We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest
Ranked #251 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We are halfway through our stay and, thus far, our overall experience at ESA has been excellent.The location is convenient to our daughter's home, and to all of the locations we want to visit in Houston. The staff is always helpful, and is always quick to respond to our requests. LaTonya, the hotel manager, is always available to help us. The front desk personnel - Breanna, Daizha and Sal, are always couteous and helpful, and always greet us with a smile. Eric, the maintenance man, is always quick to respond to our needs, and he always is able to solve our problem. We are also very satisfid with our chamber maid (we haven't learned her name), who does a good job, and occasionally does some helpful things that we didn't expect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgev737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I'm not big on extended stay hotels. Got this hotel on Priceline for a good rate and it was 2.5 stars with high ratings so I took it. Certainly don't think it deserves the high ratings that it has. Funky smell in the hallway (think nursing home) and even the smell of weed as we came in at nite in the hallway - this was ok in my college days but don't have the same appreciation today....but this is to be expected at a discount hotel with discount minded clientele. We had a single bed - Queen bed with cheap mattress - once again I had to remind myself I was at discount hotel not Hilton. Overall hotel was clean so give them credit where credit is due. Definitely need to clean carpets though more frequently. If you are on a tight budget an use to staying in cheap hotels you will like this hotel because it is the Ritz Carlton of cheap hotels....

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianTheTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. You have my most sincere apologies that your stay wasn't totally enjoyable.

We understand that you have many lodging options, so we strive to set ourselves apart from the competition by offering clean, comfortable suites at an affordable price. We know that a comfortable bed is our guest's most valued amenity, which is why we poll our guests on their satisfaction with our bedding. Although our company regularly invests in bedding upgrades, including pillow top mattresses, to respond to customer preferences, we need to keep getting feedback like yours in order to steer us in the right direction. I assure you that my hotel and all Extended Stay Hotels will continue to invest in our guest's comfort.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We just stayed here for three days and it was horrible. My wife and I where on the first floor and for three days there was so many people going in and out of the room above us. All night and all day dirty looking people coming in and out. There was so much noise coming from the lobby, I guess there was a football party. I tried to complain at the front desk, but I guess everyone goes home after midnight. There where drunk guys grilling by the pool, and urinating in the bushes. The gym equipment was dirty and wet. The girl at the desk gave me a card with the supervisors number, and I left her many messages and she never called back. This was the first time my company has used them, and it will be the last.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xien n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

I am eager to respond to your issue. Please know that we strive to provide our guests with a relaxing home away from home experience. In your case, we recognize that we failed to operate according to our standard practices, which caused the disturbance to last longer that it should have.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Been here since June 2012. Staff is very friendly and goes out of the way to make sure my stay is pleasant. First impressions are important and the cleanliness of the outside and inside are always kept up. I just can't say enough about the whole staff. You can tell by their upbeat attitude that they truly enjoy coming to work

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that the staff have made your Extended Stay enjoyable. We know that first impressions are very important and we are glad that we have made a good one on you. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The staff at this hotel makes it a excellent rating. The hotel is decent with pleasent rooms and the kitchenette is very helpful for those of us who are here for a long period of time. I must say that the staff though is supurb starting with the hotel manager Latonya, she goes above and beyond to make all of our stay here the best it can be. This trickles down to the rest of the staff including all the front desk help, to the maids, as well as the maintance staff, all eager to help if something occurs. That is why I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!
Thank you, once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed here from June 2012 thru October 2012 for business. I certainly had a great time. I'd like to extend my thanks to Mngr. La Tonya, who made sure that everything was working in my room and int tip-top shape. Especially during renovation when all of the staff were too busy to fix my sink, she tried to fix it herself and needless to say she made an attempt. But it eventually was fixed the very next day. A big thanks to Sal and the entire front office, y'all are always attentive and friendly. And thanks to the entire staff that made sure my room was definitely spotless weekly; It certainly was a home away from home. I'd like to extend whomever is looking for a great place with excellent service, and with wonderful restaurants at walking distance, come on down and see for yourselves this hidden gem of a place.
V S.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that Tanya and the staff made your stay "Home Away from Home" despite the issue you experienced. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I'm currently a guest resident at the extended stay america and I must say it as been a pleasure to be here. LaTonya and her staff are very friendly,efficient,attentive, and very helpful and resource. I would recommend this property for anyone coming for an extended stay or for a night or two.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabari44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

“Comfortable and feels like home” --ESA Northwest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our staff made your stay feel pleasant and comfortable, "Home Away from Home". Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Northwest
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow
7.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Houston - Willowbrook - HWY 249
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Houston - Energy Corridor
0.8 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Houston - Northwest
8.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Houston - Westchase - Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest

Address: 5454 Hollister St, Houston, TX 77040-6122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: £51 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Houston-Northwest Hotel Houston
Extended Stay Houston
Houston Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing