We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wolf grapvine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Reviewed 5 January 2014

very fun. Everyone had a great time. My grand daughter swam 9 hours in 2 days. Prices were reasonable for food and snacks. Hotel was kept up but rooms were basic. Fridge in room which was nice. Our room had bunk beds which the kids enjoyed.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty good but it's all about the fun and water park. Water staff was great. Vallet s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marty f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,586 - 4,592 of 5,396 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Wolf Lodge for four nights with our three kids ages 10, 8 and 5 from Dec. 28-Jan 1. We had stayed at the Texan Gaylord previously and the kids noticed the Wolf Lodge. We looked at reviews on Trip Advisor and were concerned about negative reviews regarding cleanliness and rude employees. The kids were so excited to go and even downloaded the app on the iPad to take virtual tours of the watermark. So we decided to just go. First off, the hotel is very clean--rooms, waterpark, bathrooms, etc. Not a concern at all for us. We also found the employees to be very friendly and helpful. Not one rude person the whole 4 days we were there. It is an absolute paradise for kids. My children loved everything about it--the waterpark, the arcade, the room (we stayed in a kids cabin) and the Magicquest game. It is all about children. The waterpark is so heavily chlorinated--my husband and I had massive headaches each time we went in there, but it didn't seem to bother the kids. The elevator situation is super annoying. The gigantic hotel only has one elevator bay. We took the stairs most of the time to the 5th floor, but didn't mind the exercise. Yes, it is a bit pricey. I wouldn't stay more than 1-2 days. We stayed too long--(4 days). I couldn't wait to get out there. The kids absolutely loved it. It is like Vegas for kids. Go with expectations that it is FOR the kids and you are just along for the ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor so you can take the stairs. There is only one elevator...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank coffeecake03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Checked in on Christmas Day. Self-parking is terrible because lot is always incredibly full. Then again you can't park too far because the parking lot is too small to begin with. Valet is $19 so unless you're that rich....

The indoor waterpark is amazing, if you are under 12 years old that is. You could just see older budding teenagers walking in shame alongside their parents because they had to go there with their smaller siblings. Despite the outside temperature in the 50s and/or lower, the pool area are sauna-like 90 degrees easy. The water temperature is also very warm so your little ones would be nice and comfy. Carts of dry hot towels are available in abundance in the pool area so you won't lack any means to dry yourself any time you like.

There are tons of lifeguards constantly walking around to the point it becomes almost annoying. From the look in their faces I bet management would instantly fire any lifeguard who dare to stand still even just for a few seconds. The pool smelled of chlorine, but then again with so many toddlers still in diapers in the pool you know you must have it or it would literally become a cesspool of nastiness. It is not excessively annoying like some others mentioned but you know it's there.

We only stayed for 2 nights so we didn't try the food coz the adults couldn't stand being there to eat as well. First chance we got we drove away and find food somewhere else. Bottom line, it's awesome if you're under 10 years old and DO NOT even think of going there if you don't have kids with you. It seems a safe and fun environment for toddlers (no outside visitor, you have to be staying at the lodge to use the waterpark) so go have fun for once while they are young. You need to stay at least 2 nights so you can at least spend one whole day in the pool but I wouldn't spend any more money than that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteelRing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank for your choosing Great Wolf Lodge for your holiday vacation! I am sorry to hear that your stay started on a rough note. Parking certainly can be a challenge when the lodge is sold out during the holidays, but is much easier during the remainder of the year.

Our lifeguards do take their jobs very seriously because safety is our number one priority. They go through intense, ongoing training to ensure that our guests are safe while they have fun in the waterpark. This is an area in which Great Wolf Lodge wins many awards.

While we do have many good options for food onsite, we also have all the amenities in your room to allow you to bring your own food and beverages directly to your room to save money. Each suite comes equipped with a microwave and mini-fridge for our guest's convenience.

We look forward to your next visit!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for New Year's Eve and while they did a great job with family activities that night the hotel is a dump. Pillows were flat as pancakes and the tub faucet was not attached to the wall. While staff was very friendly it was in no way worth the $400 we paid for a room. We were told the only way or could be fixed was to shut the water off to several rooms. The water cut in and out when we took a shower. While I appreciated the $50 credit, the hotel was too over priced to not have a working shower. Pretty sure it had been broken for weeks.

Stayed: January 2014
6  Thank Sob29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

On behalf of Great Wolf Lodge - Grapevine, I would like to apologize for the experience you had when you stayed with us. This in no way meets the standards that we set for our Housekeeping or Maintenance teams. We will follow up to ensure this does not happen again on your return visit.

Thank you for choosing Great Wolf Lodge.

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

So this place is great. My family really liked it. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, even the lifeguards. I know the place is a machine but you can tell they really thought this one out. There are games, activates, a spa, cafeteria, a legitimate restaurant and the facilities are immaculate.

The only thing I can complain about is that I had a suite and all the beds were concave as if they were never replaced for ten years. Also the bathroom faucet showed serious signs of wear. It stuck and leaked.

A couple more things, the internet is very slow, and the walls are not properly insulated so you can hear other families in the rooms next door.

However, given all of that I would still come back with my family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

I am happy to hear your family enjoyed their recent stay at Great Wolf Lodge - Grapevine! It is our priority to provide safe, family fun for our guests and to create unique family traditions.

I will share your feedback about the bedding and bathroom with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to find areas where we can improve before your next visit.

When making your next reservation, you will have the ability to request your suite be in a quieter part of the resort, or even a specific floor! Our Guest Services team will do their best to accommodate you at check-in.

We look forward to your next stay!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

OK, so if you are looking for the service level of a Ritz, this isn't your place. Also not the place to go if you don't have kids. The obvious attraction of this hotel is the waterpark, which was really fun. Some not so great things-food is mediocre, check in is excessively long, and the valet is walk up only(you can't call to have your car pulled up). Service level in the bars was excellant, which you will probably need since everyone is running around with their wands doing the Magicquest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Plenty of activities for kids and the water activities are fun for the whole family. Several good places to eat, but there are also many dining options within a 5 min drive in Grapevine. Can get pricey overall with extra activies (beyond water park), but good choice for a family special treat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grapevine hotels
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
1.5 mi away
Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn DFW North Grapevine
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dallas DFW Airport North/Grapevine
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dallas - DFW Airport North / Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine

Address: 100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051-0962
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range: £180 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Grapevine
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing