We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you are a Thunder Fan - stay away!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you are a Thunder Fan - stay away!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I wanted to take my 3 sisters on a much needed get away for the weekend because we have had various tragedies happen in our family over a short period of time. I had been to the Gaylord a few other times on business as well as pleasure and always enjoyed my stays. This time we planned to relax at pool and float the lazy river (which was not open) then visit the huge screen in the Texas station sports bar to cheer our team the Thunder against the Grizzlies. Everyone at the hotel seemed to be great upon arrival. The rooms are always nice and clean. We went to the pool and had the worst service! It took forever to get a server. Everyone at the pool complained. Went for a massage and it was not as I had remembered. We felt like cattle. We then went to dinner at the sports bar and it went well. We made our plans to watch the game the next evening. We visited the glass cactus Where I was shocked to see the band dressed in tacky costumes however the music was great but good luck getting service! The next day we shopped at the mall went again to the bad service pool, then changed into our Thunder gear and proceeded to the Texas Station SPORTS BAR to reserve our front row and watch the game. All dressed in Thunder gear-
Asked the manager if he would put our game on the big screen which is huge. He seemed reluctant but other fans were there so he did. We then had a very hard time getting a waitress. She finally brought our drinks and food and as we cheered our team we heard several others cheering for the Grizzlies. We were way out numbered however, it's a game and it's a SPORTS bar so we were assuming everything was fine until the manager came over and asked us to lower our voices! Unbelievable! We were shocked to say the least. Not only were we being singled out because we love our Thunder and but we were also being not served because of it! Of course we left and resorted to our room to finish the game- which we won! My youngest sister and I became violently ill after eating the same nachos which we reported to hotel management! They took the food off the bill and comped one night of parking. Hahaha. Unbelievable! After a ruined night! Thunder Fans beware! Not only do you get bad service but may also end up with a really bad belly ache!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Tammy B,

Thank you for providing your feedback in regards of your experience at our Texan Station restaurant. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize of the service you received from our team. We always strive to improve our service and your feedback will help us review our procedures. To better assist you in regards of this experience, please email me directly to tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com. hope to hear soon from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    1,137
    612
    311
    239
See reviews for
1,121
512
82
1,545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I just spent 4 nights here attending a convention. The were 3000 attendees and it was impressive how constantly well organized everything was. Lunches were served buffet style and there were always lots of staff directing people to the many buffet stations. I had breakfast at the Riverside Cantina and it was very good. The prices are typical for a resort with no competition within walking distance. My only regret is my room was next to the elevators which meant I could hear the chiming when the elevator doors opened and also the humming of the elevators. The rooms are quite spacious and as I looked over the inner courtyard felt quite bright. Everything is spotless and every staff member I met was extremely warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms adjacent to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyliegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
wyliegal,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your feedback towards your stay. We are pleased to know you had a wonderful time with your convention and that our STARS provided great service to you. We do apologize the elevator noise was too loud where you can hear it from your room. If you ever come back feel free to ask front desk to accommodate you away from the elevator and they'll be glad to assist you. Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

despite the grand facade, everything about it was fake and cheesy - all of the infrastructure in the internal garden. like disneyland but missing all of the positive things that make the crowds and costs of disneyland bearable.

room was also subpar. fridge was broken. light in the entry way was out of order. tv remote was not functional.

the driveway into the hotel was picturesque though. and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenchan000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
jencha000,

Thank you for providing your review online in regards of your stay with us. Our Engineering team always wants to make sure our guests are satisfied with their room and everything is working properly. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the room amenities. Please feel free to email me at tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com if you need any assistance in regards of your past stay. Thank you again and hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

During May 2014, I had the opportunity to stay at the Gaylord Texan Hotel. This is a huge hotel and convention complex.

The staff were plentiful and very polite and helpful. The inside courtyard is just huge with beautiful plants, running water and a riverwalk. Everything is clean, neat, but not overwhelming. There are multiple small coffee shops with snacks everywhere.

My room was very comfortable with all the usual amenities. Great pillows on the bed to watch tv. I slept great.

The silverware is new and polished. The 2 restaurants I visited were very good. The sports bar was just huge with a great giant screen tv to watch the playoffs..
I did not have time to go to the pool or spa, or play on the nearby lake or nearby waterpark.

In the morning, I was offered a free local paper and wall st. journal. This is a very nice touch. The food in the convention center was good with plenty of staff to wisk away the plates.

I definitely recommend this hotel for a vacation or business weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshmallowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Marshmallowman,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your feedback in regards of your stay. it is great to know you had a wonderful experience with us! We hope you get to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Seriously. I have never slept on a worse hotel bed. Ever. We had mattresses that were on these slim crate-like bases...no box springs! B/c they were so low and close to the floor, they didn't even reach the headboards that are attached to the wall. The mattress sagged so badly. We co-sleep with our 2 year old so he was in the middle and we could hardly stay on the edges. It was REALLY uncomfortable and we spent the weekend tired.

We ate at the Mexican restaurant and the food was really so-so for all 4 meals we ordered. Our friends ate at the Italian restaurant and told us not to go b/c their dinner was not good. My mom and son ate at the coffee shop market place and my mom said her pizza was so hard and stale that it was inedible and had to return it and ask them to bake a fresh one for her. Yikes.

Besides that we enjoyed the hotel. The grounds are pretty and well maintained. My son loved the model trains and the big cow named Hank. We were there for a convention and that was all really lovely.

We enjoyed sitting on our balcony and watching the water fountain when it was on but it was only on for about 25% of the time it seemed like.

One last thing....it is the weirdest drive from the airport. It is only a few miles from the airport but took us like 20-30 min to take a zillion different roads and exits and loops to get there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Julie S,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your feedback towards you stay. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize in regards the bedding arrangements in your room and your restaurant experience with us. Our team strives to improve our services and I have passed this information to our restaurant managers to review our procedures. In regards of the beds, this information will help us, when we are updating our room amenities. Please feel free to email me directly at tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com if you need further assistance. Thank you again and hope you have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hills, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nice hotel, great amenities. Had business meetings during the day, so the only time i got to venture out was in the evening. They had some nice features throughout the resort. The sports bar was the spot. Huge tv's, lots of seating. All in all a good time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Joe B,

Thank you for providing your review in regards of your stay at our resort. We are glad you had a great business meeting and you were able to enjoy our TX Station restaurant after. We hope you get to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Unfortunately, I got sick at the end of a cross country trip and did not get to enjoy this property. Just went to the room and slept. That said, from what I saw it is a beautiful property with a lot to see and do. The staff is very professional. Would like to visit again when feeling better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 800BarbaraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
800BarbaraH,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review. It is unfortunate you were not able to enjoy our resort due to getting sick. We do hope you get to come back and experience our atrium once you feel better. Hope you have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 197 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center Grapevine, Texas
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing