We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got worse and worse”
Review of Comfort Inn East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn East
Ranked #271 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The only feature this hotel had was the availability of truck parking. It starts off with a horrific breakfast, it is increadibly limited and the items that are out were either stale or had been burnt while in the warmer (meaning they don't change out what gets set out at 6am). Then there is the housekeeping, they are creepy. They would scurry around, giving supisous looks to guests coming and going. Our towels kept getting taken out and not replaced. After 3 days wwe had only a bathmat and 1 towel left. But to top it all off, the housekeeping moved a pizza box off the trashcan, left it in our room and we were invaded by fire ant. FIRE ANTS!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akrsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmtx427, General Manager at Comfort Inn East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

I sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had at our property. I assure you that is not our norm and we make an attempt to adhere to the highest level of standards. Please come and visit us again and see the changes. Thank you for staying with us.

Dan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

Motel should be listed 5 Star! We were impressed with every aspect of this motel. The staff was very friendly & going that"extra mile" to help you. The motel itself was super clean and had the appearance inside & out of a more expensive motel. Just can't say enough good things about our stay at this motel. Our stay was a most enjoyable experience! Highly recommend it to anyone staying in Houston.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyFtWorth_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Our son convinced us to join a frequent stayer program and so we picked Choice Hotels which is a good mid-range bet. The staff here are excellent and very helpful. Rooms are big and the bed was good. This hotel also offers a great bang for the buck.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HaniSalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmtx427, Manager at Comfort Inn East, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Thank You so much for the awesome feedback. We truly enjoyed having you as our guests and look forward to it again in the future!

Jose Arriaga, Comfort Inn East Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Clean facility, friendly staff, basic room but seemed pretty quiet. Set far enough back from the highway that truck noise, etc. wasn't an issue. Our room with 2 queen beds still had plenty of room to move around in, unlike some I have stayed at (which seem to scale the rooms for one king bed then squeeze the queens in).

Breakfast selection was a bit basic but there was plenty to eat. Yummy cookies served in the evening was a nice treat too.

Besides the Luby's cafeteria next door, there is also a Mambo's Seafood just in front of the hotel (tasty low-cost seafood).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This hotel was easy to find off of the interstate, and located right next door to a gas station and a Luby's Cafeteria. The room was clean and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The breakfast was better than the usual Comfort Inn fare and the waffles were made in a Texas shaped waffle iron (would be great for kids). I would definitely stay here again and the price was right!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BamaTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We Stayed at the Comfort Inn in East Houston and it was an exceptional experience. The room we stayed in was very nice . The staff was very professional and friendly and the room was priced right! I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone. I would give this hotel a 5 star rating

Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank DJMHOTEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

I found this hotel to be quite clean, and quiet, even though it
is next to I-10 and my window faced the road. They are set back from the road a bit, behind a gas station.

The room I was in was clean. The furniture was
all very basic but that's fine by me. Free wireless and free
100 Mb/s wired connections. The room had both a fridge
and a microwave. The bed was firm.

The breakfast was not too bad, typical for this kind of accomodation.

I have stayed in other Comfort Inn/Suites in the Houston area.
I am generally unimpressed with Houston hotels, since they
tend to be either very expensive and not that great, or else if they are reasonably priced then they are quite low quality. This Comfort Inn stands out as both reasonably priced and reasonably good quality. I will be going there again on future trips.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ItinerantGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston East at Normandy
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston East
8.6 mi away
Hilton Americas - Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
17.5 mi away
Hilton Houston Galleria Area
14.4 mi away
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn East

Address: 1016 Maxey Rd, Houston, TX 77015-4810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: £61 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing