We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old house in the perfect setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Rock House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Hico B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming old house in the perfect setting”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We love this house and its charm of yesteryear. Having it to ourselves was just what we needed. The kitchen is stocked with everything you'd need and there is plenty to explore! Besides that, the claw foot tub is big enough to relax in and adds to the romantic ambiance of the whole place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwhit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burleson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I needing one quiet day away from the hustle of life, choose the Old Rock House after searching on line. We loved the interior of the house, so charming and well apointed, we lacked nothing as far as the kitchen and bathrooms were concerned. We slept in the king bedroom and it was a fabulous nights sleep, great linens, plenty of pillows.

We did have an issue with the temperature during the evening. It never warmed up until the next morning, so it could have been more comfortable. We spoke with the owner that evening to make sure the heat wasn't going out and she was lovely and I feel would have done anything to make us happy. Cuddled up with an extra blanket and we did fine.

The breakfast voucher provided us with an outstanding breakfast the next day, that was worth the trip by itself.

Only drawback... I knew going in that there was only a tiny television, but the house has cable and a DVD player, so a larger television would be nice. The weather was bad and we would have enjoyed the chance to catch up on a couple of recent Oscar worthy movies.

Owner was so easy to work with and reach...We have every intention of using this as a regular place to unwind.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkcandclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Old Rock House was the perfect setting for our family getaway. My siblings and our children gathered from Chicago, Boston, Borger, Crane and Sarasota. We found the accommodations comfortable, quiet and relaxing. The house is well appointed and decorated, but not stuffy. Perfect "old Texas" charm. It is close enough to downtown Hico to walk, yet far enough away to feel semi-secluded. I will definitely stay again and will recommend Old Rock House to my friends.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My family visits Hico evey year to visit family and we always stay at the Old Rock House. This place is a charming, restored house that is perfect for a weekend away from the city. The beds and linens are incredibly soft and the house is always easy to keep warm on the freezing nights. We look forward to staying in this bed and breakfast every year.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Really awesome restored cabin under beautiful old oaks... We stayed one night on our way to the hill country, but will go back when we have more time to enjoy Hico. The linens and the bed were so luxurious and comfy, and the fire pit in the back yard was a great touch.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at the Old Rock House and was very disappointed. We walked in to discover a dead field mouse in the kitchen along with dead insects. We had to clean the bathrooms as it was obvious they had not been cleaned before our visit. We had to clean the empty refrigerator as several spills were evident, in addition to cleaning the dirty coffee pot! The front porch and grounds needed to be cleaned. The place did not look as though it had been prepared for guests. The master besdroom mattress was in need of replacement so my husband and I had to sleep in the double bed....cozy.

I would not recommend this place to anyone until it has been cleaned, mattress replaced and the outside groomed.
It was a very sad experience for all of us.

Room Tip: Before booking ask them to clean the facilities for you and maybe put a couple of bottles of water i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lzelios, Owner at Old Rock House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your experience at the Old Rock House. It is very disturbing to hear that you found the house is not a clean and tidy place to relax. After discussing this with housekeeping, it seems that they had just treated the house for pests and had opened the house for you the day before, not being there to check at the last minute for results of treatment.

That is no excuse and we will strive for more in the future.

As for the bed, it is only a few years old and it receives the most compliments of anything in the house. I get calls all the time wondering where they can find a bed like that. I am sorry that it was not comfortable for you and hope that you were able to get rest.

thank you for you remarks because it helps to keep us watching for what needs to be improved on.

Blessings to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Our recent stay was average. Great on the inside of the home, but no complimentary snacks or drinks as stated on the website. We visit B&B's often and had never been to one that didn't have at least bottled water. The outside is lacking. I don't think the Spring Clean outside had been done yet. The website shows 2 rocking chairs on the front porch, but there was only one. We couldn't share a sit on the front porch. There was a broken swing on the ground under the tree, so we couldn't share a swing either. The weather was beautiful to be outside, but we were unable to enjoy. The grill provided was needing repairs, we were able to use it after propping it with a rock. This was our 25th wedding anniversary stay so I was slightly disappointed. It just seemed as though the home hadn't been "prepared" for us.
I will say the inside of the home is truly wonderful and I appreciated the way the owners kept the original feel of the 1870 era.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sadona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hico
0.4 mi away
Hico Hills Inn
Hico Hills Inn
#2 of 2 in Hico
5 reviews
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville
24.8 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stephenville
0.2 mi away
Hico Upstairs Inn
Hico Upstairs Inn
#2 of 4 in Hico
3 reviews
23.6 mi away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rock House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rock House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Old Rock House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 302 E Third St, Hico, TX 76457-6018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Hico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at an 1870's rock house with all original hardwood floors, beadboard ceilings and rock walls, but has been updated with central ac/h, antique furnishings, and luxury linens. It has a fully furnished kitchen and 2 full baths with walk in showers and claw foot tub. Guests get to eat at the Koffee Kup Restaurant at their leisure with a voucher left in the house for them. Only 2 blocks from Hico's town square with shops and places to eat. The house in nestled in a 100 year old oak mott and has acreage. Plenty of places to park and bring family and friends with you to stay or just visit. Come escape away in time.... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing