We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Malvern(Malvern)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ye Olde Talbot(Worcester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fownes Hotel(Worcester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
498
276
124
63
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
276
124
63
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomattention to detailoriginal featureshigh standardwell worth a visitwhole experiencecourse mealthe wow factorstayed for one nightlarge showerreturn visitstanbrook abbeyan overnight staycooked breakfastmalvern hillsafternoon teafull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
965 - 970 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My son's wedding at Stanbrook Abbey surpassed all expectations.
First, the Venue, with three main halls, one, the deconsecrated chapel, for the wedding service, with minstrels gallery, beautiful Pujin architecture; two the breakfast in the refectory, modelled on a mediaeval banqueting hall, seating 110 guests; three the St Anne's Hall served as a dancing hall, with leather-seated library, bar and smokers' balcony. Other minor places - the cloistrs, the piano bar at the entrance and several other rooms.
Second, the staff were superb, allowing us in to plan ahead, bring our own flowers and decorate the rooms, a tasting menu evening, administered by Katy and run smoothly by Paul, who marshalled his troops to clear up, make things happen and go that extra mile to make it a great occasion. Midnight sparkly glasses were filled in a NYE2013 pattern, an enormous gong placed in the chapel, a wayward guest dealt with discretely and correctly. All the staff were friendly and joined us at the New Year. They couldn't have been nicer and more professional.
Third the Food - wonderful Hereford Beef, pickled mackerel and an apple tart, with vegetarian options.
The bridal party stayed in the Bridal Manor, very conveniently connected to the main building, but bring some good shoes!
An Amazing venue for a wedding, friendly and efficient staff the day is full of lovely memories for the couple and all those who came.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Visited Stanbrook Abbey for the first time on Christmas Day 2013 for lunch. From arrival and until we left, the staff could not do enough for us to make sure we had a wonderful time. The abbey is such a magnificent place, you are encouraged to wander around to enjoy its splendour and the staff are very happy to give you details of its history. It really is the most beautiful place. The food is fabulous and we enjoyed a wonderful 7 course christmas lunch beautifully presented with such care taken, down to the finest detail. We will be returning very soon and will have no hesitation in recommending friends and family pay a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojobonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stanbrook Abbey was, until about 5 years ago a catholic order nunnery. It was built in the 1870s/80s and was mainly designed by Augustus Pugin who was responsible for much of the design and detailing of the Houses of Parliament. The interior has been lovingly cared for for over 100 years by the former resident nuns and the current owners have carried out some sympathetic alterations. If you do visit and are interested in high Victorian gothic revival architecture you should take the tour which lasts about half an hour.

We visited Stanbrook Abbey on 18th December 2013 for what was advertised as a Festive Afternoon Tea as a birthday treat for my wife. The "festive" component seemed to consist mainly of a glass of prosecco to start and a closing glass of mulled wine. In addition there was a good variety of teas served in pots which were refilled on request and a thoughtful selection of sandwiches (prepared on different types of bread) and cakes (cream and non-cream). The food was sufficient in type and quantity for a mid-afternoon repast - obviously too much for some diners who were readily provided with packs to take their surplus items home. Although the well presented Bistro dining room was full service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

Our overall impression of Stanbrook Abbey was very favourable although for us the prices will limit it to special events only. We live in the locality and it is probably now one of the best venues in the Worcestershire/Herefordshire area, aimed at the top of the market. The owners say they currently market the Abbey not as a hotel but as an "event venue", the overnight accommodation obviously being intended for guests attending the events. Incidentally anyone considering a visit should note that after New Year the Abbey is CLOSED until Valentines Day 2014 whilst some further internal alteraltions are carried out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grecophile895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Last Saturday, 21st December, my daughter got married at Stanbrook. We could not have dreamt of a better venue - everything was simply perfect....the staff without exception were so helpful, fiendly and so professional, the food throughout was exceptional, the setting and ambiance amazing....and spending two nights in the "Brides Manor" was a special treat and highly recommended....simply stunning.

Room Tip: All five en-suite bedrooms in the Brides manor are simply exceptional.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granville O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Great Venue for a wedding which was our experience. We didn't stay over sadly. Food was excellent' service a little patchy in places' serving staff who were mostly youngsters need a little more training. Staff had walkie talkies which would have benefited from having ear pieces instead of blaring out to all and sundry. I asked for a coffee on a very cold afternoon only to be told "we don't do hot drinks" I asked again in the evening' no joy' how hard can it be?. The drinks were very very expensive' £6.50 for a small glass of wine' a tad greedy I think. Overall it is a nice place but needs a bit of thought!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank freightmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie N, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Freightmate,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and positive review following from your recent visit to Stanbrook Abbey.

Ive passed your positive comments about the food onto our Chef and your observations about service onto our Events and Banqueting Manager. Since your review we now have hot drinks available from all of our bar areas. We have also provided our staff with earpieces for radios.

As I am unaware of which wine you were served I can but advise that it is either of a medium size or if it is small as you indicate, was one of our better wines hence the differential in price. We do periodically benchmark our pricing and can advise that it is in in line with comparable venues.

I do hope that you will take the time to visit us again soon and see the wonderful but sympathetic changes to the Abbey as we go through our next phase of refurbishment.

Kind Regards

Jamie Nevin
General Manager Stanbrook Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews