We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service, mediocre food”

Zeppole Coastal Italian
Reserve with OpenTable
Zeppole Coastal Italian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 234 Restaurants in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible service, mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Zeppole (the italian restaurant) was the worse meal I've ever had. Service was terrible. It took over an hour to get our food which caused us to run late. We wanted to cancel our order but couldnt find our server to do so. The food was very mediocre as well. We got mussels and almost every shell came empty. The server did not even apologize for the terrible service. $150 dollars later for my husband, my 8 year old and me... we were not very pleased to say the least. Do not go to Zeppole! !!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    126
    55
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Food was good. They were able to accommodate a large group and we didn't have to wait at all. It's pricey, but what can you expect in a resort.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good overpriced food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Average Italian food at not so average prices. My chicken rigatoni was nothing special at $22. Drinks were terrible and ambiance wasn't the greatest.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbelievably authentic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I am completely in shock right now! I never imagined a truly authentic Italian restaurant right here in North Texas!!! ...& yet here is Zeppole! My husband & I just returned from another trip to Italy, we were in Venice & several other northern cities. Let me tell you: this menu is the real deal! I ordered the pappardelle with lobster, my husband ordered the sea bass, & for dessert we had the profiteroles... All 3 of our favorite dishes from Venice! And all 3 were so incredibly delicious & completely authentic. We are extremely impressed! But what really topped off the experience was our chat with Leo, the Italian manager! We chatted about the menu & the authentic dishes & a few of our mutually favorite vineyards in Northern Italy. I cannot say enough good about this place! Outstanding food, friendly service! We will definitely return!!!

Helpful?
Thank BeyondDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awful Awful Birthday dinner....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived at Zeppole for dinner at 9:30. The restaurant had roughly 25 tables occupied and seemed to be doing a pretty good business on July 3rd. Our dinner was delicious and I highly recommend the Sea Bass. Here is where the problem came in... at 10:00 our waiter informed us that the restaurant was closed and the cleaning crew would be arriving shortly. I thought it was rather odd to have our waiter try and rush us through the rest of our dinner and wine. At 10:05 he came back again to tell us that the cleaning crew would be here in a few minutes. I politely informed him that I didn't care if his cleaning crew was coming in... I am finishing my dinner and drinks and maybe I will order dessert. At 10:15 another wait staff member arrived at our table to ask if we needed anything and to inform us that the restaurant was now closed. I informed the wait staff person to walk away. Low and behold at 10:20 another young lady crept up to the table to tell us the restaurant was closed. Yes, we were the only ones left in the restaurant and we were well aware that the restaurant closed at 10, you reminded us four times! I asked for the manager and he never showed so I walked to the bartender and told her that I did not appreciate the staff showing up to our table. She informed me that it will not happen again and also explained that the employees are from Brazil and the Ukraine.... on an internship and don't know any better. Well here is a clue ....your in America and they work for you. Teach them etiquette
and then allow them to work in your restaurant. Awful, simply stated! And to think... at a 5 Star Resort.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zeppole Coastal Italian also viewed

 

Been to Zeppole Coastal Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing