We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick up some tamales for dinner”
Review of Tommy Tamale

Tommy Tamale
Ranked #11 of 238 Restaurants in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pick up some tamales for dinner”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This store offers a wide variety of lard free tamales. They also sell hot sauces. While there is no dining here, you can get warm tamales and head to a picnic area of a nearby lake!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beachl0ver2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My husband loves Tamales”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband is from San Antonio, TX. When we moved to Grapevine, he had a craving for tamales and we ran across this little shop on Hwy 26.

My husband bought 2 dozen tamales. He said they tasted just okay and that they were a little pricey to say they were low in meat content.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KWCCareerCoaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tasty Tamales”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a carry out only, and is not ready to eat. We picked up 2 dozen assorted frozen tamales while in Grapevine, have tried the chicken only so far. Easy preparation, just put in boiling water. Very tasty and a good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ivytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tamales, easy prep for a simple & delicious meal”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

While staying at the nearby RV park, we stopped by and bought frozen tamales for a simple evening meal in after a busy day. We tried the spicy habanero pork tamales along with the medium tamale sauce. The tamales we're delicious but a bit hotter than expected (we were told the tamales are much milder than the habanero or hot sauce). The chips are good, not great, but a nice accompaniment to the meal. Heating instructions include microwave or stovetop, but the owners recommended the stovetop method: simmer sealed package for 15-20 minutes and voila! We still have a 6-pack of black bean tamales in the freezer that we are looking forward to trying down the road. Definitely worth a try!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff and Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome tamales!”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Wow! I went to Tommy Tamales to buy specialty salsa and walked out with 3 kinds of tamales. They are so good! I will be going back to buy some for Christmas gifts. Don't miss this place if you are in Grapevine. The owner is very nice as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rubletx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tommy Tamale also viewed

 

Been to Tommy Tamale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing