We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not horrible...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not horrible...”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Just wrapped up a 4 day/3 night stay-cation with my husband & 4 kids. I'll start with the positives: spacious room, friendly staff, decent food (Old Hickory & Zeppole are fantastic!), plenty to keep a family of 6 busy. We reserved a deluxe suite on the 7th floor overlooking the Atrium. It was spacious enough & had everything we needed; however, the room itself could use some updating (the carpet is horrible). Room service for breakfast was easy & the portions are HUGE (we ordered the breakfast for 4), fed 5, & still had leftovers. We rented a Guadalupe Cabana @ Paradise Springs 2 days in a row. If you're going to go there you should do the same! The park was super crowded but we had our own little spot to unwind so it was nice. We stayed 8 hours the 1st day & 6 hours the 2nd day! The 1st day we had Walter as our attendant & he was very accommodating, checked on us often! The 2nd day we weren't ever sure who our attendant was & service was spotty (drink service every 2 hours @ best). The kids had a blast though so that's all that mattered there! The Old Hickory Steakhouse was my husband's choice the 1st night & it did not disappoint. Riverwalk Cantina the 2nd night was a let-down as far as Mexican food in Texas... This place should be up to par, there are no excuses for crappy Mexican food in Texas! The 3rd night we went to Zeppole & it was FANTASTIC! We just returned from Italy & the food is as authentic as it gets! We had a fabulous conversation with Italian manager, Leo, about Italy & his menu & his wine list & our mutually favorite vineyards in Northern Italy. We will return to Zeppole again & again!... Made the whole trip worth it! Checkout was a little chaotic this morning but I suppose that should be expected @ a resort. On the way out my oldest realized she forgot her wallet inside Zeppole last night. The list & found manager met us there & let her retrieve it! Bell service & valets were always super nice & accommodating. Overall it was a nice place, we had fun, & made great memories. Anyone coming here should expect a hefty price tag attached to everything. Definitely not cheap & quite possibly over-hyped but I cannot complain about the opportunity.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeyondDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    1,206
    653
    327
    248
See reviews for
1,199
538
88
1,667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Beautiful hotel to just walk around and explore-lots to do. Spent a day at there waterpark (they bus you there). Tad small but an amazing lazy river. Kids will enjoy the waterpark and hotel to explore.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port neches,tx
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family just returned to The Gaylord for a quick family vacation. We went to the resorts water park"Paradise Springs" and had a blast. The food was pricey of course, but it was delicious. We had no complaints with our visit and always look forward to deals they send out in the emails.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epbhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The workers at rude. There is absolutely no security. Don't expect to get to enjoy the pool because people put towels out to save chairs and it makes others have to just stand around and wait for the rude and disrespectful people to decide they want to leave the pool. A large percentage of chairs are only used by towels. The managers at the hotel are very young and inexperienced and if there is any type of problem, they will side with the person being the loudest because of their fears and insecurities. Horrible atmosphere!! Do not take your children to the pool because it is not a family place. Most everyone is drinking heavily. Very expensive and will be a waste of your money and time!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J_ASheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a horrible experience, what should have been a delightful birthday for my best friend turned out to be a disaster. I had booked our reservation on line with the atrium view only to learn that I would have to pay an additional $40 for that view. Travis our front desk clerk who showed little to no empathy or compassion refused to budge as did the front desk manager. Needless to say I again paid the upcharge and figured I would fight the charge later. Well now it's later and the 5 star hotel gets a negative review. In addition the Italian restaurants attitude was no better then the front desk. We arrived late (9:30) and had a late dinner at Zippoles, the sea bass was delicious and when the 4th person arrived at our table to inform us that the restaurant was closed, I blew a gasket. I am the customer and you need customers to keep your business going... reviews can really hurt your reputation as a business. The lack of customer service not only in the restaurant and front desk was less then what was expected for the money that you made on July 2nd. I won't be back and you can bet that I am like that Faberge commercial... I will tell 2 friends and they will tell 2 friends and so on and so on...

Room Tip: When booking on line, print your receipt and make sure to take it with you. This will outline exact...
See more room tips
Green Features: Remove the trash that was piled high in your vending rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Pros:Everything at this hotel is wonderful, It's spotless, service is excellent and fast, staff is accommodating and friendly. We stayed in an atrium room with a balcony, it was wonderful.
Paradise Springs (their outdoor water park)was a great place to hang out with the kids, they even have an area just for toddler. You get 2 free bottles of water a day and there are activities going on throughout the hotel. On our last night there our son was sick with a fever and the front desk was able to locate some children's Motrin for us.

Cons: Expensive, not saying it's not worth it but the price can be pretty steep. The rooms are not that expensive but everything else is. Self parking $17 +tax a day, resort fee $18+ tax a day. A bellhop helps you unload at the door-tip, a different bell hop brings your luggage to your room-tip, - they do an excellent job( so worth the tips ).The food is expensive, we ate at Texan Station, it was expensive but good and big portions. This hotel is so huge you will get lost at least twice! Checkout is at 11 and if your not out they'll charge you a $250 late checkout fee according to the letter attached to our bill we got early on our checkout day. (morning of the 4th of July).
Great overall experience, we will go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dameekia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been to the Gaylord twice for work events and both times the experience was the same, I was either lost trying to find my way around or I was paying really high prices for very average food. I will say everyone who works there is a complete pro, and I highly recommend the very expensive but worth it shoe shine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Hilton Anatole
#36 of 204 in Dallas
3,444 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 204 in Dallas
6,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#5 of 113 in Fort Worth
3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking Grapevine, Texas hotel. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from DFW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center Grapevine, Texas
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing