We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little engine that couldn't”
Review of Texas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Texas Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
ABQ, NM
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The little engine that couldn't”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

You may have heard about the little engine that thought it could get over the hill. Well, consider this hotel as the hotel that says "I think I can" over and over again, but, ultimately fails miserably. The hotel staff was extremely nice, but everything else falls short. While the room was generally clean, it was poorly maintained and the TV belonged in a museum. I have never slept on a mattress so hard in my life. For a while I was certain the staff had installed the bed upside down and put the box spring on top of the mattress - I found I was wrong, the mattress was just that firm. The free "breakfast" consisted of a few pieces of bread, a few stale muffins, two apples and a waffle making station where the batter looked several days old. You could consider this a "green" hotel due to their cost savings efforts, especially their air conditioner policy. SPOILER ALERT: The hotel does not turn on the air conditioning to your room until you arrive and check-in. This means your room to almost certainly hot and muggy when you arrive. Be sure to check to make sure your air conditioning unit is even working properly. Should you stay here, your best plan is to check-in, bring your bags to your room, check your air conditioner, then leave for an hour so your room will be livable. In fact, go search Harlingen for a place to eat breakfast the next day - you'll need it. If you are a traveler willing to compromise and accept minimalist accommodations for a low cost, this could be the place for you. If you are someone who expects a bed to be something you can sleep on, or a breakfast to be something you can actually eat, then, no, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABQfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Short visit great place to lay your head:) stayed for a few days and enjoy myself, my room was clean and the service was nice. Might check it out again when passing through. I think it used to be the comfort inn when I was there before that's how I knew about it this time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

If you just need a comfortable, clean place to spend the night, I can recommend this property. The staff was friendly and our room was comfortable. The decore could use some updating, but the room was clean. Other than a pool and basic continental breakfast, they don't offer much else. Because we stayed 4 nights, I missed having a lobby area to sit in or exercise room for work-out. I felt kind of trapped in my room when we weren't out and about. All rooms have windows that open onto the property's sidewalk, so we never felt we could open up our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkbakken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Our family at Paradise Park gave us the phone number at Texas Inn to reserve our stay. We came on the advice of family and very much enjoyed our stay. It was not 5-star. But the service was 5-star. The manager gave me a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice in exchange to write a review. On Monday morning (because our uncle golfed with him) he made us some delicous pecan and apple Texas shaped waffles. Mmmmm good! The room was average and needed some remodeling. The bathroom was clean and the maid did a very good job of freshing up our room everyday. The pool was cool I mean temperature and had leaves in it, but it was so windy I don't think it could stay clean. My relative from Norway had a restless first night. And in the morning complained of hip pain. I asked the front desk if they had a softer mattress for her? She said they had a memory foam piece they could put on her bed. Her next nights sleep was much better. The week we stayed was very busy they had construction crews there. Lots of trucks-but the crews were gone by 7a.m. and not a bother. The weather was the best. Wonderful Texas sun.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethniblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

A great TX look at least from a guy from WI.
We stayed 7 days and enjoyed the stay and we booked for another week this winter.
Owners are on site 100% of the time should some thing come up.
Early Feb. the pool was cold and so was the hot tub but owner heated up when asked.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Me and my husband stayed here and when we got there it was really late. So the clerk had given us a large suite. This hotel also has a really nice workout area along with a great breakfast with a large variety of items. I would recommend this hotel for family, solo, or even business travel.

Room Tip: Check in late after 11:00am and you might get lucky and receive a suite as your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NitaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2005

I wrote the previous review lamenting the fact that the advertised high speed wireless internet has been problematic for quite awhile at this hotel. Because of other favorable qualities (low price, proximity to airport etc) I continue to give them my business and recently found that the issue has been resolved. Now I can offer an unconditional recommendation to this establishment

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harlingen hotels
3.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn  Harlingen
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 17 in Harlingen
181 reviews
3.1 mi away
Value Place Brownsville Harlingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlingen
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harlingen
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Texas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texas Inn

Property: Texas Inn
Address: 406 N Expressway 77, Harlingen, TX 78550-5245 (Formerly Texas Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Harlingen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Texas Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Texas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Harlingen
Harlingen Comfort Inn
Texas Inn Harlingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing