We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the Texas Hill Country”
Review of Stony Ridge Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stony Ridge Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hondo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2012

From the moment we arrived to the time we departed, Stony Ridge Ranch met and exceeded our expectations. If you are looking for a get away with uninterrupted quiet time and no television, along with breathtaking scenery and fantastic food, then Stony Ridge is the place to visit. There were deer right outside our front porch, and we stayed in the log cabin. The quaint cottage style cabin was cozy and comfortable and has a fire place that is accessible in both the living area and the bedroom downstairs. Rollie and Steve were very welcoming. There were homemade cookies in our cabin along with other snacks, and the gourmet breakfasts came complete with coffee and juice along with variation for the main coursess on both days. We ordered the "grazing tray" for dinner Saturday night, and it was delicious. Rollie's choices for our appetizer, dinner, dessert and wine selection were delightful and just to our liking. She uses ingredients obtained locally as best she can which we appreciate. It is evident by the time and care she puts into her meals that she loves to cook. I can't rave about Stony Ridge enough except to say that we will most assuredly be back to visit. Take the time to find this little piece of heaven in the Texas Hill Country. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the cabin tremendously. It was secluded and detached from the other rooms. We had no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

The ranch is way out in the countryside & an adventure to get there for townies like us. We opted to rent an SUV to travel along the several miles of dirt roads that lead to the ranch but our hosts manage very well in a VW Passat. We stayed 2 nights in Gingersnap with a grazing tray on our first night - more than enough for both of us. Breakfast was substantial and very tasty, served in the main house with a fabulous view. Rollie & Steve were excellent hosts and made us feel at home right from the start. Our restricted diet was no problem. The room was comfortable & very well appointed. We enjoyed hiking the walking trails & never left the ranch.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXToaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I just wish there were more than 5 stars in which to rate Stony Ridge Ranch. We were warmly greeted immediately upon our arrival. We were given a nice tour of the grounds and we instantly felt right at home. The hospitality shown by both Rollie and Steve adds such charm to this location. During the weekend, we enjoyed moutain biking (we brought our own bikes) both on grounds as well as a hardcore ride at the nearby Hill Country State Nature Area. We also went on a fantastic horseback ride in the HCSNA with a personal guide (Jeanne B - the best!). We recommend a visit to the Quihi Gun Club Dance Hall - dances every 2nd and 4th Saturday each month; what fun! Breakfasts at Stony Ridge Rance were top-notch. Rollie can cook!!! The wildlife was spectacular, birds and deer in abundance. My favorite part of the visit was sitting at "the point", a beautiful lookout at the top of the hill, while enjoying a glass of wine with my sweet husband. As soon as we got back home, I booked the same weekend for next year. I have a strong feeling that we will be back long before then, however. Thank you, Rollie, Steve (and Ginger!) for a fabulous weekend. We will see you soon!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the4daze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

This was our sixth visit to Stony Ridge Ranch. Over the last few years, it has become our home in the hill country. Rollie and Steve have made us feel like old friends, and the homey decor reflects Rollie's tasteful, upscale hill country style. Rollie is an escoffier trained chef, and the food is wonderful--she's fanatical about getting fresh, locally grown ingredients. Stony Ridge is a deer ranch, and all the three cabins overlook the feeding and watering troughs, where the deer--I counted twenty--come to feed at sunset. Last visit, we went to the Sandy Oaks Olive Orchard to see Rollie present a class on Moroccan cooking. We found out about the class from Rollie's newsletter. Sometimes it's a local music festival or a wildflower festival on their property. You can get a massage or read in front of a fire, or you can go browsing the antique stores. Bandera is the gateway to the West, so western wear is easy to find, and there are local restaurants, like Mac and Ernie's or The Grotto that rival the best meals we can find in Dallas. Stony Ridge is our getaway HQ.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fsophiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My husband and I stayed for three nights in October. Rollie is a great host and gave us a really warm welcome. We were even greeted with freshly made cookies. The instructions sent through before hand meant it was really easy to find, though took us a little longer as it is tucked away.
We were staying in one of the cabins which was very comfortable, clean and spacious.
This is a true getaway, well off the beaten track, no TV, just peace and quiet. Rollie was able to recommend some interesting places nearby (20 miles or so) restaurants, and activities, and arranged for us to go horse riding with Jeanne B from the Desert Hearts Cowgirl Club in the nearby state park, which we both enjoyed alot.
Breakfast was very varied, Rollie was able to accomodate my dietary requirements (gluten free) and we got to try some new and interesting food which was always beautifully presented.
Overally this was a great find, and a really relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

Great accomodations on a secluded Hill Country Ranch. The location is close to Bandera and other places of interest. The breakfast provided was first class and our hosts Steve and Rollie were very accomodating. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a nice getaway.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank WGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hondo hotels
20.9 mi away
Best Western Hondo Inn
21 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#2 of 3 in Hondo
24 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hondo Executive Inn
Hondo Executive Inn
#3 of 3 in Hondo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Ridge Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Ridge Ranch

Address: PO Box 357, Hondo, TX 78861-0357
Region: United States > Texas > Hondo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hondo
Price Range: £129 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stony Ridge Ranch is a romantic, upscale adult getaway, (no children) with sweeping views from the top of our hill, of the Texas Hill Country. A perfect blend of activity and inactivity, Stony Ridge encourages the art of relaxation. Enjoy delicious, healthy gourmet cuisine in your private custom log home or guest cabin, explore walking and hiking areas, check out the diversity of wildlife and birds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing