We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard By Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard By Marriott
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Because we had a bad experience down the street from a neighboring hotel (uncomfortable and hot, smoke smelling room at HIE)...the front desk clerk was very nice and allowed us to check in at 5am! We were very happy! The room was very clean, very cool, and the beds were good. Obviously hotel beds are not going to be the greatest, but we were comfortable. Wi-Fi was also great. The only downside was not having complimentary breakfast, but we enjoyed having Starbucks onsite! That was the best. The pool was small, but nice. However, a hotel employee (another clerk with a maintenance man) did come to the pool to "verify" if and my children were guests, and had me verify my name and room number as she looked at her "paper." I did feel a little upset that this was done, but understand that she was doing her job because she stated that people have been sneaking into the pool to swim (however, perhaps a bit discriminatory because did I look like the type that would do this [while other "guests" looked on]?---did not get a chance to address the manager). Other than that embarrassing ordeal, the overall stay was a nice one while my husband had to report for his military training over the weekend. We will be staying here again the next time my husband has training in the area and will make it a point that I am a guest and hopefully will not be questioned when in the pool.

Therefore, the reason's why I gave 4 out 5: no complimentary breakfast...and ordeal at the pool to verify my stay...

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor by parking lot with side entrance....good...especially because we could keep a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    30
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
9
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed, 45 minutes from South Padre Island. Close to restaurants, movie theather, grogery store, CVS, and Bass Pro shop. The hotel also has shuttle to Harlingen airport and nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb-5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Marriott Courtyard, Harlingen TX

Over priced for the market, room was tiny, bathroom countertop tiny, sheets must be 100 count at the most, they charge for usage of the business center computers, and they have limited TV channels. The booklet in the room with all the info listed 78 channels but there were only 12. The bed was so uncomfortable and the pillows were terrible.

This hotel is nothing like the ads on TV for the Courtyard Marriott’s.

The room was very clean so the housekeepers do a good job.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel in Harlingen. The Holiday Inn Express is really nice as is the Best Western.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed with my family at the CY recently and was disappointed at our experience with the service and overall value. The room itself was fine... nothing special and probably less than would have been expected for the price. The problems started when we asked for sheets to make up the fold out sofa. I was surprised that these were not already in the room and since it was late (about 11:30 at night) it was frustrating having to wait for them to be brought to the room. When they were, we found that we had only sheets and no blanket. We called again... waited again... and were surprised when instead of a blanket we had 10 pillowcases delivered to our room. I went to the front desk and was told that they didn't have any blankets. NO BLANKETS? WAS THIS A HOTEL? DID THEY THINK THAT PILLOWCASES WOULD SUFFICE? Finally, the desk clerk agreed that since the hotel wasn't full we could get a blanket off a bed in another room. To help make up for the problems, the hotel did offer complementary breakfast at their restaurant, which was appreciated. Overall, however, the hotel was a poor value for the money and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

Location was great. A movie theater right across the street. Bass pro not too far away with many places to eat and even a HEB around the corner. Rooms were clean but a/c unit was loud. Cafe and lobby were great. Comfortable places to sit and computers in lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funthoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Clean, comfortable, well appointed rooms. Great location in middle of the city. Easy to find when driving into town. Lobby is inviting with open floor plan.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the "bistro' breakfast beforehand when making reservations. The breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfh77665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Staff is great - very friendly & accomodating; rooms are very clean and courtyard pool isn't too shabby. Everything that is under the staff control....they address properly....however, Harlingen is a dump. If I am forced to stay in Harlingen again...this will be my choice. My biggest complaint with many of the Courtyard room layouts is the A/C unit being placed right next to the working desk. If you want to cool the room off or just have air circulating, you get blasted in the side of your head will handling email/admin work while on the road.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard......
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jadubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harlingen hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harlingen
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Harlingen
Residence Inn Harlingen
#2 of 17 in Harlingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlingen
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 17 in Harlingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Villa Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard By Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard By Marriott

Property: Courtyard By Marriott
Address: 1725 W Filmore Ave, at Expressway 83, Harlingen, TX 78550-5906
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Harlingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard By Marriott 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard By Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Harlingen Hotel Harlingen
Courtyard Harlingen
Harlingen Courtyard
Harlingen Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Harlingen, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing