We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Reviewed 4 March 2014

for the size of the room, and the price of the room it is a waste of money, I would rather stay at the courtyard hotel down the street pay less and have better size room, the service is terrible and the front office manager is a complete liar I could tell she was just telling what I wanted to hear what a phony

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bre2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

bre2307,

Thank you so much for providing your review in regards of your stay. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize the room accommodations and service at our resort were not to your satisfaction. Our team’s goal is to provide flawless service and provide assistance to all of our guests. Please feel free to email me at Tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com to better assist you. Again, thank you for your review and I hope you have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,315 - 2,321 of 4,277 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This is a huge and pretty resort. The rooms are nice, but we did not have any drawers for our clothes, which was weird. We did have a great view of the lake from our top story room. Even though it is big and was totally booked during our convention, it did not feel crowded. There is a local shuttle service, but we didn't know about it until our third day. As with most resorts, everything costs too much, but the margaritas/ mixed drinks were especially ridiculous. If you don't have a car, this place can get boring when it is too cool to use pools, outside grounds, lake etc. I think it would be much more enjoyable during warm weather.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Leslie L,

Thank you for providing your review and staying at our resort. On behalf of Gaylord Texan I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I am extremely sorry the information about the shuttles wasn’t distributed to you sooner. We do hope you get to come back during the summer to enjoy our Paradise Springs pool complex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Was here for a conference and have mixed feelings. The resort itself is MASSIVE and impressive. Sorta like a economy Vegas hotel without the casinos! Rooms all well furnished and comfortable, staff all friendly and always willing to assist. The meals I had varied dramatically, but probably a reflection on the conference itself. I do know that service in the bars wasn't great - always too few staff and too many clients. Overall it was a good stay but I'd hate to be there as a paying guest when there's a large conference on next door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

N_McL,
Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the rooms accommodations and our STARS were always willing to assist you. Thank you for your information about the bars as this will help us imporve our services. We do hope you get to come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

If you want big and garish...it's the place. Beyond that, I wasn't impressed.

I was there for a conference - 4 days and 4 nights. The front desk staff were on their game. First impression: Very good! But it ended there. The room was clean but not "done". There was tissue paper stuck in the door's peep-hole; a business card/note from engineering about a fix made...apparently intended for the previous guest who had a problem with something in the room.

The Italian restaurant was okay, nothing special and likewise the Mexican too.

Upon returning home I realized that I'd left a set of earphones that I run with on the desk and upon calling was given to security who couldn't have sounded any less interested. She dutifully noted, and repeated back to me my name, phone number and the room number, whereupon she stated that if it was turned in, I would be notified. When I asked her for the name of the housekeeping manager, she became resistive and relented only when I asked a third time and she realized that I was not going to be give up.

I won't go back if I can help it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kahley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Kahley,

Thank you for providing your review in regards of your stay with us. On behalf of Gaylord Texan I want to apologize in regards of your experience with the room cleanliness and your missing headphones. The cleanliness of our rooms is extremely important and I will make sure our housekeeping team is aware of the incident. Please email me directly at Tfeedbackmailbox.com so I can better assist you in regards of your headphones. Thank you again for your review and hope you have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Gaylord Texan for a conference. The peppery itself is lovely...huge and clean with plenty of amenities. Service, however, is spotty at best. The first night I was placed in a room overlooking one of the bars. I could hear the music from inside my room and immediately requested a room move away from the plaza. The front desk informed me there were no rooms and they could try and get me earplugs. Perhaps there were no rooms of the same type available; however since I was asked upon check-in if I wished to upgrade for an additional fee, I'm sure there was at least one room to which I could have been moved. After a call to Marriott customer service the following morning and a chat with the very nice hotel manager, I was moved to a much quieter room on the other side.
Today I spent the entire day at a conference only to return at 4:15 and discover my room had not yet been cleaned. While most people were extremely nice and the facilities above average, I would expect more from a hotel with $250-300/night standard rooms.
On the plus side there are several dining/bar options, a good-sized fitness center and two pools.
Overall, I would choose a different property at which to stay in the future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank CT_Tenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

CT_Tenn,

Thank you so much for staying with us and providing your review in regards of your stay. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize for the issues you experienced with the room service and the location. When you were staying with us, our property was completely full and unfortunately our front desk team couldn’t accommodate your request. I am glad to know the next day, once rooms became available, you were accommodated to a quieter room. Our upgraded rooms are the ones facing the atrium and we are sorry you were placed in front of our restaurant. in regards of the room service, I passed this information to our housekeeping manager. Thank you again for staying and we hope you get to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed for 5 days for a meeting: in point form
1. Convenient place for a meeting, as hotel is in the same building
2. Tried all the restaurants: plus points is that service is really good, food about 7-8/10, but be ready to spend about 20-30 USD per person for a drink and a main dish, more is your order appetizer and if it's at the hickory steakhouse, about 50-100 USD ( steak, appetizer and a glass of wine). Convenient to have choices in the resort
3. Charged for "resort fee" even if paradise springs is closed....guess that fee was for the 2 bottled water, wifi use and entry at the glass cactus (never used it).... Even if they say to 18 USD, we were charged 50 USD...without any explanation...so room was about 300 USD per person
4. Since my friend was a platinum marriott member ...they said we were given an upgrade....but upon entering the room, it was 2 queen beds, a bath tub ( apparently that was the upgrade) and for 300 USD, no bathrobe, no slippers and I've had better for less. Room was clean, ok, but looked dated, not what you would expect after seeing the outside.
5. For 2 consecutive days, as we come back at 1pm we come back to a room uncleared. So, we had to call every morning and say our room was ready for cleaning. Also, had to ask for new toiletries everyday...they do not automatically refill...even when we wrote a note together with a tip.
6. The saving grace is the good service given to us.
Overall, I would stay here for convenience, but for a Marriott, it does not live up to its name. And it does live up to the mediocre reviews, so I didn't expect much when we came

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melody1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Melody 1715,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review in regards of your stay. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize the room was not to your satisfaction. The $50 pending authorization is an automatic authorization for any incidentals in the room. It usually drops off 3-5 business days after your stay. In regards of the room clean, I passed this information to our housekeeping team to review procedures on room service for stay over guests. Again, thank you so much for your review as this will help us improve our guest services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I had to stop here for a weekend during a business trip. What is nice about this property is everything you need is right here on location. The rooms are very nice and tastefully decorated. The beds are very comfortable. There are several restaurants, bars and coffee shops. There is shopping, a spa and fitness center, pools and an indoor jogging trail. You really do not need to even leave here to have a great time. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. They offer shuttles to go to the downtown historic district and this is all just a 10 min drive from DFW airport. If you have a weekend and looking for something to do, this is a great resort to stay at.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Christine S,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review towards your stay. We are so glad you had a great time with us. We hope you get to come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grapevine hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Grapevine
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dallas - DFW Airport North / Grapevine
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dallas DFW Airport North/Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range: £176 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking Grapevine, Texas hotel. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from DFW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center Grapevine, Texas
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing