We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callow End
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class afternoon tea”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had afternoon tea and a tour of the Abbey with 3 friends today. The food was perfect, so tasty and beautifully presented. Our waitress was lovely, attentive and friendly. The tour was very informative and enjoyable. We all live nearby but had no idea what was behind the high walls or about the history of the Abbey.
A wonderful afternoon would thoroughly recommend it. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    225
    102
    53
    37
See reviews for
129
429
9
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding at the weekend and the whole event was absolutely wonderful. The weather forecast was for rain but the sun came out and allowed for some beautiful photos to be taken in the well kept gardens. Having said that the whole event could have taken place indoors, no problem. The abbey is style personified, a fantastic day made all the better by the beautiful surroundings. Would love to spend a day exploring this superb building and grounds. The food and service were first class. Am looking for another excuse to be able to attend the abbey - I hear they do afternoon tea.

The whole day was enhanced by the beautiful surroundings and first class facilities. The architecture and history of the building lent itself to some breathtaking photographs.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank purplenicnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malvern uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just been to a theme night at Stanbrook abbey, Sister Act party, What a fantastic evening, staff are very entertaining, polite and very professional, the group where very hardworking and very entertaining, the food was first class, the ladies dressed in Habits made the night, well in fact all the ladies made the night, they entertained all the guests with their enthusiastic performances on the dance floor.
This is going too be the best venue in the area, no doubt, just needs a bit more marketing for people to know about it, it's our secret for now!
Well done Will, a star in the making?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianhatesidiots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WORCS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We did not stay here. We had my daughters Hen Party here. It was a fantastic venue, situated in lovely grounds.
Staff where friendly, efficient and very helpful. The afternoon tea with Pimms was superb

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RonSaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stanbrook Abbey is simply a gem. With immense investment the recently dissolved abbey has become one of THE event venues within the county of Worcestershire. The attention to detail in respect of furnishings is to behold. The food and ambience are quite wonderful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Granville O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just attended a friends wedding at Stanbrook Abbey, a stunning building situated in the Worcestershire countryside just outside Powick, The Abbey is very tastefully decorated and furnished in keeping with a building of its type and age. The staff were attentive without being intrusive and the food, a 4 course meal was absolutely superb, from the melt in the mouth braised beef to the chocolat torte.
I shall be returning for another meal in the near future. The only reason I didn't award 5 stars is because I thought that some of the rooms could have been a touch warmer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our wedding day was grand in every sense of the word at Stanbrook Abbey with the Gothic wallpapers and décor, impressive carvings and stained glass to the wonderful food menu and the grooms room! Brilliant!
The venue is memorising and truly enchanting and I think it's safe to say that everyone fell in love with Stanbrook that day, at the moment it is a hidden gem and I'm ecstatic that I got to find it.

We got married in the Great Hall, the former chapel which gave us the perfect balance of a wedding as it feels like a cathedral because of its grand setting, we even had a trio orchestra playing during the ceremony which added to the setting.
Stanbrook gave us the best from both worlds, a chapel to be wed in and a few steps into the gardens,piano room and the chosen reception room. Ours was the Thompson hall which was fabulous. Even the ladies and men's room are luxurious!!
We hired the brides manor for the stay and WOW! Can I move in? Absolutely wonderful and beautifully decorated, everything you could ask for. Our overnight stay was spent with family as there are 5 bedrooms in the manor. It was different from the norm wedding as everyone usually goes back to their hotel room normally but this is a house, so we spent the next few hours in the drawing room chatting about our special day.

Apart from the wonderful Abbey itself there are stunning gardens overlooking a lake which is perfect for photographs and our photographer truly captured the essence of our day with the many spots for opportunity.

The team were fantastic, Katy the event manager was everything you could ask for in an coordinator, she gave input where needed but has a relaxed lovely personality which fitted in with us just perfectly. Ben was a lovely guy and he helped ease my mind on the day with the minor few hiccups, and Paul who ran the day was superb made me feel in good hands.
I couldn't have asked for a better team to accommodate us and run the day. After the few weeks I had of planning they took complete control and ran it how I wanted.
I got many many compliments on the food, everyone saying it was the best wedding food they had. Top marks to the chefs! That laid back attitude paid off!

I can honestly say you won't find better, I just wish I could relive my day over again! If you are pondering on choosing Stanbrook as your venue ponder no more!

Thank you a million times, you made such an important and special day magical :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callow End
4.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
3.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#3 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanbrook Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanbrook Abbey Hotel

Property: Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Address: Jennet Tree Lane, Callow End, Powick WR2 4TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Powick > Callow End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callow End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanbrook Abbey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath the green ridge of the Malvern Hills in Worcestershire, Stanbrook Abbey is a beautifully restored former monastery. It has been lovingly refurbished to create a stunning and striking architectural masterpiece boasting 52 luxurious bedroom suites in the main building (completed 2014) and a further five bedroom suites in Bride's Manor. The Grade II listed Pugin abbey, from which the hotel takes its name, is an ideal luxury wedding and events venue in Worcestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stanbrook Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing