We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but not for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard By Marriott
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but not for price”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I think the price for this hotel is based on the brand, instead of what it has to provide. I came to the room at 4:30 pm and it the bed was not made. There was nothing to do in the hotel. The fitness room was average and the guest rooms need to be updated and look more modern.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    31
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
9
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth,Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Standard Marriott, Clean and Well Kept. Location is kind of odd to get to but once it you figure it out its no big deal. Lobby was a nice size and up to date.The front Desk staff was very nice, they let us check in a bit early with no problems. Room was clean & comfortable. Room is standard courtyard marriott, if you stay at them then you know what they are. No Noise in or around the hotel, location is right off the highway so its only about 30 minutes from South Padre which isn't bad. Only things I don't like, it was one of the Marriott properties that has gone away with free breakfast in lieu of a Bistro/Lounge. I'd rather have my free waffles/coffee then a $5 Muffin and a $3 espresso any day of the week. The elevator is in a odd location, kind of a maze to get around to it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selrahc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Customer service, friendliness of the staff was excellent. Hotel lobby and restaurant area appears to be newly remodeled like many of the courtyards seem to be doing. Stayed on the bottom floor. Don't recall any noise throughout the night. A lot of business travelers use this hotel as it was sold out on the Tuesday night I stayed. Close to a HEB and Chilis. I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86jacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stayed on the third floor. Good location, close to amenities but lots of traffic noise. Customer service was awesome (very important to me). Very clean throughout. The newly renovated exercise room made it worth the stay.
Disappointments: The air conditioner made a very loud noise when it came on. So in the middle of the night you'd be woken to the point where you jumped out of bed grabbing your baseball bat and expecting to use it on an intruder. I didn't realize the cheesy breakfast wasn't included in the price. Found out the hard way (after putting some eggs on my plate) that there was a $9.00 charge. All they had was scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, fried potatoes and some french toast, milk, coffee and some OJ. I would have been less reluctant to pay if there were some fruit, cereal, etc.

I actually went to the Holiday Inn (right next to the Courtyard) to eat with friends, plus hit their heated pool and hot tube with a few cold ones. This will be my next stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikinglb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Stayed twice here in a span of 10 days for business and had very good experiences. Rooms were very clean although on the "smallish" side. Nice amenities in the rooms including large flat-screen TV and good, movable work desk. Beds were comfortable with nice bedding. I did have a problem with a mediocre air conditioning system in one room and did not notify management as it was "workable." Also, I noticed other comments about the noise. I guess I got lucky as both times I faced the courtyard and it was nice and quiet.

The wireless Internet was generally good but did have a few moments where it seemed to slow down.

The lobby/restaurant area was very nice with a large TV touch-screen that had all the information about the Valley you needed. The bistro downstairs while a bit on the pricey side had excellent food and Starbucks coffee.

Staff was superb and helpful at every turn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portastorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I stayed at the Courtyard in Harlingen for two nights recently when on business in the Harlingen area. This is a well located hotel with good access to Highways 83 and 77. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient and provided me with recommendations for local restaurants. My double queen room was nicely sized, equipped with a 32-inch LG flat screen TV (nice), granite counters, a curved shower rod in the bath, nice furniture, good quality linens and pillows, and the room was nicely decorated. I was on the first floor and the room had a sliding door that opened onto a small patio and the courtyard of the Hotel. Very nice and comfortable overall. The negatives to me were that 1) the room was a bit loud and you could hear doors open or close in the adjacent hallway; 2) there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room; and 3) a continental breakfast was not included. The hotel did have a restaurant at which you could purchase meals for a moderate price. The hotel has an outdoor pool (that was closed at the time of my visit); a nice exercise room; several computers and printers in a business center area; and a shuttle. The hotel is close to many area restaraunts. This is a nice and comfortable hotel; however, hotels that offer a free breakfast and have a microwave and refrigerator in the room are a better value and choice for me. If these items are not important to you I think you will find this to be a great hotel. However, I will probably stay elsewhere on my future trips to the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The good: Modern design, nice lobby with Direct tv, good coffee, pool was open even in the winter, spa beside pool was nice too. Good location close to several restaurants and a movie theater across the street.
The bad and the ugly: Please refrain from adding the option of breakfast because all you're going to get is a sandwich that's cheaper than the price of adding breakfast to your room. Forget about a buffet breakfast or an omelet, unless you go to golden corral two blocks over for 7 dollars per person. What is the point of having direct tv in the lobby with over 80 channels when in your room you have low quality 35 channels. Wireless internet is choppy and slow. For the price over 100 bucks a night it's not worth it compared to some other hotels in the area. Just for the record I have stayed in other courtyard hotels and I have been very impressed, unfortunately not this one.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abrahouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harlingen hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harlingen
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Harlingen
Residence Inn Harlingen
#2 of 17 in Harlingen
110 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlingen
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 17 in Harlingen
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Casa Villa Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard By Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard By Marriott

Property: Courtyard By Marriott
Address: 1725 W Filmore Ave, at Expressway 83, Harlingen, TX 78550-5906
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Harlingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard By Marriott 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard By Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Harlingen Hotel Harlingen
Courtyard Harlingen
Harlingen Courtyard
Harlingen Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Harlingen, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing