We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callow End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Thank you for making Mother's Day so special !! It was everything and more we could of wished for ! My mum is so special so she was at the perfect place !service and food was very good attention to detail was very good !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Abbey is a breathtaking building set in wonderful gardens. This must be a dream location for any wedding.
The building has been lovingly restored by the new owners who have sent a lot of time to ensure it is finish to the highest standard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My son's wedding at Stanbrook Abbey surpassed all expectations.
First, the Venue, with three main halls, one, the deconsecrated chapel, for the wedding service, with minstrels gallery, beautiful Pujin architecture; two the breakfast in the refectory, modelled on a mediaeval banqueting hall, seating 110 guests; three the St Anne's Hall served as a dancing hall, with leather-seated library, bar and smokers' balcony. Other minor places - the cloistrs, the piano bar at the entrance and several other rooms.
Second, the staff were superb, allowing us in to plan ahead, bring our own flowers and decorate the rooms, a tasting menu evening, administered by Katy and run smoothly by Paul, who marshalled his troops to clear up, make things happen and go that extra mile to make it a great occasion. Midnight sparkly glasses were filled in a NYE2013 pattern, an enormous gong placed in the chapel, a wayward guest dealt with discretely and correctly. All the staff were friendly and joined us at the New Year. They couldn't have been nicer and more professional.
Third the Food - wonderful Hereford Beef, pickled mackerel and an apple tart, with vegetarian options.
The bridal party stayed in the Bridal Manor, very conveniently connected to the main building, but bring some good shoes!
An Amazing venue for a wedding, friendly and efficient staff the day is full of lovely memories for the couple and all those who came.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Visited Stanbrook Abbey for the first time on Christmas Day 2013 for lunch. From arrival and until we left, the staff could not do enough for us to make sure we had a wonderful time. The abbey is such a magnificent place, you are encouraged to wander around to enjoy its splendour and the staff are very happy to give you details of its history. It really is the most beautiful place. The food is fabulous and we enjoyed a wonderful 7 course christmas lunch beautifully presented with such care taken, down to the finest detail. We will be returning very soon and will have no hesitation in recommending friends and family pay a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojobonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stanbrook Abbey was, until about 5 years ago a catholic order nunnery. It was built in the 1870s/80s and was mainly designed by Augustus Pugin who was responsible for much of the design and detailing of the Houses of Parliament. The interior has been lovingly cared for for over 100 years by the former resident nuns and the current owners have carried out some sympathetic alterations. If you do visit and are interested in high Victorian gothic revival architecture you should take the tour which lasts about half an hour.

We visited Stanbrook Abbey on 18th December 2013 for what was advertised as a Festive Afternoon Tea as a birthday treat for my wife. The "festive" component seemed to consist mainly of a glass of prosecco to start and a closing glass of mulled wine. In addition there was a good variety of teas served in pots which were refilled on request and a thoughtful selection of sandwiches (prepared on different types of bread) and cakes (cream and non-cream). The food was sufficient in type and quantity for a mid-afternoon repast - obviously too much for some diners who were readily provided with packs to take their surplus items home. Although the well presented Bistro dining room was full service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

Our overall impression of Stanbrook Abbey was very favourable although for us the prices will limit it to special events only. We live in the locality and it is probably now one of the best venues in the Worcestershire/Herefordshire area, aimed at the top of the market. The owners say they currently market the Abbey not as a hotel but as an "event venue", the overnight accommodation obviously being intended for guests attending the events. Incidentally anyone considering a visit should note that after New Year the Abbey is CLOSED until Valentines Day 2014 whilst some further internal alteraltions are carried out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grecophile895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Last Saturday, 21st December, my daughter got married at Stanbrook. We could not have dreamt of a better venue - everything was simply perfect....the staff without exception were so helpful, fiendly and so professional, the food throughout was exceptional, the setting and ambiance amazing....and spending two nights in the "Brides Manor" was a special treat and highly recommended....simply stunning.

Room Tip: All five en-suite bedrooms in the Brides manor are simply exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granville O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Great Venue for a wedding which was our experience. We didn't stay over sadly. Food was excellent' service a little patchy in places' serving staff who were mostly youngsters need a little more training. Staff had walkie talkies which would have benefited from having ear pieces instead of blaring out to all and sundry. I asked for a coffee on a very cold afternoon only to be told "we don't do hot drinks" I asked again in the evening' no joy' how hard can it be?. The drinks were very very expensive' £6.50 for a small glass of wine' a tad greedy I think. Overall it is a nice place but needs a bit of thought!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank freightmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie N, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Freightmate,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and positive review following from your recent visit to Stanbrook Abbey.

Ive passed your positive comments about the food onto our Chef and your observations about service onto our Events and Banqueting Manager. Since your review we now have hot drinks available from all of our bar areas. We have also provided our staff with earpieces for radios.

As I am unaware of which wine you were served I can but advise that it is either of a medium size or if it is small as you indicate, was one of our better wines hence the differential in price. We do periodically benchmark our pricing and can advise that it is in in line with comparable venues.

I do hope that you will take the time to visit us again soon and see the wonderful but sympathetic changes to the Abbey as we go through our next phase of refurbishment.

Kind Regards

Jamie Nevin
General Manager Stanbrook Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callow End
2.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
6 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
1,024 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
699 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanbrook Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanbrook Abbey Hotel

Address: Jennet Tree Lane, Callow End, Powick WR2 4TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Powick > Callow End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callow End
Price Range: £81 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanbrook Abbey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath the green ridge of the Malvern Hills in Worcestershire, Stanbrook Abbey is a beautifully restored former monastery. It has been lovingly refurbished to create a stunning and striking architectural masterpiece boasting 52 luxurious bedroom suites in the main building (completed 2014) and a further five bedroom suites in Bride's Manor. The Grade II listed Pugin abbey, from which the hotel takes its name, is an ideal luxury wedding and events venue in Worcestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Stanbrook Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing