We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Ranked #98 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Comfortable but nothing special”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is in a fairly inconvenient hotel, although it is possible to walk to a few places to eat locally. It is a short taxi ride from central Houston, but has little connection with it. The hotel is comfortable, but sterile and soulless. The breakfast is repetitive, but the kickback with drinks is quite good although they insist you queue for each one separately!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueG105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear SueG105,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your comments. We enjoy hearing from all of our guests, as we use your feedback to help us improve our product and services. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations during every stay. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you during your next visit to Houston.

Sincerely,
Jose Miranda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    85
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
87
45
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska, the good life
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel! The rooms were clean (except for the icky banana we found on our first night of our stay behind an end table), which was apologized for and promptly taken care of by a member of the hotel staff. The hotel staff is amazing! We were in Houston for 5 nights for our daughter's wedding, and Jose and his staff went out of their way to accommodate us and those in our group. Esther from housekeeping helped us get a button sewed on at the last minute before our daughter's wedding. Everyone from management on down is very service oriented and friendly--interacting and engaging with all the people staying there. Thanks so much for making our stay in Houston an enjoyable one by giving us clean accommodations with good food and friendly staff! This is the way a hotel should be run! Thanks, Jose'!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
466 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is not a real luxury hotel but when you look at the room cost and the fact that a family can eat two meals per day here for no additional cost, it becomes an incredible deal. The "kickback" hour in the evening also allows three free drinks per person. The rooms were nice and clean and with all of the extras, it is a value that you will not want to pass up. We had six adults in our party and stayed at Drury Inns 3 out of four stops. All had similar looks and similar amenities. They seem to be a very good hotel chain.

Room Tip: All rooms seem very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onceinawhile31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It's certainly not the Ritz but the Drury Inn packs a punch with little extras.

Close to the Galleria shopping area the hotel is ideally placed for shopping. There are some restaurant and bar options within easy walking distance. The Montrose district is a $20 cab ride away.

The rooms are slightly dated but inoffensive. Those travellers looking to do some exercise will be disappointed with the fitness suite and the inside/outside pool seems like a waste of space. However, the hot tub is a nice extra.

Perhaps the biggest draw is the free food and beverage. The hot breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wowzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

First, staff was awesome, friendly and understanding. The hotel...gross. Maybe I am not one for the pet friendly environment but my room had a stain on the floor (what happened to steam cleaning the carpet) and there was a long black hair on my yellow (I am assuming it should have been white) hand towel. Although my hair is naturally black, it is currently blond so the hair was not mine! EWWW!!! Needless to say, I checked out the same night I checked in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Davyea,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience from our hotel. I am very sorry that the condition of the room was not up to your expectations. Please know that I have shared your feedback with our Executive Housekeeper and our Property Maintenance Person, and they in turn will review with their teams.

When convenient, I would like the opportunity to further discuss your stay here at the hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Again, thank you for your reveiw and I look forward to speaking with you soon!

Thanks,
Jose Miranda
General Manager
Drury Inn and Suites, Near the Galleria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My family and I stayed here and everyone in our group was very happy with everything. The breakfast was great, room was real nice and clean. Outside was very nice and clean, the staff was great and helpful on finding food and directions. We will be staying here when we come to Houston.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern US State
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I know this is starting to sound repetitive, but when Houston is calling, this Second "Home" for us is the absolute only place we will stay at in Houston. There are no other accommodations that we will even consider when the destination is Houston.

Jose and his Team continue to shine each and every time. He demands 110% from his Team, and they do it...they meet the challenge...and it shows.

Of course our comfy room was awaiting us upon our arrival early evening. The smell of popcorn permeating through the lobby...the hot food from the evening reception...and the warm, friendly faces are just so perfect after a drive in rush-hour. You know, even most of our fellow guests are in such good moods, and I really think it's because of how they feel about being in the Drury. I liken it to being on an isolated island or something...where we've escaped the craziness of the outside World...even if it is for just a short time.

Spent more time at the hotel this trip...lots of pool time, spa time...and conversing with the other adult guests while my daughter made a pool friend and had a great time demonstrating their gymnastics routines...in the water!

Bumped in to Esther more often this visit, during hours I didn't think she worked. Such a friendly, motherly-like "caretaker" at the hotel. She's always smiling, always working hard, and always wanting to take care of any needs we have. So...so appreciated.

The rates here and the amenities offered make this an obvious choice. Throw in where you are in Houston...and it's "Home!". Thank you Jose...Thank you Mr. Drury...and Thank you to the entire Team there at the Drury! Can't wait to see you again!!!!!

Room Tip: Hmmm...if I tell you a tip...you might take advantage of it the next time we're there! :) But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northerndynasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sonesta ES Suites Houston
#71 of 508 in Houston
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Address: 1615 W. Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Houston
#126 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile east of the Galleria in Houston, Drury Inn & Suites offers free hot breakfast daily and free hot food and cold beverages at our 5:30 Kickback(R) every evening. Located in Houston's Uptown District, guests are 15 minutes from downtown Houston attractions via I-610. The Galleria is one of the nation's largest retail and commercial office spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Drury Inn Houston
Drury Houston
Houston Drury Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing