We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't EVER Valet...incredibly slow and overpriced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas,
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't EVER Valet...incredibly slow and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Our stay at the hotel was fine. It's overpriced and gimmicky, but that's to be expected. I have no problem with that...

My problem is paying $30 a day for valet, calling 15 minutes before we were ready to leave so as to give them plenty of time to get the car and have it warming up given it was 40 degrees outside and then showing up to find that they have done nothing. I got to the valet desk only to find that they hadn't requested my car...and didn't care. The girl behind the glass wall was unapologetic as she knew I called earlier. She mumbled something and then pushed my keys through a hole and said my car would be up in a little while. More than 20 minutes later my car still hadn't arrived... I was not happy as I was now going to be late. More so there was a lull in the cars out front so it became very obvious that they had forgotten again... I went up and was not as graceful asking when I would get it as they had plenty of time. They jumped a little more this time, but it still took another 10 minutes and my car was ice cold on the inside when they pulled up. All in all is was a horrible experience with a company that doesn't train employees on service and has grown big enough that apparently they don't care. I called to let them know of my experience and after more than 5 minutes on hold (per my cell phone) I finally hung up.

Don't waste your time. There are way too many other options.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godsdivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Godsdivan,

Thank you for providing your feedback in regards of your valet experience. On behalf of Gaylord Texan I want to apologize about the delay on getting your car. I passed on this information to our TownePark manager to review with his team. I am aware you wanted to let the hotel know about your concerns. Please email me directly at Tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com so I can better assist you. Thank you again for your feedback as this will help us improve our service. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    1,156
    628
    317
    240
See reviews for
1,139
520
82
1,585
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, UT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I ended up there because of a terrible ice storm that shut down DFW. I got there late and was greeted by many loud drunkards in the lobby. The front desk person was nice but would not negotiate a rate with me. I was stuck there and maybe she knew it. The whole place is decorated very nicely but I got a feeling they want to nickel and dime the guests to death with all the extra attractions and such. This is fine if thats what you like. the displays were amazing. Rooms were very clean and average sq ft. Overall, if this was a great place to stay but maybe not for business travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Skyburner,

We are glad you are safe from the Ice storm the DFW area experienced. Thank you so much for providing your feedback towards your stay. We do apologize for the occurrences you had at our lobby. We want to make sure all of our guests are safe and have a wonderful time. We will make sure our team is aware of this incident so we can review our procedures at the lobby. If you have any questions about your stay feel free to email us at Tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com and we will be lad to help. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed for three nights recently when I was in town for business, including meetings in the hotel on two of the days. If you are looking for quiet and peaceful, this is not the place for you. In addition to the various people staying at the hotel, there are a lot of people that visit the hotel to take pictures, enjoy the holiday decor and the ICE exhibit. If you are looking for lots of options and great meeting space, The Gaylord Texas is a great choice. Each guest is given a detailed map of the property and there are signs along the way, which help in navigating through the twists and turns. While I visited each of the restaurants (except the Italian themed restaurant), I was most impressed with the catering during our meetings which included breakfast, lunch and snacks. The resort restaurants were fine, but not outstanding. The ICE exhibit was interesting, but pricey. The room was nice and included two bottles of water each day. I did ask to have my Marriott rewards number added to my reservation at check-in, and it wasn't done. When I asked them the second time, it was taken care of right away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Darci M,

Thank you for staying at our resort this past week and letting us know your experience. We are glad you enjoyed the catering for your convention and the decorations around the resort. We are pleased to know your room was satisfying to your needs. Your information will help us improve with details in our guests stay. Please feel free to email us at Tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com if you have further questions. Hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great place… you never need to leave. There is an amazing sports bar, with Texas sized TVs. There is a night club with a free shuttle (it's not inside the complex). There is an Italian restaurant and a couple of walk up type places to eat. The rooms are nice. I recommend getting an inside room. It's very much like being at Disneyland. I highly doubt I will go back to Texas, but I suppose if I did, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is the second year we have spent Thanksgiving at The Gaylord. We invited family to join us this year and had 2 rooms. The rooms are very nice, no complaints there. We had the Thanksgiving Buffet again in the ballroom. It is massive, the food offerings are from traditional to sushi. All delicious. A little disappointed in the dessert offerings, no traditional Pecan Pie or Pumpkin Pie. We had purchased tickets thru Gaylord for transportation to the Cowboy Game. We made the same arrangements last year and waited on the bus 15 minutes for it to leave. This year we arrived 7 minutes late and the buses had left. Ok, we were 7 minutes late, but you had my name as a hotel guest, you had my cell # when I made the reservation. The game started in 2 hours. I spoke with transportation, they advised to take a taxi, which we did. I told them we would just ride the bus back and was told that was not an option. They would have already sold my seats because they had a waiting list. I ask for a refund if they sold my seats and was told that was not an option. I paid $140 for transportation and felt it was not fair to offer a refund. So sadly, our stay did not end on a happy note.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy E Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Judy E,

Thank you for staying with us during the Thanksgiving holiday. We value your opinion and we are glad you took the time to provide your feedback towards our brunch and transportation. On behalf of Gaylord Texan we want to apologize about the inconvenience you experienced. I passed on your information to our transportation manager to review with his team this information. To better assist you please feel free to email me directly at tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com. Thank you again, and hope you have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I took our 4 year old daughter for the start of the Christmas festivities. Everything throughout the resort was decorated beautifully! We went through the ICE exhibit and it was amazing. Such beautiful sculptures from the Nutcracker Ballet. Extremely COLD (8°) so be sure and bring hat, scarves, and mittens in addition to just a coat. They do provide big coats for all sizes upon entering as well. Just beware parents - the exit is through a HUGE gift shop! More $$$$ out the door. We did the Kung Fu Panda snow tubing and our daughter LOVED it! You can ride single or double but you do have to carry your own tubes to the top of each slide so my arms felt like they were going to fall off by the end! We also did the Decorating with GINGY. It was a little different than I expected. You were just given your gingerbread house kit (or whatever you purchased) and did it on your own. No one helped you and GINGY wasn't a part of all that. You just got to go say hi and take a picture with him. Definitely not worth the money - go buy your own kit for much less and do it at home. Overall the rooms are nothing spectacular - just your average hotel room at a MUCH higher price. I would recommend staying elsewhere that's a lot cheaper and just coming to the Gaylord for the days activities. Also, the restaurants in the resort are average as well and WAY overpriced (and only one is really kid friendly). I would also recommend going to historic downtown Grapevine (5 minutes down the road) and eating at much better places and much lower prices. You also have to pay for parking at the resort. My opinion is if you are a hotel guest, that should be FREE. One last thing - but it's a big one that NO ONE mentioned to me until we were almost done. They take pictures at EVERY event - ICE, GINGY, Santa, and then around the resort (just like at a theme park). We had already purchased a picture at ICE and our daughters pictures with Santa. Then we went to look at a picture they took of us as a family around the resort and ONLY then was I told you could purchase the USB drive and get pictures from ANY of the other events put on it for WAY cheaper than buying each individually. I was NOT very happy about that. It's basically a BIG racquet to make money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshineintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Sunshineintexas,

We thank you for staying at our resort and providing your feedback towards your stay. It is great news to us your family enjoyed your stay at our resort. Your expereince with Gingy will be passed to our team to review new procedures on how to make the experience better. We hope you get to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I were in Fort Worth for the Baylor/TCU game the weekend of 11/30/13. We decided to stay at this hotel for two nights to enjoy the Christmas décor and lights before driving back to Tulsa. We have visited it previously but never stayed. Marriot had advertised a special weekend rate for that particular weekend with possibility of free upgrade, if available. When we checked in, I was told that since the occupancy that Sun. night was only 23%, we would gladly be given an upgrade to the Lone Star tower in an atrium corner room, which was the "favorite" room of the gentleman who checked us in. We were delighted with the large room and the view from our balcony was fabulous! Unlike other reviews I've read, we had no problem with noise from the atrium area, possibly due to the fact that the two nights we stayed were not busy for the resort. We only ate one meal at the hotel and that was at Riverwalk Cantina. Service was great but the meal was disappointing. If we had not received a special rate for the two nights, we would probably have only visited the resort and stayed at another hotel. When you add up the resort fee of $18 plus tax daily and the self-parking fee of $17 plus tax daily, the trip does become very pricey. Eating in any of the restaurants is also expensive. If money is not an issue and walking a long way from the parking garage and then to your room does not bother you, then this place is definitely worth staying in for an enjoyable trip during the weeks that it is decorated for Christmas. Gorgeous!

Room Tip: A corner atrium in the Lone Star Tower is great! I think there are only six of those rooms. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raesunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center Grapevine, Texas
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing