We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake
Ranked #224 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a nice hotel. Good amenities, both in room and on property. The room was quiet, except for the ice maker in the fridge. But, that's not a big deal really, since you don't have to deal with ice buckets and tracking down the machine. It is quiet, even though I was just across the hall from the elevator. The wireless internet worked fine, I appreciate that it isn't just wide open to everyone, even with having to enter the code each night. It did seem a bit slow at times, but maybe I'm just used to my high speed.

This was my second trip to Houston, I've stayed here both times. This visit was better than the first. No problems with the room. I couldn't figure out what the thermostat on the wall was for, other than to report the temperature. A/C unit wasn't any louder than any place else I've stayed. My only real issues this time are with the elevator. It is very slow, both to respond to the call and in traveling between floors. And, in the afternoon/evening, once things have warmed up, it has a fairly heavy smell of cigarette smoke.

Nothing earth shattering. It is a nice stay, close to where I work when traveling to Houston. Reasonable value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
18
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The rooms were nicely designed and clean and properly equipped for cooking. My point of contention is the HVAC system which is designed to save energy when the room was not occupied. The problem is once you turn all the lights off and go to bed the system deems you are not in the room and turns the A/C off, over my 5 night stay I woke up sweating every night. Not so smart if you ask this sleepless traveler. Also the wall control unit is not access able so you have to use the window unit itself to control the temperature when it allows you to. Another irritant is you either have to use the overhead bedroom light on or no lights on at all, I had to go buy a cheap lamp so I could see my remotes to watch the TV at night.

Green Features: This is great if you don't mind sleeping at night with no A/C in the Houston summer. It is very EF though.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Rick O,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to write us a review. It’s nice to know that you liked the cleanliness and design of the room as well as the full kitchen. It is regrettable to read that you were not satisfied with the lighting and air conditioning system in the room. We have taken note of your concerns and will take the necessary actions to avoid further inconvenience. We appreciate all your feedback is this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. We would love for another opportunity in hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

After a nightmare experience with an extended stay hotel up the street I checked into a room here. After two sleepless nights else where the front desk here was a nice change. The room exceeded my dollar expectations and was nice and quiet. I stayed 2 weeks. I have cons to report but to be honest besides the room being very nice and quiet nothing else makes it stand out to me. Location average, staff average, By average I mean fair service for a fair price.
But I would not shop them if I was in the area, I would return and stay with them again.

Room Tip: I always try for top floor if it is non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

There were a couple problems with the room, none of which I mentioned to management. The first was torn fabric (pleather?) seat. The next day when I came back, they had switched out the chair! Unheard of that they did this without me reporting it. A refreshing change where housekeeping usually does not notice or report problems, or maintenance does not proactively fix.

The second item was a very rusted air conditioning unit. It was very rusted. But, obviously, that takes more money. It didn't bother me and still seemed to work fine.

The room was very comfortable. I love to two rooms concept and the desks in Candlewood suites are the best layout anywhere, plenty of light and plugs to work on my computer and plug all my phones into.

Windows actually open which I love, and the room was extremely quiet.

Candlewood Suites is a small step below Embassy or Homewood, but I'd always stay here as there is ample parking, staff was friendly and efficient and was a good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for one night to shop for sailboats. It is a very nice hotel. It would be a good place to stay if you had business in the area and needed to stay for several nights. It reminds me of The Residence Inn when they first started offering homes away from home back in the 80s. It isn't fancy, but it has everything you'd need to make an extended stay comfortable. It's a little out of the way from tourist attractions, but we know our way around. The staff was VERY friendly, and everything measured up to how it is presented on their website. Because they have a full kitchen in each room, there isn't a complimentary breakfast like many other hotels. But, they have a Market Place in the lobby, with complimentary coffee and items for purchase at reasonable prices. There are several grocery stores close by if you needed to stock up on items for your room's kitchen. If you want a pleasant, comfortable place to stay for business or pleasure I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We spent a brief overnight here while visiting NASA. Staff was really friendly, all business was quick and neat.

Room was clean, usual style of Candlewood Suites. Bed is European king size - as in not 200x200cm but 160x200cm which was just fine. Great pillows.

The place has free washers/driers which is a real nice touch and we took advantage of this :)

The cupboard is pretty well stocked with whatever you may need (from breakfast to frozen/microwave food to ice cream)

For the price paid we couldn't have asked for better.
If in the area again we'll surely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ka0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel was exceptionally clean and well kept but the reason I'm wrting is the absolute honesty of the staff and people staying there this trip. I ate a rushed breakfast in the cupboard/laundry and had to leave in a hurry. I forgot my Oakleigh Kitchen Sink bag with my computer and all of my jumpdrives and Nikon camera...on the washing machine. When I returned it was still there 3 1/2 hours later...relieved I should say so... but really stay here people are honest and its not the Big City. Besides Tommys is right next door a better meal you couldn't ask for!

Room Tip: Get a King Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shammwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
Clear Lake
TownePlace Suites Houston Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Webster
#8 of 16 in Webster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake

Property: Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake
Address: 2737 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to beautiful Clear Lake, an attractive community hotel in Houston! For business or pleasure, the Candlewood Suites Houston-Clear Lake offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your extended stay travel. Situated in the Bay Area right on the Gulf of Mexico, Clear Lake is an exciting community in Houston, TX. Students and families visiting the University of Houston-Clear Lake will appreciate this nearby all-suite hotel that is also is convenient to a number of businesses and attractions. We are near Lockheed Martin, Jacobs Engineering and Boeing, making this the ideal hotel for corporate travel. Stay productive during your trip with free high-speed wireless Internet access and a spacious work area. Space Center Houston is a must see for quick trips or an extended stay vacation in Clear Lake, and be sure to visit the beautiful Baybrook Mall, only three miles away. Our hotel is also just minutes from the exciting Kemah Boardwalk! Don't forget to check out downtown Houston while you're in town. We offer the best in amenities, including free guest laundry facilities, our Candlewood Cupboard and our 24-hr Candlewood Gym. After a long day, our suites with more space and full kitchens offer the home-like experience you need to get comfortable. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you on your next visit to this welcoming hotel in Clear Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Houston/Clear Lake Hotel Houston
Candlewood Houston
Houston Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing