We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,096)
Filter reviews
1,096 results
Traveller rating
541
300
133
72
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
300
133
72
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room attention to detail original features well worth a visit course meal high standard the wow factor whole experience stayed for one night return visit malvern hills stanbrook abbey cooked breakfast afternoon tea full english yogurt games room
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,096 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Stanbrook Abbey very much. It’s a lovely hotel, particularly due to the older, original features. We booked a deal through Secret Escapes and stayed in an Executive room which was really lovely, unique and comfortable.

We also ate dinner in the restaurant which we got as part of the deal. The starters and mains were lovely, the only thing I would criticise would be the desert course which just wasn’t as nice as the other courses.

There was a wedding on while we were there and it looked really nice - the hotel grounds and features make for a beautiful backdrop for such an event.

We would stay again and would recommend it!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanbrook-GM, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for the review and your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its original features in particular. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights in August.
It a lovely place in a lovely setting. There is an old abbey attached to the hotel.
There is also a recently built modern bar with a seating area looking out over the surrounding countryside. I was not sure about this, it was very modern and completely at odds with the rest of the hotel. I guess some will like, others not.
Our room looked out onto a flat roof ( not very picturesque), however the roof had been covered with artificial grass.
The room was clean and tidy, not overly large, but big enough for two.
The restaurant was nicely laid out. But the service was very haphazard. No continuity of service to your table. Not everything cooked as well as we would have expected. A mix up over one of the dishes. The staff seemed a little lost at times.
We have stayed at other Hand Picked hotels and this was probably our least favourite.
If they sort out service in the restaurant then it would be much improved.
Overall, not a bad stay but could have been made much better.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HagridCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanbrook-GM, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry indeed to read that the service offered within our restaurant failed to meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies for this. We will certainly use your feedback to help us improve.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night in an executive room, which was lovely and the bathroom was gorgeous with roll top bath, walk in shower, twin sinks and a beautiful stone fireplace. Everything was very clean. Dinner was very good but my dessert of chocolate brownie with raspberry sorbet was heavenly!
The bed was comfortable but the pillows weren’t - one was too flat, two uncomfortable for my neck. Nevertheless I slept until 3.30am when the fire alarm sounded. On going downstairs we found a guest asking if there was a fire, to be told by a member of staff there was not. We still gathered outside - all 14 of us! Eventually another young man came out with a clipboard (but never requested room numbers or told us what was happening). After half an hour and a visit from fire services, we could go back to bed, to lie awake until we warmed up.
Breakfast was fine, not the best I’ve had but the coffee was very welcome to wake me up. We’d intended a better look around the Abbey but didn’t have the energy.
I deducted a star not because of the pillows or the fire alarm (obviously there was a reason for it) but the unpreparedness of staff for a real emergency. We were also disappointed that reception staff on checkout didn’t even mention our interrupted night.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanbrook-GM, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are of course disappointed that on this occasion the fire alarm was activated during the night, this is not something that we wish to have happened and can only apologise for the disturbance caused. Systems such as these are in place to protect both our guests and staff and insure that on activation a swift evacuation of the property can be delivered safely whilst an investigation into the activation is carried out by our own team or the fire service. On this occasion the evacuation was fully completed and the investigation showed that thank fully no fire was present.
Again I am sorry that your were disturbed and trust that should you return to the property this occurance is unlikely to re occur.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Yesterday the 8th September I had been out with my wife and a friend from Malta who was visiting the UK.
We had been visiting the interesting parts of the county and on our way home decided to visit the hotel as a treat and have a cream tea in the afternoon. On arrival your reception showed us to Georges Bar. My wife then ordered three Cream Teas one with a coffee. The tea and coffee arrived about 15 minutes later along with knives and napkins we queried where the scones etc were and the waiter said he would fetch them, 30 minutes later having drunk the tea etc no scones or cream had arrived. We could see other customers who had arrived after us had been served and eaten there orders.
We decided enough was enough and my wife complained to the bar staff about the non appearance of our order who telephoned the kitchen who apparently told him they never had the order which was strange as the waiter brought napkins etc with the tea and said they scones etc were coming. we could wait no longer so we paid for the drinks and decided to leave most disappointed.
On our way out we spoke to the receptionist and voiced our displeasure. She noted our details and did offer a refund for the drinks which we declined as we pay for what we have and do not wish to be seen to complain just to get free service.
As a local were most annoyed because we were hoping to show our foreign visitor how good our local hotels were as she travels widely, she has gone away thinking lovely surroundings but poor service. We did get our Cream Tea by visiting Tescos not really what we had hoped.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank MikeSWorcester_U_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanbrook-GM, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
We are very sorry indeed that we impacted so negatively upon your experience. Please accept our most sincere apologies. The levels of service described within your review are not what we generally deliver and are very sorry that we did on this occasion. A number of team members within our food and beverage department did report sick on the day in question leaving us disappointingly exposed which certainly played a part in this experience.

I would personally be happy to discuss the matter further with you, if you would be kimd enough to contact me here at the hotel.
Regards
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

This is a beautiful place to stay - building and rooms have lovely features. Food is lovely and the gardens and whole hotel is beautiful. Breakfast was very good and there was plenty of choice. Staff are friendly - the only fault is that there was not enough staff on the bar on the evening and we had to wait a long time to be served.

Would recommend as a place to stay for somewhere with plenty of history and beautiful features.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank RachyB912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanbrook-GM, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for the review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience. Further thanks for the constructive comments regarding bar service, we are constantly looking to expand our teams and hope that on future events such as this service will be quicker.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews