We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“many shortcomings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria
Ranked #224 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“many shortcomings”
Reviewed 11 November 2008

1- Air conditioner in room was so loud it kept waking us up. Can't do without it though, the room was quite hot.

2-Wireless internet in the room is nice...when it works properly. Never had such a hard time opening emails. Tried all their available connections at different times of day, to no avail, slow and splotchy. receptionist was no help, shrugged problem off.

3- bathroom is nondescript, so is the room decor but clean. Room only had decaf tea, and the coffee maker was missing a part, rendering it unusable. No sheets ready or stored in the room for sleeper sofa for my child.

4- lobby, breakfast area ok, forgetable.

5- overall, not worth the price.

  • Disliked — location "Galleria area" was misleading.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank getmeoutofangola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
26
13
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

The location met my requirement for meeting with clients. It was close to many eating establishments.

I felt it was overpriced for the quality of the facility.

I will look around for a better price before staying there again.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasJean70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Extremely frustrating experience at this hotel. It was almost as if they were trying to be that bad. First, didn't have our reservation, even though we provided a confirmation number. Then, put us into rooms across the street from a dance club with blaring music. They refused to move us toward the back of the hotel. Then, after reserving the room for four nights, they made us check out of rooms after two, only to check back in that night into the room two doors down. Finally, that room did not have any hot water when I wanted a shower that night.

Overall, a terrible experience. I would recommend others look elsewhere.

  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank uchinan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Houston hotels

houston, texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

We thought it was excellent value for the money ($85 / nite) for a room with 2 queen beds and a rollaway. This happened to be a weekend special; the actual rate may be a little higher. Unlike the previous reviewers, we do not have anything negative to say about the room. It was quite comfortable. The continental breakfast was certainly above average: aside from the normal pastries and cereals, there was also sausage and boiled egg. We would definitely be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — Overall value
  • Disliked — far away from tourist attractions
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pkenkare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2005

I must say, we have stayed at this hotel a few times, due to the close proximity to some clubs we like to frequent, however I can tell you all about its shortcomings. First of all, I agree with the previous review, it is a dirty seedy type of room. The hallways and elevators have NO AIR-CONDITIONING! None! It is extremely HOT in the lobby and halls. Also, the bathrooms in the rooms have no air conditioning, so it is hard to get ready to go out in them. The air in the room works well, thankfully. One night we awoke in the middle of the night and it was extremely hot in the room. Turns out there had been a car wreck down the street that had downed the powerlines and knocked out all power! Well, we had to leave, the heat was unbearable.The next day I called the manager to see if we could receive some type of credit for having to leave at 4 am, and she said she was sorry that no credit or refund was due. I realize that it was not their fault, however I have been at that hotel when the power had gone out before for a shorter period of time and it was still light out, and a cooler time of year.
So Imust say that if you have a choice, pick another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2004

Stayed one night at the Comfort Suites on March 8, 2004. Hotel is beautiful from exterior, what with flowers and fountains. Is conveniently located within walking distance to several great restaurants, in fact, Joe's Crab Shack is directly across the street.
The interior of the hotel at quick glance is decent. Room was slightly on the "seedy" side, however. Toilet ran non-stop all night and the room had a dim, dirty feeling' although I can't tell you it was truly dirty. My room was on the first floor near the rear entry which normally needs your room key swiped in order to be opened. The lock was broken and the door didn't even latch so anyone had total access. Awoke around 2:00 am to very loud noise outside room. Alot of laughing and conversation. Then, before 6:00 am I could hear all the laughter and conversation of the crew setting up the continental breakfast. If you stay here, be sure to get a room on the 2nd floor or higher. The walls are all paper thin as is, but being on the first floor near the lobby, breakfast area, exercise room, pool and entry door is totally unacceptable. This was probably the worst nights sleep I've ever had at any hotel.

Helpful?
10 Thank MidwestFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#258 of 517 in Houston
93 reviews
Days Inn Houston-Galleria TX
#169 of 517 in Houston
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Extended Stay America - Houston - Galleria - Westheimer
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria

Property: Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria
Address: 6221 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 77057-6211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites - Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Comfort Suites Houston
Houston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing