We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not stay here again”
Review of Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hondo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would not stay here again”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The price is the lowest in town BUT never more true the saying, you get what you pay for. I would definately pay another $30 and drive farther to find a better place. The carpet absolutely needs replaced, worst i've seen. The refer looked like a junker...better to not have one. The flooring in the bathroom had holes in it...no excuse when tile around here is .50 cents per sq.ft. Door did not have dead bolt or secondary lock just one on the knob. Needed remodel 10 years ago!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahoehandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    5
    0
    7
See reviews for
12
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is not a clean motel.San Antonio was booked so we drove down to Castroville - booked, next Hondo this was the only one available. We checked in, and as soon as we turned on the light we saw Roaches running around. The toilet had old toilet paper in it . It was awful... We asked for a refund immediately!! I don't think I could have even stayed with my own blankets on top of those beds. We drove all the way down to Uvalde, then back to Sa the next morning... The drive was worth loosing some sleep to get a much better place.

Room Tip: Look at the room first before you pay! If not happy ask for your money back
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hondo hotels

Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I'm not sure where the guests stayed that posted such negative reviews. We stayed at this hotel twice on our way through Texas and we were very pleased. Apparently there is new management, and it shows. We were treated with great hospitality. The rooms were clean, comfortable and it was very affordable.

Marc T

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Okay me and my co worker stayed here for one night on 3/8/12 and checked out on 3/9/12. This was the worst motel I ever stayed in my life I had to sleep on top of the blanket and used my bag as a pillow I pulled back the covers when I was going to sleep and i seen Stains all over the white sheets and the pillows smelt like bad breath I will never tell anyone to stay here and i will never stay here again i dont know how yall are still open then the breakfast was a joke and then The bathroom smell so bad !!! OVERALL I WAS SICK OUT OF MY HEAD AND I HOPE YALL GET SHUT DOWN!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brady
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Very nice place large clean room, clean large pool and friendly staff. We loved this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momoffiveBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KumarPatel, Manager at Regency Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thanks for taking time and writing a review about us. We really appreciate it,

Kumar Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We ride motorcycles and Hondo was about as close to Leakey and the 3 twisted sisters as we could get for the price. We travel quite a bit and have stayed in big chain motels that were way worse than this one. Pros: microwave made heating up left-over pizza possible, mini-fridge came in handy, didn't use the iron/ironing board or the hair dryer but it was nice to have available, breakfast bar that looked alot like Super 8's helped our food budget for the trip, everyone in the pool seemed to be enjoying it, room was clean, cable worked. Cons: the carpet and bathroom walls and fixtures showed the age of the motel. Overall, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FatCat8214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2010

came to hondo to spend some time with old family saw the the new hotel but was to pricy, and so we stayed here, big mistake the room was small and old. Wouldn't recommend staying here ever again!!

Stayed one night
then moved to the hotel down the road big upgrade same price think it was the executive hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaminj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondo
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hondo Inn
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lytle Inn & Suites
19.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pleasanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hondo Executive Inn
Hondo Executive Inn
#3 of 3 in Hondo
30 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
#1 of 1 in Castroville
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stony Ridge Ranch
Stony Ridge Ranch
#1 of 1 in Hondo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Property: Regency Inn
Address: 401 Highway 90 East, Hondo, TX 78861 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Hondo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hondo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Inn Honda is an exterior corridor hotel with drive up to the door convenience. We serve a daily fresh free continental breakfast. All guest rooms feature wireless Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, free local calls, free newspaper, and wake-up service. Our lobby and front desk are open 24 hours for your convenience. For our business travelers, fax and copy service is available at the front desk. Relax in our outdoor pool and enjoy our barbecue picnic area. Our friendly and experienced staff invites you to be our guest and enjoy the value of staying with A Regency Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing