We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Sunset Cruise!”

Black Watch Sailing Charters
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old World romance of the sea in DFW.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Sunset Cruise!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Captain Dave of Black Watch Sailing Charters truly knows how to entertain and educate his guests. From the moment he greeted us at the dock he set the tone for one of most fun and relaxing evenings we've ever had. The yacht is beautiful and in pristine condition. We enjoyed hearing the history of the yacht and Captain Dave's experiences sailing around the world. The evening ended way too soon, but beautifully with the Friday night fireworks show Lake Grapevine has Memorial Day to Labor Day! We will definitely be sailing with the Black Watch crew again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarolV1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Experience!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This sailing adventure was not just a sunset sail; it was a truly AMAZING experience! From booking to sailing, it was a seamless process. Captain Dave returns calls and emails promptly and works hard to ensure that your cruising experience is customized to your expectations. When we arrived, he informed us that his boat was our own private yacht for the evening, which set the tone for what was to come. We would highly recommend the dinner cruise, which can be customized to your tastes and preferences. Dave does a fine job of timing your meal with ample time to sit out on the deck for dessert and a BEAUTIFUL sunset, which rivals those in Hawaii -- seriously! He has traveled the world and is a treasure trove of information. Note that the cabin in which your meal is served IS air conditioned, so you will dine in comfort. Dave does a fantastic job of explaining the history of the boat, as well as each course that he serves. A bottle of wine is included with the meal and we enjoyed the wonderful Gewürztraminer. We definitely recommend this if you are looking for a one-of-a-kind experience with a professional who knows his craft.
PS - His gift certificates are original as well, and make for a unique gift.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sjtaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“The best sunset view in North Texas!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Sailing aboard the Blackwatch with Captain Dave was a fantastic experience, fun and relaxing. It was just like having our own sailing ship for an evening. My wife and I both took the wheel and steered the course across the lake, under the Captain's watchful eye. It was one of the most beautiful sunsets we had ever seen. Thanks, Captain Dave, for a wonderful evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank deran w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
“A great time!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We set sail at 7 p.m. in mid-July. Probably should have waited until about 8 p.m. this time of year, but it was still delightful. Capt. Dave took time to tell us about the Black Watch and give us plenty of good instructions for getting around on the boat. We sat up front and just took in the beauty of the sunset while they did all the work! It was well worth the cost. I highly recommend this for a unique and thoroughly entertaining evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

WOW! Awesome and unforgettable from start to finish for all ages. Captain Dave provides the total package of professionalism, customer service and expertise. His passion for sailing and The Black Watch, a magnificent vessel that is meticulously maintained and full of historic charm, is contagious. My grandsons will never forget the experience and plan on learning to sail when we return to Georgia.
I found Capt. Dave's website while searching for things to do with my family while attending a conference in Grapevine. His quick response to a late night email was just the first of several contacts via phone and email to discuss how he could personalize our cruise to meet the needs and expectations of every member of our family.
Thanks Capt. Dave for your kindness and hospitality. The lake, sunset, appetizer tray, fireworks, conversation and crew were all spectacular. Your attention to detail made this an amazing adventure. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND to others and hope we have another opportunity to return and cruise with you again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MediaMom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Watch Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Black Watch Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing