We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Grand Prairie
Jefferson, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a few days while on business. Hotel is definately showing its age, but don't let that scare you away. The staff at this hotel is outstanding! They have got customer service skills! Airport shuttle driver was extremely friendly as well, and was at DFW within 15 minutes of our call! Hotel is in what looks to be a "sketchy" neighborhood, especially at night, so request a 2nd or 3rd floor room, if possible. The pool is outside, but it was actually clean; unlike most outdoor pools. When I am back in the south DFW area again, I will definately be staying here! Also, a huge thank you to the all the staff here for making my stay pleasant!

Room Tip: Request a room on 2nd or 3rd floor for peace of mind. Rooms facing north have an amazing view of pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    72
    85
    62
    53
See reviews for
87
38
28
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I was pleased with this location and overall had a very nice stay. The staff was friendly and the room clean. The renovations were nice, I just would have liked better outlets closer to the bed. And the HVAC was a little tricky. I was here on business and would stay again for work or with my family.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Very nice property - well maintained and convenient to DFW airport. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Room was clean and comfortable, property overall was fine. Highly recommended. Will stay here again on future trips to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCH03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This Hampton is getting up there in age. They are working on it: painting, re-carpeting, and putting in flat screens, but the rooms are still old-fashioned. The staff is friendly, and the breakfasts are good. It is a little cheaper than the newer Hamptons, and I would say if you get a good deal, this is an OK hotel. For a few extra bucks, and a better location, though, I usually stay at the newer Hampton in N Arlington.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Located half way between the airport and Six Flags / The Ballpark / Jerry's World. You would think this would be a prime location for a new Hampton Inn. This one is in need of a makeover. Popcorn ceiling, cracks in the walls, small bathroom, tricky AC. Not a good representation of the brand. The desk clerk was nice and helpful but this hotel needs some work. With plenty of options surrounding here I will try something else on my next visit. Was planning to park here and shuttle to the airport but I will pay the DFW parking fee. Not so sure about the security here. Dark parking lot and questionable area.

Room Tip: Try something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badman525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property. We are currently in plans to start renovations shortly and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Grand Prairie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night. The hotel seems tired and in need of some fresh paint and decor. The area was a little spooky and I felt uneasy about leaving my car in the parking lot. It is very close to DFW and Six Flags. I felt this hotel barely met Hilton standards that's am used to.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mickey2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
I woudl like to thank you for taking the time to write the feedback on your stay. We have plans to start renovations soon and would like to welcome you back on your next visit to Grand Prairie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was by far the worst Hilton property we have stayed at. The location was convenient for Six Flags, and that is really the only good thing we have to say abut it. When we walked into our room it had a terrible musty smell. The room itself was tiny. It had 2 double beds (for 4 of us) and we were tripping all over each other. We called the front desk to get an extra blanket, and my son was asked to come down himself to get it. Between the heavily accented English by the front desk clerk and his surprise, he responded with "What?" and the guy then said "never mind, I will bring it it to your room". I have never been in a hotel that wasn't happy to bring you extra blankets, towels, etc.

The parking was not sufficient for the capacity of the hotel. We had to park overnight at the IHOP across the parking lot, which didn't feel particularly safe. The breakfast room was not sufficient for the capacity either. We had to stand around a few minutes before we were able to find a table and get our food. Nobody was wiping down tables, so I asked a lady that was bringing out food. She looked shocked that I asked her to wipe off the table with her rag.

The icing on the cake for us however, was when we were getting ready to go to bed. Imagine our surprise when we saw one of the biggest ROACHES we have ever seen! (The saying is true, things are bigger in Texas!) I have been in Motel 6's that were more comfortable and clean than this Hampton. Very disappointing for a Hilton property and we most definitely would not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone. There are plenty of other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasgirl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thanks for the feedback on your stay,we will start renovations soon and we would like to welcome you back on your next visit to Grand Prairie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Prairie hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arlington North Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/North Arlington/Grand Prairie
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Grand Prairie
Comfort Suites Grand Prairie
#8 of 22 in Grand Prairie
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Grand Prairie North
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Grand Prairie South
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 22 in Grand Prairie
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Address: 2050 N State Highway 360, Grand Prairie, TX 75050-1423 (Formerly Hampton Inn Dallas-Arlington-DFW-Six Flags)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Grand Prairie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Grand Prairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites Dallas-Arlington-DFW-Six Flags is perfectly situated near popular attractions like Hurricane Harbor, Globe Life Park and AT&T Stadium (formerly Cowboys Stadium). After a busy day relax and enjoy world-class service, complimentary WiFi, a business center, our refreshing pool and free hot breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dallas/Arlington (6 Flags)
Hampton Inn Dallas/Arlington (Six Flags) Hotel Grand Prairie
Hampton Inn Grand Prairie
Grand Prairie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing