We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”

Grapevine Vintage Railroad
Ranked #14 of 65 things to do in Grapevine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grapevine Vintage Railroad travels along the historic Cotton Belt Route between Grapevine and the Fort Worth Stockyards. The Railroad is serviced by two vintage locomotives which include "Puffy" the 1896 Steam locomotive and oldest continously operating steam engine in the South, and a 1953 GP-7 diesel locomotive. Passengers enjoy riding in authentic 1920s and 1930s Victorian - style coaches as they take a step back in time and experience train travel as it was in the glory days of the expanding West. Pull into the Fort Worth Stockyards Station and you'll be right in the middle of the Stockyards National Historic District where the Old West comes alive. Have fun at this outstanding retail and entertainment district.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Get your tickets ahead of time online. They sometimes are sold out during busy summer months. You will leave the RR depot and travel to the Ft. Worth Stockyards. There are lots of shops, restaurants and things to see there and right before you depart for the trip back to Grapevine, there is a Longhorn cattle drive...so fun to watch. I highly recommend this, everyone will enjoy riding the train because the train attendants are fun! You can bring your own snacks and drinks or purchase them on the train!

2  Thank SandraLanglinais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrapevineCVBRep, Public Relations Manager at Grapevine Vintage Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate it very much. We will share your comments with the staff. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Grapevine soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The train left on time, we sat in the open car. They staged a train robbery which was cool. Service was impeccable. They have air-conditioned cars if your not into the heat. Very nice ride.

Thank Rgentrydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrapevineCVBRep, Public Relations Manager at Grapevine Vintage Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate it very much. We will share your comments with the staff. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Grapevine soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The trip starts exciting, but soon thereafter you begin to stop frequently. You get delayed, the 2 hour stop at the Stockyards becomes 1hour and 30 minutes. If you stop and have lunch then you only have 1 hour left. You board the train on time at 4:05 pm to head back to Grapevine but there again you stop due to 2 other trains that have precedence over this "Excursion" train which not to mention is 4 on the scale of precedence, soon to be 5 we're told. The delay is over 1hour and 30 minutes. Your stuck on a bridge the heat of the sun blasting through the windows, babies are crying, there are about 40 different loud conversations going on, the A/C is not cooling (yes, this is first class). You become nausiated, you try to get some fresh air so you walk out to the open air car but its hot and humid out (this does not help). You decide to take your seat again. You wait, you're already frustrated from all the delays, you search online for info on the train then you find this site. You decide to write a review because as you sit there, you realize that this is the worst first experience riding a train. You vouch to never ride one again...If this is how you prefer to spend your day then go ahead. I forgot to mention the only enjoyable part of this trip is when we get boarded by bandit actors and get robbed (they handed out Sheriff badge stickers to little kids and something that looked like coupons. I am not sure as I didn't get any :( )

P.S.
I don't understand why a 4 car plus engine train can't go before a 100 car freight train. It would not take long for us to go first.

2  Thank FrustratedTrainRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrapevineCVBRep, Public Relations Manager at Grapevine Vintage Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize that your experience on the Grapevine Vintage Railroad (GVRR) was not as expected.
The US Federal Railroad Association sets and regulates the schedule for all rail systems, including the GVRR. We do abide by this schedule and do our best to work around it. Attraction railroads such as the GVRR, must give the right away to cargo rails and commuter rails. Schedules for these trains are not always on time. Unfortunately, this is not something we can control or anticipate as they vary from day to day. We do hope that you will visit us again soon and perhaps take a ride on one of the "Fun Trains" which are just about an hour long and take a different route from the Fort Worth Stockyard train. Thank you again for your feedback.
Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any other questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you want to look at the rear of industrial buildings, the rear of apartment buildings, piles of concrete, dirty water in drainage ditches and dirty underpasses take this trip. Such a total ripoff. They should be ashamed of themselves to call this a scenic trip.

5  Thank newnormal2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrapevineCVBRep, Public Relations Manager at Grapevine Vintage Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your experience on the Grapevine Vintage Railroad (GVRR) was not as expected. Because the majority of the scenery and landscapes seen on the excursions are not in Grapevine city limits, their maintenance is out of our control. The GVRR is not considered a scenic excursion; therefore, it is not marketed as such.
We do hope that you will visit us again and perhaps ride one of the Family Fun Trains or one of the special event trains we offer throughout the year. These excursions take a different route from the Stockyard excursions. Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any other questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Evening business group ride, serving box dinners and wine tastings. Ugly terrain. Loud jazz musicians. Terribly non-conducive to talking and entertaining clients and prospects.
Some sort of historic sharing would have been nice.

Thank RickandDeborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrapevineCVBRep, Public Relations Manager at Grapevine Vintage Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your experience on the Grapevine Vintage Railroad (GVRR) was not as expected. Much of the scenery and landscapes seen on the excursions are not in Grapevine city limits; however, we are continuing to develop communication with surrounding communities to get these cleaned up. The Jazz Wine Trains are a jazz and wine event; therefore, the experience focuses on these elements. If made aware, the train or festival staff is happy to ask the musicians to lower the volume of their playing. Again, thank you for your feedback. We will make note of these comments and will work to enhance the experience for future events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grapevine Vintage Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Grapevine Vintage Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing