We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
columbia, sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and expensive!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went to GWL Memorial Day weekend 2014. We were impressed with the water park and everything they have for kids. This is a KID-FRIENDLY place, so don't go there if you hate crowds, kids, noise, and people bumping into you all day without saying "Excuse me." I didn't like the fact that we didn't get our HEROES discount, because it was a day when they didn't accept it. (Watch out for those days, and call before booking.)

Food was good, we had the pizza. Yet, the breakfast isn't that great! I expected better for the price I'm paying and a better variety. (The french toast and pancakes were flat, stale, and dry, they had slop looking stuff at the beginning of the buffet line, and nothing was fantastic besides the omelet, bacon, grits, and sausage. Traditionally stuff you would find anywhere. Go somewhere else for breakfast.)

Our room was clean, besides some sticky stuff on the floor when we arrived. :(

The indoor water park is awesome for kids of ALL ages, yet, the wave pool water was pretty cool, but the water everywhere else was fine, warmer than outside. I wouldn't stay longer than a day here, for the simple fact that you are exhausted when you leave. We stayed with some friends and had a good time. Your kids will definitely love it, and child-like adults will too! :D If you don't want to spent $700-$1000, try to enjoy the free things they have going on and forget about that wand game, your kids don't need to do that anyway unless they are older (around 8 years old or older).
GWL tries hard to do their best though, I could tell. Hope this helps, and have fun!

Room Tip: Call before booking to make sure you get your discounted price for your stay. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alp2004life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Grapevine and providing us with your feedback! I am sorry your family did not enjoy our breakfast buffet, but I will pass along your feedback so we can improve for future visits.

All promotions and discounts are subject to availability, so it is recommended to book as far in advance as possible. This gives you the best possible chance of reserving a room with a lower rate and potentially with a discount, if any are available.

We hope your family will stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    1,182
    816
    404
    296
See reviews for
3,978
24
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, LA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our son asked for a couple of nights at GWL for his birthday present. We didn't know what to expect, but we had an amazing time. So much to say about this place so let me break down some tips and points:
* The line at check-in time is crazy long, but moves pretty quick. They told us our room wouldn't be ready for another hour but we could go to the water park while waiting. By the time we went to secure our luggage, the room was ready.
* All of the lifeguards and most of the staff are young college age kids, but they were all very happy and friendly and well trained, very impressive to have that many happy employees that age.
* I heard bad things about the prices for food and drinks, but they really weren't that bad, a large pizza was $13.00, ice cream for 3 was $12.00, and a beer was $3.50. About average compared to some resorts and parks.
* Get valet parking, it makes it so much easier on check in day. The line of cars to check in is huge, but valet parking is quick and you never have to search for your car. Valet is about $23.00 a day, but well worth it.
* We went on Memorial day and the day after, and even though the resort was packed, the lines weren't long and we got on and off the slides quickly.
* The Magiquest game is great, it keeps the kids busy and they get plenty of exercise.
All in all, the place is very clean and great fun. We rode all the slides so many times that we actually got burned out, so two days was just enough. We will absolutely go back in the future, and I commend the GWL on their staff and resort.

Room Tip: Try for a room close to the elevators, the size of this place is incredible and the distance between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Us4cityfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed the water park. The hotel rooms are very clean and the pool areas were well maintained. The room rates are a bit pricey but still affordable. The weather over Memorial weekend was not perfect so the indoor water park worked out. With that being said there are many other outdoor water parks to choose from. Being from Houston we could go to wet n wild or schliterbahn and not have the added expense of renting a room or the 5 hour drive. Although it was a great experience, next time we will spend locally.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank New_Adventure_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We make all the plans and like everyone that travel we try to get the most out of each day .
Because we all know that time seems to fast as we travel , when we called 24hr before getting to the Great Wolf Lodge to confirm everything we asked about when we got there to check in was there a time we needed to be there after we was told it being a week day anytime after 12pm , so we start our drive at 6:30 Am to try to get there about 1:30pm with 5 kids ready to play in the water park there first fun day out of school (summer time is here) NOT AT THE Great Wolf Lodge water park we are told check in will be a 4 PM because rooms are not ready. We ask will can we check in now and get the keys at 4:00 so that the kids can use water park because when we call 24hr before we was told. 12pm was going to be okay now keep in mind the kids have seen the park at this point and just want to jump in . We are told we will have to wait till 4 pm . Like some more kids playing 2 1/2 hr was going to use up the water . Going to stop for now still have 3 more days here . Next time will call 1 hr before we arrive that way the person we talk to may still be there when we check in . Will add kids did have fun in water park after 4:30pm . Will be back to let trip adviser know how stay was

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 45Many
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Grapevine and sharing your experience with us! I apologize for the miscommunication about check-in times and when you can start playing in the waterpark. To clarify this, you are able to arrive and start using the waterpark as early as 1pm on your day of arrival, but check-in for the room begins at 4pm or as the rooms become available from cleaning.

It is highly recommended to take a small travel bag with you into the waterpark in the event that your suite is not ready and leave the rest of your luggage locked in your vehicle.

We hope your family will stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Husband, 3 year old and myself went on 5/17. Fantastic experience all around!! Checked in early and started swimming ASAP. The arcade and restaurant were both great as well. We will definitely be enjoying the Great Wolf Lodge again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iheartccshipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ok - we have now been to the Great Wolf Lodge in Grapevine twice (Santa had the brilliance to give this to our 4 kids 2 years ago, and again this past Christmas). I got nervous the first time after reading different reviews....but...it was great (that's why we did it again). This last time our kids were ages 13, 12 & 3 (boys). They all had a great time (have a daughter age 16, and she wanted to go, but instead cheered for a state tournament). Here in SE Texas, we have Winter Break....3rd week in February....this is when we went both times - PERFECT TIME!!! Stayed two nights both times....literally, the longest we had to wait for slides was maybe 5 minutes. And I could be in the wave pool or toddler area with the little one and keep an eye on the boys going up and down the stairs (and by boys, I am including my hubby, lol - I had bought them all bright swimsuits to make it easier). I was a little worried about our older boys getting bored, but nope...they loved it. And the 3 year old wore both my hubby and myself out. He was obsessed with the buckets dumping water, and floating in the Lazy River. He slept really, really well! Now....for food....we brought snacks with us (not cheap at the Lodge), including lunch and fruit to go with breakfast (it was vacation...got doughnuts one day, mcdonalds another day). For lunch, kids went up to the room and either ate leftovers from the previous night or lunchables. Supper....first time, we picked up chicken strips from Chicken Express (right down the road), second night, we ordered pizza, spaghetti and a salad from Great Wolf. To my surprise, it was great! Will definitely do that again. Not expensive for the amount of food we got either. We never ate at the grill, but in future we will try it, as the food smelled really, really good. Lots of fast food places nearby (a mile or so up the road) and restaurants. We had planned to take the kids this last time to the Rainforest Cafe at the mall, but they vetoed that in favor of the water park until it closed. As for check in, we lucked out both times (probably because of when we went) - waited at the most 5 minutes, staff very polite and helpful, and our rooms were ready both times when we arrived at 1pm. The beds were not the most comfortable, but weren't uncomfortable either. Kids loved their own "cabin" in our room. Personally, I wouldn't bother with a balcony/patio - they aren't all that impressive. We did not do the Magic Quest (ok - I wanted to, but older kids weren't interested, and little one has a flea's attention still). And we all enjoyed the Arcade (ok - I might have gotten a little addicted to the huge Fruit Ninja game - I don't get out much). Now, if Mom gets worn out by all the boys, she can also indulge in a little shopping therapy at the nearby outlet mall (not all of the shops are real outlets, though). Over all, both of our trips were a succes....and we will DEFINITELY go again!! Our 3 year old still gets all excited seeing commercials on TV. Oh - one other thing - either Living Social or Groupon regularly have specials on Great Wolf....last time we went, we used one - ended up paying $300 for 6 of us, plus had a $50 credit, for a 2 night stay. Just for one day at a regular water park, it costs us easily $120 or more to get in. Plus - the first time - it was freezing outside, with freezing rain - and we were in a water park!! How cool is that? Oh - and Starbucks in the gift shop, and beer & cocktails available also.

Room Tip: The rooms closes to the elevators (and therefore closest to the MagiQuest stuff) get noisy - even la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kitty_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to this facility over Memorial Day Weekend. While I expected it to be busy, it was beyond packed. The first sign of trouble was that they had no bell service and their front desk area was woefully understaffed. It went downhill from there.

We arrived at 330PM and were told that rooms would not be ready until 4PM. We waited in the lobby with our luggage because they had no method to check in our belongings while we waited. And waited. And waited. Our room wasn't ready until 530PM. We had to complain to get any attention to this problem. They accommodated us in a room other than the theme we reserved.

When we arrived at the room--which was no small feat given the size of the hotel and the incredible lines for the elevators--the keys didn't work. Tried calling the front desk to have someone bring the keys. No luck. So I walked down 7 flights to get them to reprogram the keys. The desk's solution? Comp us a breakfast and a late checkout. If I were there without kids I would have just left.

The room was generally clean. The beds are not soft. The areas around the bunk beds were not vacuumed. The shampoo bottles, etc had not been replaced since the prior guests left.

The swimming areas were packed. The lines for the slides were absurdly long. When it came time for dinner decided to simply order room service--which they have, but do not advertise--and waited about 1.5 hours for the food to arrive. Pretty pathetic consider that all we ordered was pizza, spaghetti and salads and water. Had to call twice to check on delivery status. Both times we were told it was enroute.

Room was quiet.

Breakfast the next morning was similar to a Denny's or an IHOP. Not commensurate with the per room rate for this hotel.

We checked out early and headed home. Will never go there again. Would not recommend it to anyone. As we drove away, I noticed that one side of the exterior was peeling off. Seemed apropos.

I'm sure some manager will post a response to my complaints. Don't be fooled. This place cannot handle a crowd and it needs to improve dramatically to justify it's cost.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the elevators or the foyers surrounding the elevators on any of the floors. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Grapevine and sharing your feedback with us! I sincerely apologize for the difficulties you had upon your arrival and when you attempted to enter your room.

I understand your frustration with experiencing longer than normal lines in the waterpark. Our veteran guests recommend visiting the waterpark while other families are dining or enjoying our clock tower shows, usually after 7pm until park closing and then from 10:30am to 12:30pm. This is when they have found wait times to be much shorter.

We appreciate the insight you have given us and I have shared it with our Management team in Grapevine for review, as we are always looking for ways to improve what we already have in place.

We hope to host your family again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grapevine hotels
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW N/Grapevine
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Grapevine/DFW Airport Northwest
1.5 mi away
Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 17 in Grapevine
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine
Address: 100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051-0962
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Grapevine
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing