We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd review of this location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uncle Julio's

Uncle Julio's
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Julio's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 234 Restaurants in Grapevine
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“2nd review of this location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been regular customers of the Grapevine Julios for a couple of years now and we believe that they have ironed out a few of the kinks that we noticed in our last review. We always hit Julio's for fajitas and swirls upon returning from an air trip out of town.. as soon as we land and can make it there. It kind of kicks off our return home. We really enjoy eating at the bar and watching the crowd. One of the things we have noticed lately is that they are changing their menu and serving sizes. If you are a consistent customer you have noticed it as well, if not, enjoy, they still serve the best fajitas in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TXFARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    79
    49
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loud, Chaotic, So-So in the End”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Tables crammed into a loud atmosphere where you can barely hold a conversation over the music. Menu was creative with interesting selections, however lacked any real dishes except Fajitas and Enchiladas. Overall, a decent experience. Nice smoked chipotle salsa and chips to start off with well seasoned dishes to follow. May or may not go back, and in the end would not consider it an authentic mexican (or even Tex-Mex) experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too Loud and Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I visited there on a Saturday evening. The tortillas were very good. The noise was very loud, so much so, that I had to text my wife across the table to communicate. Even though the food was good, it wasn't worth the price tag -

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamme, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fajitas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had the fajitas special with beef and chicken and it was delicious! Big portions, plenty of vegetables and tasty meat. The only thing that could use some more spice (and is why I don't give 5 starts) was the fresh guacamole entrée.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average Food and Environment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived as a group and were placed at a small table. For four people they constantly had to keep shuffling our food away so that everything would fit. The prices are high for the average quality of the food. The margaritas were good, but not anything terribly remarkable. Overall I don't think I will be visiting again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gulielmus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Julio's also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Julio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing