We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harlingen
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
416 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Clean and Convenient”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This being my first business trip to the Rio Grande Valley, I needed a modern hotel at a decent price point in a safe location near the airport. The Holiday Inn Express exceeded my expectations. Not that it's an unusual property (after all, it's just a Holiday Inn Express), but the hotel did exceed my expectations. I came away impressed and will stay here again if I need Harlingen hotel accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyKingBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    30
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
12
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Ok so we have stayed many times at this place, It has always been our first choice of hotels when we do come down to visit family, The front desk was nice, came in at around 10pm asked for a room did not have reservations this time. The clerk offered us a room at a discount which was very nice. Got up to the room and as always the room was clean, we have never had any problems here and stayed here many times. Only issue when we got to the room my wife found a roach in the tub, but the rest of the room was clean. In the morning I realized that we had forgotten our toothpaste and the folks at the front desk were so nice and offered us a free small tube of toothpaste. Over all this was a good stay just like every other time we have ever stayed here.

Room Tip: Right off the express way easy in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizzytop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

First room....hot....second room...never cooled completely....beds VERY uncomfortable...non smoking room smelled like smoke from neighboring smoking room...with two small children and a husband with asthma this was unacceptable. Checked at out 5am!!!!!!....still had to pay for one night even though we checked in at 8pm...and never was satsified...then...because we prepaid for two nights...front desk guy Ruben was VERY rude and told us he didny care why we were checkinh out early and if we wanted our money back for second night to call third party (i.e.expedia which turned out to be hotels.com)...anyway. headed over to the Marriott Courtyard down the street...so much better and was $10 less!!! Never staying at that hotel again. Anyone who says that HIE is great must be a smoker or enjoy hard beds in musty smelling rooms!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harlingen, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear smartarmywife,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My title sounds harsh, but it reflects the utlility of this property. The location of this Holiday Inn Express is ideal for folks from Houston or Corpus Christi traveling to the Valley the night before some event or other destination. I cannot imagine staying there for several days or for that location.

What's to like? - location near US77 and the proximity of restaurants and things to do. Breakfast at 6:00 am, even on Saturdays. Generous parking. Rooms OK with fridge and coffee. Fairly clean common areas. Cost is a great value. Friendly front staff.

What's not to like? - run of the mill value property. Bedding. Weird smells (sort of mitigated by dehumidifier in room). Thin walls. Wafting smells of smokers near or in adjacent non-smoking rooms. Dirt in pool - lots of it.

We'd stay there again if we needed to. It is reasonable for those in RV's and towing because of the big parking area behind the hotel. It also adds a sense of security.

Room Tip: I requested a room on the east side for three reasons: No freeway noise, no hot late day sun, and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Decent room furnishings and size and better toiletry amenities than most HIE's, plus manager's reception Mon - Thursday. Room had a very moldy smell, although I admit I did not ask for a change since I guessed this being a high floor, the problem was throughout. Otherwise, would have rated higher.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auf Wiedersehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harlingen, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Auf Wiedersehen,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am glad to know that you found our room accommodations to be sufficient for your needs. However, I apologize for the unusual scent that negatively impacted your stay. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your review will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
407 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Everything was great, from the parking, to the greetings, to the rooms, to the breakfast, to the greetings at checkin/out. The staff was very friendly and made me feel welcome. Very enjoyable 4 nite stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stay here for 3 nights for business. The check in was appropriate, the room was clean and nice, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast is OK like most of hotel breakfast, nothing special. The property is close to restaurant, movie theater, and grocery store. Also there is a mall nearby. The down side is when using the internet connection, you only can use one device at the time. So you have to choose either your smart phone or your lap top.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb-5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harlingen hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harlingen
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Harlingen
Residence Inn Harlingen
#2 of 17 in Harlingen
108 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard By Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott
#8 of 17 in Harlingen
73 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 17 in Harlingen
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Casa Villa Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harlingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harlingen

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harlingen
Address: 501 S P St, Harlingen, TX 78550-5944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Harlingen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harlingen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harlingen Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to numerous restaurants, shopping and a 16 screen theatre. We offer 129 guest rooms including 9 suites. Hotel amenities include coin operated guest laundry, on-site fitness room, free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start breakfast buffet. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Guest room amenities include: 25' color TV with cable (inc. HBO, ESPN, CNN): phones with data ports, Wireless High Speed Internet, coffee makers, iron/board, alarm clock/radio and hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harlingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harlingen Hotel Harlingen
Holiday Inn Harlingen
Harlingen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Harlingen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing