We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning, beautifully restored and full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callow End
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stunning, beautifully restored and full of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We attended the stunning wedding our close friends Anna and Michael on 14 June. The place is awe inspiring. Unlike some of the fusty country houses we have been to, this place knocks them out of the ball park! The whole estate has been beautifully restored and everything has the feeling of quality and gloss.

The catering and service was good and the venue gave all guests magical memories to treasure forever. The Bride's Manor is also exquisite... imagine a whole boutique Georgian London townhouse at your disposal. Wow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmsnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie N, Manager at Stanbrook Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear PMSNOWDON

I wished to write and thank you for your response, I regret the delay however felt it important to thank you for your feedback. Your description of the venue has painted a picture of one that we at Stanbrook Abbey and AmaZing Venues endeavour to have all of our guests enjoy. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope to welcome you and your associates back at another upcoming celebration in the near future.

Kind Regards

Paul Motzheim
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    217
    97
    53
    37
See reviews for
125
416
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We attended a family wedding on the 26th April. It is a truly beautiful venue in which you only dream of ever attending. It has been lovingly restored with elegant finishing touches everywhere. You know a place is amazing when everyone was commenting how "wow" the restrooms were. The wedding breakfast was fantastic food, in fact the best I have ever had and many guests agreed. The only downside was the cost of drinks, they were obscenely priced for a wine and a beer it was over £10, I think they should rethink their prices or offer a cheaper option. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. They were brilliant with my 2 year old daughter and all the children. There were candles everywhere so we blew them out because of the children and the staff did not mind. I was lucky enough to stay in the bridal manor on the evening and stayed in the most beautiful room with roll top bath and a huge bed! It was lovely and quiet and great in the morning when we all met for breakfast. I would recommend to the venue maybe to have an option of a chef to cook breakfast as the hamper was "ok" including fruit, cereal, jam, ham, samon, cheese, bread. It would have been nice to have some eggs, bacon, sausages included as there are facilities to cook breakfast yourself. We ended up having breakfast on the way home. Overall it was the most beautiful venue I have ever seen and don't think we will attend another wedding to top this one! Thank you all the staff who made the day what it was. Just thought on the drink prices and breakfast in the bridal house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie N, Manager at Stanbrook Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Rachel W

I write to thank you for your time taken to comment on your recent experience. We enjoyed hosting your families wedding and hope that you will return again in the future.
On the matter regarding beverage cost, we believe that we are in line with our competitors and that they reflect the quality of the building, products served and service standards. I do however take your feedback on board and shall include your comments in our on going pricing review.

Reference your comments regarding breakfast, we offer 2 options at present, a continental breakfast hamper or for guests to dine in the abbey for a full cooked breakfast, we have discussed supplementing items in the hamper to enable cooked breakfasts to be catered for in the House however as it is a self catered accommodation it is often up to the guests themselves to add to the continental option with their own preferences however we will now look at creating a bespoke selection based on the individual preferences of the guest staying to choose from.

We do have a beautiful venue in which we can create amazing experiences, I hope we can look forward to welcoming you again to Stanbrook Abbey

Regards

Paul Motzheim
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We attended a surprise 50th birthday celebration for a friend, with a distinct "Easter Bunny" theme.
Stanbrook Abbey is a beautiful venue. A former Benedictine monastery, with a Gothic style of architecture, it is a very impressive and imposing building. Numerous vaulted ceilings, stained glass windows, and endless corridors that take you back in time.
Our hosts provided a dinner, for which the food was delicious and superbly presented.
A very enjoyable evening in a very memorable venue.

Room Tip: Located in an area of outstanding natural beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AviatorGHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had an absolutely fabulous day for our daughter's wedding on 5th April 2014.
The night before, we stayed at Bride's Manor an amazing place to spend the night. It was perfect for all of us to relax and unwind and get ready in style the following day. On arrival back at the Abbey, after a beautiful church wedding we were welcomed by Paul and his staff with drinks and canapés served in the Piano lounge. After photographs were taken outside the front of the Abbey, we were taken down to a most wonderful reception in St Anne's Hall. The Wedding Breakfast was outstanding. Braised blade of Hereford Beef followed by a strawberry and clotted cream cheese cake. We had many compliments regarding the meal, many saying it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding. The evening party was a great success with a live band and fireworks. Everyone had a fantastic time dancing the night away.
A special mention to the manager Paul, whose attention to detail, service and timings throughout the day was excellent. He was always to hand when needed and stayed till the end of the evening. He arranged taxi’s for guests who needed them. The following day we returned to collect our decorations, the cake and presents, which had been packed and securely locked away.
What can we say but a massive thank-you to Katy and everyone who helped to make the day so special. We had the most amazing day in the most stunning of locations. We would without any hesitation recommend Stanbrook Abbey and look forward to return visit in the not too distant future.
Stanbrook Abbey is truly an exceptional venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a double treat this turned out to be. My auntie celebrated her 75th birthday and I decided to take her for afternoon tea at Stanbrook Abbey which used to house Benedictine Nuns. Now owned by The Clarenco Group of Hotels and listed as an Amazing Venue you can understand why so many couples are choosing this for their wedding venue. Firstly when you arrive the building is beautiful, but what a treat when you step inside. We were seated in the cloisters for the tea which consisted of a selection of finger sandwiches, smoked salmon on soda bread, mini meringues, marshmallows with chocolate sauce dip, fruit tart, scones with clotted cream & jam and chocolate brownies which were divine. You could choose from a selection of teas. They had noted it was my auntie's birthday and brought out a mini birthday cake with a candle to blow out however, as were quite full they kindly wrapped it in foil for her to take home. Then we enjoyed a tour of the Abbey with Chris as our guide - her knowledge and delivery were superb and it was a fantastic insight into this beautiful property. If you are looking for a gift that offers something different this is your answer - you will not be disappointed. The website will inform you of the dates when a tour is included. This property is undergoing extensive refurbishment & extension but this did not interfere with our visit. I imagine this amazing venue will be even more popular when the 'nun's cells' are converted into ensuite bedrooms in order for wedding parties to stay over.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Thank you for making Mother's Day so special !! It was everything and more we could of wished for ! My mum is so special so she was at the perfect place !service and food was very good attention to detail was very good !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Abbey is a breathtaking building set in wonderful gardens. This must be a dream location for any wedding.
The building has been lovingly restored by the new owners who have sent a lot of time to ensure it is finish to the highest standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callow End
4.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
3.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanbrook Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanbrook Abbey Hotel

Property: Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Address: Jennet Tree Lane, Callow End, Powick WR2 4TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Powick > Callow End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callow End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanbrook Abbey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath the green ridge of the Malvern Hills in Worcestershire, Stanbrook Abbey is a beautifully restored former monastery. It has been lovingly refurbished to create a stunning and striking architectural masterpiece boasting 52 luxurious bedroom suites in the main building (completed 2014) and a further five bedroom suites in Bride's Manor. The Grade II listed Pugin abbey, from which the hotel takes its name, is an ideal luxury wedding and events venue in Worcestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanbrook Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing