We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service... Horrible Food”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #137 of 240 Restaurants in Grapevine
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Privacyville
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Service... Horrible Food”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Ordered clam chowder as a soup/appetizer.... soup came out lukewarm on top and cold / uncooked in the middle. Sent the soup back and it came back (same soup) obviously microwaved. The soup was scorching hot in the middle and still lukewarm on the top with a dried up layer on the top of it.

Rest of the meal came out fine, though one of the fried dishes that was ordered, everything came out burnt. No apologies from the restaurant even though we pointed this out too.

Ended up throwing away quite a bit of the meal and just leaving.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItsGermy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Steamed gluten-free Crab pots”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

A steamed gluten-free Crab pot with lots of Snow crab legs, corn on the cob that has (so far) been perfectly prepared on each visit, and a couple of steamed potatoes! That all makes me a happy camper. I visit every two weeks or so. The restaurant feels a bit sad since the highway construction has deterred regulars and new diners alike. There are signs that they are trying to cut costs. I had to launch a protest to get back packets of regular sugar, yet they waste money staying open until MIDNIGHT on a Monday when my husband I were the only couple in the restaurant after 9:30pm. Their bar drinks are tasty. The restaurant can be noisy during times when families bring toddlers and infants to family celebrations, so we try to visit between 8 and 9pm. Service is typically pretty good, but the restaurant needs the road construction to be over.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasInga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller TX
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No Excuse for Overcooked Shrimp!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This store has been going down hill for about a year. This time the heads-on shrimp in the New Orleans Pot were so overcooked they were almost mushy! Their flavor was flat and pasty and just not enjoyable. When we told the server, the store manager immediately came to the table and offered to 'fix' it in any way he could. To his credit, he reduced the price of the entree, gave us one complimentary dessert and a Free Appetizer card for our next visit. My teenage daughters both commented that Joe's isn't 'fun' like it used to be and when the food is disappointing, they aren't thrilled about going back. I lived on the West Coast for many years and that's where I first ate at Joe's. I know my crab..and can easily tell when it's fresh and when it's not. In this store I've been disappointed with the lack of freshness my last two visits. When the bar-b-qued Dungeness doesn't 'crack' when you try to open it, it isn't as fresh as it should be! May have made my last visit to this store... there's another we can go to and probably will next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadMonk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“First crabs legs”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

These were my first crab legs ever.
We had an amazing time, our server April made an enjoyable night with colleagues. She was prompt and always with a smile teaching me how to open the legs.
It was a great dinner starting with a New England soup and then sweet crab and queen crab legs all together with a 22oz beer
We had such a night that we went back the following night, as I received a free appetizer e-mail from them.
What a different experience, our waiter was not happy, I guess, cause she did not help us or provided the "breaking kit" to open the legs. She forgot about us, we even had to ask for more drinks and help to other waiters. This waiter even told us that the king crab legs were not that great, that we should stay with the queen ones.
We changed recipe, we had the garlic one, first night we had the traditional recipe, and it was great, not so much for the second night.
I will try this place again, only because of my first experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fbezamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulda
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Do the steam pot!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have been to several Joe's and this one is really good. We split a steampot and everything in it was wonderful. Even had a little left for a doggy bag.

Our waitress was top notch and took extra time to teach us how to eat the crab legs. I would go back here for sure!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing