We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence at it's best, but it comes at a price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellence at it's best, but it comes at a price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Pros:Everything at this hotel is wonderful, It's spotless, service is excellent and fast, staff is accommodating and friendly. We stayed in an atrium room with a balcony, it was wonderful.
Paradise Springs (their outdoor water park)was a great place to hang out with the kids, they even have an area just for toddler. You get 2 free bottles of water a day and there are activities going on throughout the hotel. On our last night there our son was sick with a fever and the front desk was able to locate some children's Motrin for us.

Cons: Expensive, not saying it's not worth it but the price can be pretty steep. The rooms are not that expensive but everything else is. Self parking $17 +tax a day, resort fee $18+ tax a day. A bellhop helps you unload at the door-tip, a different bell hop brings your luggage to your room-tip, - they do an excellent job( so worth the tips ).The food is expensive, we ate at Texan Station, it was expensive but good and big portions. This hotel is so huge you will get lost at least twice! Checkout is at 11 and if your not out they'll charge you a $250 late checkout fee according to the letter attached to our bill we got early on our checkout day. (morning of the 4th of July).
Great overall experience, we will go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dameekia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,557
    1,165
    629
    317
    241
See reviews for
1,148
522
83
1,606
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been to the Gaylord twice for work events and both times the experience was the same, I was either lost trying to find my way around or I was paying really high prices for very average food. I will say everyone who works there is a complete pro, and I highly recommend the very expensive but worth it shoe shine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have to say this hotel was above my expectations. The hotel was clean and beautiful. Basically, everything is inside the atrium. Everything was easy to get to except that some rooms are located down long hallways. There is a small outdoor pool right off the atrium that sprays water near the bar area. There were many waitresses and waiters circling around so you never had to wait for a drink or food. There was also an indoor pool for those rainy days. This place is suited for both couples and families. Couples could enjoy a romantic evening dining at The Old Hickory Steakhouse. It was a little pricy but well worth it. If you are into sports, there is a huge television screen in the sports bar both inside and outside the bar. In addition, there are several televisions so I'm sure you'll find that certain game you were looking for. If you feel like dancing, there is a nightclub not far from the atrium. You could walk but there is a shuttle that runs frequently.
If you have children, they would enjoy some of the characters that stroll in the atrium. For example, they had a guy entertaining the children with a dog puppet and a clown. They will love the watermark. It is just the right size to keep the kids busy. There is a lazy river. However, you must take the shuttle to get there. It is too far to walk. That's the only drawback. It is located near the front entrance.
The hotel has shuttle service into a small, quaint town called Grapevine. You will have to pay a small fee. In addition, they have there own taxis so you don't have to worry about getting somewhere safely.
Overall, the place is spectacular! I would definitely go back.
If you do decide to go, have fun!!!!

Room Tip: Most rooms face into the atrium with a balcony. You would want to choose one of those. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

When we checked in we had alot of rearranging. There were 3 couples traveling together and they put all of us in double queen rooms... even though we had booked King. It took a few hours to find us rooms, and then two of us had to switch the next day but it all turned out well. I have to say the Bell Men are fabulous. Both days we had a bell man help us switching rooms and they were AMAZING. I tipped them $20 each thats how much help they were... and both made the comment that they had been working for 12 hours. To be that busy and still have such a great attitude... these guys need a raise. The cleaning staff, the room service people... top notch.

As for food and drinks.... get better microbrews! :-) The Cantina was excellent, the service was fabulous, the manager was so nice.

We rented a cabana at Paradise Springs and had a lovely day.

Room Tip: High level rooms if you want quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was such a fun place and such a surprise. From the start with valet parking to the end with valet parking and everything in-between, we had such a lovely time. It was only 1 night, but it was so fun. We had a double queen room, but the walk through the resort was such a treat. The art work, horticulture, train sets, fountains, fish, ponds and all set to a true Texas themed background was an eye full and ear full, too. The food in the Hickory Steakhouse was unbelievable and the breakfast at the cantina was delicious (a little pricey for eggs and potatoes). Our granddaughters had a terrific time and we did get some time at the lazy river and pool, which was such a plus. The beds were comfortable, rooms well-appointed, clean and our connecting rooms with our grandchildren was a boon for us. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on a second floor away from the interior and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: I loved that there was hand-sanitizer holders everywhere. Also that the towels you needed for the pool were at the pool and also there was a receptacle when we returned.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights while my husband was in town for business. The concept is great - neat layout and design. However the food and beverage outlets greatly need to improve (as does the Gaylord in Nashville where I stayed in January - see separate review). Our first night's dinner was in the Italian restaurant. We were promptly seated - and it was later in the evening- but we noticed a large table next to us calling over the manager to complain about something. Being in the hospitality business I didn't pay too much attention as big groups are often a challenge with so many dynamics. We ordered a cocktail to start while we reviewed the wine list. The initial arrival time of our cocktails seemed to take as long as 15 minutes - which is way too long considering the rush had already passed. When the waiter finally returned with our drinks, we went ahead and placed our food order as well as selected a bottle of wine. Our first course came out timely enough, but as we finished our drinks, the waiter never brought the bottle of wine. Someone else cleared our plates, and still no waiter and no wine and no water. Another 15 minutes go by until we can flag him down and request he bring the wine - and he looks at us dumbfounded like why would we want our bottle of wine before entrees. During this time we notice another table close to us has called over the manager to complain - this time we could hear it was about the horrible service.

We finally received our entrees (which were surprisingly good) and our wine but left feeling frustrated. However we ended up going to the Glass Cactus and had a great time listening to a fantastic dance band.

The next day was Father's Day and we just wanted to go down to the Mexican restaurant for breakfast/ brunch. We walked up at 10:35 and were told the restaurant was closed until 11am to turn it from a la carte service to a buffet. Never mind the big sign in the lobby that said breakfast was served until 11am. But anyway - we put our names on the list, requested a table by the water and were told it would be 20-25 minutes and they would text when the table was ready. We made sure not to stray too far - because at 11am, still no text. They start seating people, many tables still open, still nothing. Now it's 11:20 - almost an hour later from when we came down for breakfast (and this is the ONLY full service restaurant opened for breakfast) and we still aren't sat. When I go for the 2nd time to the hostess stand, they tell me we are next and it's another 10 minutes - meanwhile numerous tables are open. They finally seat us in the back, not by the water - and when we tell her that we requested one of those tables she said they had been reserved by other people. We sat at them anyway, got a decent server but she was clearly in the weeds with tables all over the venue, not just her station. So perhaps they were understaffed overall - but it's Father's Day, they weren't really on a wait, so as a management team - figure it out.

Later that day at the pool - regular pool, not the big waterpark, our poolside waiter was very good and attentive.

Service in the sports bar was fine - we had a good time watching the nba finals. Kids aren't allowed in the main part after 7 but they have an "outdoor" patio that made it fun.

For the big WATERPARK on property - it's nice but not huge - and not very crowded ironically. Again ordered a drink and the waiter didn't come check on us for over an hour - not because he was busy with guests but busy hanging with co-workers.

We really liked the property but since the "pull" of the resort is that everything is there and you don't have to leave, I'm not sure we would stay again until we could be assured the service issues were fixed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tracirush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My usual hotel was booked, so I tried the recommended Marriott property near where I needed to meet. I knew the Gaylord was considered a resort, but I figured just a marketing spin.

Granted I was only in the hotel at night, but I found the setting to be refreshing. Every aspect of the hotel was well maintained, clean and new. Everything was big, the parking deck, the hotel, the lobby, the 5 acre atrium. Multiple bars and restaurants so I could find a nice restaurant without having to drive out again.

The room was well appointed with comfortable furniture and interesting accessories. A peaceful balcony to enjoy the atrium with a view like a village. An indoor and an outdoor pool for those with time.

I plan to return with the team for a meeting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruces4gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center Grapevine, Texas
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing