We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such A Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
Ranked #390 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such A Surprise”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was on the fence about this one but after staying I must say what a fun filled surprise. Dont get me wrong it was just the basic Motel-hotel, But it was nice and very friendly so I have no complaints but I cant rant and rave about it either

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradshere81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    35
    15
    18
See reviews for
36
13
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Spgs, CO
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A group of us travelling happened upon this Howard Johnson after leaving the Houston airport. It was late and HOJO was a recognizable brand name. The outside of the hotel was inviting and the grounds were clean. The rate was $93 plus tax. I stayed in better Super Eight's and Motel Six for half that rate. We were put into the first room which is very small and outdated. The TV did not work and the carpets were filty. I requested a non-smoking room, but this room reeked of a combination of smoke and mold/mildew. We requested another room. Boy, was that a bad idea. It was worse than the first. It smelled of smoke, mold/mildew and urine. The were cigarette burns in the conforters and sheets. There was also either blood or feces behind the door on the wall and on the bathroom vanity. By this time it was nearing midnight...we thought about leaving, but were travelling with two small children and did not feel like trying to find something else at that time of night.
At about 3:30 am there was also someone being chased and screaming for someone to call 911 for 10 to 15 minutes. I know that this has nothing to do with the hotel, but possible about the trpe of people that frequent it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meplus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
She had stayed at some other airport property, and we are located at the Houston Downtown. Therefore, we request you to remove this survey as soon as you can, and acknowledge us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Houston hotels

Abbeville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

stayed here for a concert at the toyota center, wasent that far from the venue and easy to find. the staff was very nice. beds were comfortable. location was great. housekeeping and parking could improve, but all in all i enjoyed my stay. i would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It was a very nice stay and I would stay there again. Conveniently accessible to everywhere I was visiting in Houston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Scottish Inns Westcott Street
#343 of 516 in Houston
5 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites
#126 of 516 in Houston
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Modern B&B
#70 of 516 in Houston
201 reviews
Great Uptown
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
Address: 4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Medal Hotel for 5 straight years. For Budget Hotel in Houston, we are the best choice for both. We are consistently rated as a Top Luxury Hotel in Houston by our satisfied guests. We are the most appropriate TX Budget Hotel, to make your stay enjoyable at a low-cost. Some of our guests who have stayed with us in Houston, have informed us that they have made a good choice by selecting our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Houston
Houston Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing