We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Favorite”

The Original Pancake House
Ranked #96 of 240 Restaurants in Grapevine
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We have been creating made-from-scratch-goodness in the DFW area since 1987, when we opened our first Original Pancake House(R) franchise in Texas. Currently we have 6 locations in the Dallas/Fort Worth area, and we continue to grow.
Graham, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This is our favorite place for breakfast in DFW. Restaurant is clean and employees are friendly. I love their omelets. The pancakes are yummy. We've never had a bad meal here.

Helpful?
Thank sonyaj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average pancake restaurant”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Not impressed. Food was very average as was the service . I could have done better at home. We did not have the same waitress. Got order mixed up. I got the impression there might have been a crises at home and original waitress left.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering Pancakes”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Fresh ingredients make for outstanding cakes and this is where you want to get them. They are best know for their Dutch Baby, Swedish Pancakes, and buttermilk cakes but they all are pretty amazing. Last time I had the Dutch Baby which was amazing so this time I had the strawberry cakes which are served with fresh sliced strawberries and a strawberry syrup & cream. Yum. Their bacon is also hands down the best we've had anywhere. If you go on the weekend, expect a wait of 35-45 mins. IT'S WORTH THE WAIT!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carrot9936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow, they were having a bad day”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have been here before and enjoyed it but today was awful. All 3 of us in my family had a terrible experience. They brought biscuits to my son that were so burnt they were black. I don't know how they thought it was acceptable to serve something like that. The server seemed surprised when we asked her to take them back. My eggs were completely undercooked and my husbands breakfast was cold. With so many breakfast restaurants to choose from, it will be a very long time before I consider going back here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly and Quick Service”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Good food!! Quick service and presentation of food was great! I would recommend to give it a try!! I would say everything was to my liking and there wasn't anything I disliked.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing