We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Unknown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iwo Jima Memorial & Museum

Iwo Jima Memorial & Museum
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Harlingen
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
345 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent and Unknown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Who knew this was here?? Not I...but so glad I found it. Very inspiring and the small museum was filled with so much more interesting information.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank auvoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alvin, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I site to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

For those that like to read and see war history, this place is a site to see. My daughter insisted we go see this monument and I am glad we did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrendaH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Patriotic Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

A visit here makes one feel very patriotic. This is a nice surprise in the Rio Grande Valley. This is well worth a drive-by.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clarksvilleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Semper Fi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Awe Inspiring! This is the actual mold that sculptor Felix de Weldon used to make the original memorial in Arlington. He donated it to the Marine Military Academy and personally oversaw its reconstruction and then it was bronze coated. There's a small museum, although small, its packed with history and has a great little gift shop to.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 66er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A PART OF HISTORY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Iwo Jima memorial is a destination. Being only 1 of 2 memorials of this type in the world, it never seems to amaze me. Before taking a close look at the memorial, a visit to the museum is a must. It is a step back in time. The knowledgeable people at the museum are unforgettable. It costs nothing to visit and one of the men raising the flag is buried close by. When in Harlingen, the Iwo Jima Memorial is a must see attraction.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveler530070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iwo Jima Memorial & Museum also viewed

Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Iwo Jima Memorial & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing