We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport
Ranked #251 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenient and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel provides transportation to Hobby Airport. They arrived to pick us up exactly as promised. The front desk staff was very receptive and provided exactly the type of room requested. The room was up to date and comfortable. Everything worked as it should. I want to come back here to stay when in this part of Houston.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    58
    29
    25
    21
See reviews for
37
32
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel provides value for money. Rooms were pretty economical, very clean rooms, and facilities were very well maintained.

It's also not too far from the places to see. Drive to NASA space center is about 20 mins, though I-45 can make life terrible. Drive time to HMNS is about 15 mins.

I certainly recommend this hotel if you are on a short trip to see attractions in and around Houston.

Room Tip: I like higher floor rooms, and it was good here too.
See more room tips
Green Features: I am not aware about the hotel's environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbhisheksAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

First and foremost, the property itself and the staff were top notch. Lauren at the front desk was friendly, efficient and most importantly knowledgeable about local places to eat and places to visit before starting my business meeting late the next day. She suggested the Houston Space Center (I'm a science nerd) and some nice places to eat near the hotel.

This Courtyard has switched to the Marriott "Bistro" concept which, as I've said in numerous reviews, shafts the Marriott loyalty premium program members. (e.g. Fairfield Inns have a free breakfast, full service Marriott properties have a concierge lounge with breakfast). I did eat twice at the Bistro out of convenience and both experiences were very good.

I had an interior room on the 2nd floor. The floor was quiet and room was comfortable, however the HVAC unit in the room was rather noisy during operation. It woke me up a couple of times at night during my stay when it started.

However, the value of the hotel was extremely poor. Apparently there was a huge conference in town (Offshore Technical Conference, OTC) and ALL of the hotels in the area skyrocketed their prices to astronomical rates. The Courtyard was nearly $300/night while the full-service Marriott a few blocks away was over $450/night. Being a frequent traveler and a Marriott premium member, near-$300/night for a Courtyard property is brutal, especially if you Google the "regular rates" around $150/night for the property.

The lesson learned here was mine to learn: Insure there are no conferences in the area if you have a choice when your client wants you on site.

Room Tip: Rooms interior to the hotel seem to be quieter than those facing I-45.
See more room tips
Green Features: This Courtyard participates in Marriott's (and most other hotels') practice of re-using towels during the guest's stay. The guest can choose to reuse towels or have fresh towels every day.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUHBCourtyardGM, Guest Services Specialist at Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
First, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback for us. We are delighted to receive guest comments both positive and negative as they are our most direct method of learning what we're doing right, as well as areas where we can improve. I'm pleased that the rest of the team and I were able to provide the exceptional level of service for which we strive every day, but I am genuinely sorry that your stay was so unfortunately impacted by OTC. As you mentioned in your review, the huge upswing in demand is a phenomenon that impacts every property from Galveston to The Woodlands, and with the economic growth and accompanying convention and tourism growth currently taking place in Houston this is an issue that we take very seriously. Fortunately, ground was broken in April on a new Marriott Marquis property adjacent to one of our convention centers, which will benefit both convention travellers seeking to be near their events, as well as travellers such as yourself who prefer to have their stays unaffected by events such as OTC.

I again offer my abject apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your client, and would welcome any further communication should you have additional concerns, questions or comments about your past and future stays in Houston.

Warm regards,

Lauren M. Norman
Guest Services Specialist
Courtyard by Marriott Houston Hobby Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent hotel! There were 4 friends on a girls trip and had just come off a cruise during the weekend of the oil spill. We were exhausted when we got to the hotel and we were early so our rooms weren't ready. They recommended a great restaurant and shuttled us there and back. We had requested rooms next to each other with balconies and when we returned from eating the rooms were exactly what we had asked for. Rooms were good sized, clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Although the computer system was having problems, the Bistro was still able to provide dinner and breakfast with little or no delays. The staff was working as hard and quickly as they could. I even think the desk crew pitched in to help too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were here overnight before catching the Carnival shuttle at Hobby Airport. There was a nice pool, a little too cold to swim but we enjoyed sitting in the pool area. The desk person was friendly. I really appreciated the free shuttle to area restaurants for dinner :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We arrived late and the check in was very fast. Though I am not handicapped (my wife might disagree about my head), I was given a handicap room, which doesn't bother me though it may others. I have a handicap parent and the bathroom would have been excellent for them. Many handicap rooms have lips on their showers which make it difficult to get them into the shower. This was wide open and had two shower heads and two drains. It was a nice setup and I definitely recommend for anyone needing accessibility.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bienemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.2 mi away
Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hobby Airport Houston
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport

Property: Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport
Address: 9190 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017-7009
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with convenient access to Houston Hobby Airport. We offer spacious guest rooms, complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Hobby Airport Hotel Houston
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing