We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngamba Island Tented Camp
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed overnight at Ngamba so that we could take part in the Forest Walk experience. We booked through World Primate Safaris in Brighton who organised it all for us as an add on to our holiday. I have done a separate review of the Ngamba island experience itself but this is just for the overnight stay.

The tented accommodation is really comfortable with a large bedroom leading onto a divided area at the back of the tent with chemical toilet and bucket shower. The shower was so refreshing in the heat of the island. The front verandah overlooks a pond area with so many bird types (particularly the weaver bird with their elaborate nests) to watch along with the resident monitor lizards. You can just spend the day chilling out in between watching the feeds that happen four times a day. The food was good and came in huge portions. After dinner they lit a campfire for us to sit around and relax. We had a really good night’s sleep – OK we had travelled for 30 hours the day before so that might have helped.

Everyone couldn’t have been nicer and we would definitely stay overnight again if we returned to Ngamba.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here for one night in July. The tents were spacious and comfortable with twin beds and a large balcony and chairs overlooking the lake. They have bucket showers (with hot water to order) and chemical toilets for night-time use. There are shared communal composting toilets for use during the day (they are clean and don't smell). The food was ok - we found it a bit too salty for our taste. There is free tea and coffee on tap throughout the day. Charging of laptops/cameras etc. can be done in the office.

Of course the real reason to come here is the chimps. We did the chimp walk and it was simply amazing. I gave one of the chimps a piggy back through the forest and the feeling of having two chimpanzee arms round my neck and being wrapped in a great big chimpanzee hug is one of the highlights of my life. Yes it is expensive and yes you need a very long list of innoculations but this is an experience you just can't get anywhere else.

Be aware that if you stay here overnight there is not a lot to do. When the chimps aren't being fed they all dissapear back into the forest. The chimp feedings tend to last for around half an hour or so. The section of the island that is allocated to humans is tiny (as it should be). There are lots of birds and monitor lizards around that you can photograph, but it is hot here, so you will probably only want to spend half an hour or so doing this at a time before you retreat to the shade to cool down. Make sure you bring a good book!

If you don't do the chimp walk I imagine this place would feel like a glorified zoo (even though it isn't and does incredibly valuable work) and I wouldn't recommend spending the night here. However, doing the chimp walk makes it amazing and an experience that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WildlifeFan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I simply don't know where to begin - as this was truly the highlight of my trip in Uganda. I spoke with my Uganda based tour operator Nature Track www.naturetrack-expeditions.com and said I was passionate about chimpanzess. Careful for what you wish for... my excellent driver and guide Tom, dropped me at the launch site for a 45 minute boat ride across Lake Victoria to Ngamba Island. I was greeted like a VIP and escorted to my self contained - eco friendly tent. It overlooked a little stream - filled with birds of all kinds. I selected both the caretaker and integration programmes - worth every single penny! The day began with watching the 44 resident chimps being fed, followed by me preparing their food and porridge and then walking the forest in the morning with Barron on my back! Two days is a must - to get to know the staff, the chimps and to enjoy the homemade food. Had I known what kind of joy this visit would have been - I would have stayed one week! This you can not miss!

Room Tip: All tents are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lesli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This was the last part of our trip and we couldn´t have hoped for a better end of the holiday. Ngamba island is just a little piece of heaven in lake victoria.
After arrival and check in we loved walking around and taking photo´s of the hundreds of waever birds, storks, monitor lizards etc.

The tents are just excelent and the staff of the tents (wild frontiers) as well the staff of the chimpansee sanctuary is great. The food is also very good and tasty. The tents are also very good maintained.

We loved the chimp walk in the forest where we took seven chimps out and played with them. A absolute higlite of our trip. Severel chimps jumped on our back and let us walk them into the forest. If you visit Ngamba island it is better to stay overnight. You can enjoy the feeding more then once and the experience of close contact with the chimps is a "must" do experience. If you will visit the Ngamba island as a day visitor you will just arrive by boat, look for the feeding and return back to mainland again and you will not have the best experience with chimps ever. Just do it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chantalremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Although the hotel is another "business" than the chimpanzee sanctuary, it is intimately linked, and that makes it so special.
We stayed two full days with the caretaker programme activities, forest walk and feeding of over 30 chimpansees, each with its particular habits and reactions.
The tens were spacious and warm shower water-to-order was promt and plentyful.
Behind the tents a compost toilet, but for midnight needs is a chemical toilet inside the tent. Double screens were effective against the many minifies, but both swallows and bats around the lodges tried to keep these flies down. PV light was good.
From our tent balcony we had at our feet a small lake section with weaverbirds in acacia trees, several water birds, reeds, fish and monitor lizards.
The restaurant service and food was excellent (early morning tea) en we enjoyed the place with only two other guests.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ngamba Island Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngamba Island Tented Camp

Address: Lake Victoria, Ngamba Island, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Ngamba Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ngamba Island
Price Range: £275 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ngamba Island Tented Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Jovago.com so you can book your Ngamba Island Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing