Prairie
Address: 2504 W Interstate 20, Grand Prairie, TX 75052-7280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Grand Prairie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Grand Prairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Grand Prairie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Grand Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing